We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally placed for exploring East Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #34 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ideally placed for exploring East Berlin”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

This is my second stay at the Mercure Checkpoint Charlie and my enthusiasm for the hotel is undiminished. This time we choose a Privilege Suite (room 402), which was huge and allowed us to entertain the friends we were travelling with. The room was clean, well maintained and all the equipment, including two televisions and fridges, worked perfectly. The bathroom included a bath and separate shower. The shower tray was large, but to avoid getting water all over the bathroom floor it was necessary to stand in the corner of the shower, which rather defeats the object. There was only one negative and that was the Wifi access. In the morning, access could only be gained by standing in the room entrance and even then it was intermittent. It was better late at night, but not great. The hotel management has since indicated that it is trying to improve the access. We ate breakfast in the restaurant three times. The selection and quality of the food was excellent. The mostly young hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,852
    1,154
    136
    21
    15
See reviews for
815
1,125
334
521
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puteaux, France
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Good place near of Check Point Charlie . Confortable and spacious rooms. Nice breakfast from buffet. Friendly, smiling and professional staff. Quite place. To be recommended either for business or for tourism, even if east berlin is really still less attractive than west berlin

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Spending a couple of days there for business was a very good experience for me - I never good such an amazing room fur a reasonable price in a Berlin - not even taking the location of the hotel itself into account. The staff especially at the reception area was outstanding as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klagenfurt
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I have to travel to Berlin regularly and since there are so many hotels I usually try to stay in a different every time, so I know quite a lot of hotels there already. This one is indeed a very good one. It is located very close to the city center, but still quite enough for a decent sleep. I liked the spacious rooms and the excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiley7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Just returned from a 6 night stop at the Mecure Checkpoint Charlie. They upgraded me without my asking.
A nice big room, very very clean.
A good coffee machine, refilled every day (another reviewer states theirs wasn't).
Room nice and warm, and on a quiet street so the windows can be opened if needed with not much noise intrusion.
5 minutes walk from checkpoint Charlie, 5 to 10 from Gendarmarkt, 15 from Potsdamer Place and Brandenburg gate is about 10 mins from Potsdamer.
So in a decent location. Stadmitte U-bahn is 5 mins walk away.

The only bad points....the TV has only 3 English language channels. All news. Many hotels in Germany are the same, doesn't stop it being slightly annoying that its essentially 1 station as the news is all the same.
And also....Internet. One star is lost due to having to pay for Internet except in the lobby. It's a 4 star hotel, it caters for business users but wifi costs extra?
Maybe a little petty, but a 5 star review should be perfection.

Incidentally, every member of staff was courteous and helpful. Some of the best hotel staff I've encountered.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swordfish1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The location is very convenient, and the profesionalism of the staf is very good. My room on the first floor was a duplex, with a stair : I will prefer a smaller room with a bath tub.
The wi-fi is free in the lobby but you have to pay for use in your room...
I didn't try the Fitness and Sauna at the 7th floor but it's open 24h/7d.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Let's face it: Germany is not renown for its warm welcomes and everything from a museum visit to a taxi ride tends to be a very formal experience. Berlin though is a fantastic city. Even if prices have gone up in the last few years it is still quite affordable. And among the various accommodation options I picked this one out, because the rate was ok and also because my first choices were sold out due to the late booking. And it turned out to be a good pick. Staff in most of these hotel chains just do their jobs and nothing more, but this place is packed with employees that smile and never hesitate to ask you if they can help. Reception desk called a taxi with the press of a button, and the estimate of the taxi fare that the receptionist gave me was right on. They know the city very well and could answer all questions accurately (not that I was trying to test them). Room was almost spotless (little water stains on the WC floor) and super quiet. It is not super luxurious but for that price bracket it was excellent. Location is a tiny bit to far form Unter den Linden or museum Island but manageable if you like to walk.

Room Tip: all rooms are in the back over small courtyards so street noise is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hholbein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#15 of 634 in Berlin
822 reviews
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#82 of 634 in Berlin
2,767 reviews
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#30 of 634 in Berlin
4,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our 4-star Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, you can choose between Single Rooms, Large Rooms, Privilege Rooms, Apartments and Privilege Suites. Our Family Rooms offer plenty of space in two separate areas with a connecting door. One child up to 12 years old can share your room for free and a second child for a charge of EUR 15 per night. Pets are welcome (charge of EUR 10 per night). It is just a short walk to the chic boutiques and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse, but as a guest at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie you can also enjoy the calm and comfort of a grand Wilhelminian-style building The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the main train station, 15.5 miles (25 km) from Schönefeld Airport and 3.1 miles (5 km) from the A100 highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing