We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #36 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for a five night city break. Our room was modern, large and had a nice balcony overlooking a central garden. The room included a safe, fridge and some nice toiletries. There was a pleasant bar downstairs which we visited for a couple of drinks. Wifi was not complimentary, and from memory was quite expensive to purchase.

The hotel is well located near several good restaurants, however we did not find any bars close by (it was about a 20 minute walk to get to the bars near the river). We always felt safe when making the walk back to the hotel late at night so this was not an issue for us, but some people may prefer their hotel to be closer to bars...

We managed to walk to most of the attractions which we wanted to see (Reichstag, Potsdamer Platz, Holocaust Memorial, Brandenburg Gate etc). For those attractions a little further away, the hotel is close to the subway.

Overall a really good hotel and one that I'd happily use again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,870
    1,159
    139
    22
    15
See reviews for
827
1,133
335
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Everything was great in this hotel - easy to get to, literally around the corner from Checkpoint Charlie and 15 mins from Potsdamer Platz. All the staff friendly, I liked the cheery Guten Morgen each morning as I left for my seminar. Staff spoke good English and were helpful, booking my taxi for me with minimal fuss.

Rooms very clean with excellent room service. Very quiet all night and day. Good quality TV, nice shower and pretty spacious. Impressed with built in reading lights speaker playing audio output from tv in the bathroom and the overall quality of finish.

Good coffee making facilities and clear guidance if you want extra services. The safe worked well and door and lock very solid. Never had to wait for more than a minute for a lift and was impressed with its speed reaching the fifth floor.

I have never visited Germany on business and was apprehensive about my limited German and what problems I might encounter.

As it was my stay was close to perfect, well done to the staff and I will hope to return with my wife next time I visit Berlin.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ynwa1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is very conveniently situated in the Mitte area of Berlin, 2 minutes walk from Checkpoint Charlie. 5 minutes to the nearest Ubahn. It is exceptionally clean and the staff are helpful and welcoming. We had a suite (2 large rooms both with a double bed). This was perfect for 3-4 adults and good value. Breakfast,however, was expensive at 18 Euros per person so I would recommend visiting one of the nearby bakery cafes for coffee and a pastry. There is free internet at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j59Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel location is very good and central to checkpoint Charley. Check in was very easy and quick as both rooms were pre-paid. Was upgraded on one room from a Superior to higher level. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. AC didn't work, the fan comes on, but makes no difference in room temp. Fancy coffee machines worked 1 day out of the 4, reported it twice, apparently was fixed, but Alas. Hotel is very quiet, no noises in passages, rooms are well insulated. Small balconies are a plus. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast has a wide variety of normal stations and service overall is good in the breakfast hall.
Overall a nice hotel to stay in. The City bus tours are located down the street just around the corner, a great way to explore the city of Berlin, hop on hop off. There are lots of Restaurants down the road. Downside is the hotel has no roomservice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerardgroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Close to Check Point Charlie where you can take the tourist bus. You can walk to the Bradenburg Gate and Alexanderplatz in few minutes. You can also walk to the Friedrich Strass where is locate important shopping area.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are almost the same of other Mercures around the world. To have more space, we t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miltonassumpcao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#14 of 634 in Berlin
826 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#28 of 634 in Berlin
5,044 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our 4-star Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, you can choose between Single Rooms, Large Rooms, Privilege Rooms, Apartments and Privilege Suites. Our Family Rooms offer plenty of space in two separate areas with a connecting door. One child up to 12 years old can share your room for free and a second child for a charge of EUR 15 per night. Pets are welcome (charge of EUR 10 per night). It is just a short walk to the chic boutiques and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse, but as a guest at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie you can also enjoy the calm and comfort of a grand Wilhelminian-style building The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the main train station, 15.5 miles (25 km) from Schönefeld Airport and 3.1 miles (5 km) from the A100 highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Lastminute, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing