We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,505)
Filter reviews
3,505 results
Traveller rating
2,067
1,246
152
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,067
1,246
152
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews checkpoint charlie privilege suite family suite check point charlie great hotel quiet street separate toilet coffee machine around the corner huge room within walking distance excellent location unter den linden sitting area shower room superior room small balcony
Filter
Updating list...
821 - 826 of 3,505 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I think this hotel is good value for the money. We stayed 5 nights between Christmas and New Year and paid less than 100 euro per night for a basic double (hotels.com)

The room was clean and very spacious with a closet and drawers, little sitting area and desk. The decor was a jaunty royal blue/yellow/orange, so despite lack of natural light it was cheerful if not particularly stylish. We asked for a double bed: what we got was two singles pushed together with two single blankets. I finally realized that that's what I had been seeing on all the websites for Berlin hotels that I looked at, so I don't think it's only them. The bed and blanket were pretty comfortable though - mattress on the firm side.The room was warm (adjustable heating); we were able to open the windows for some fresh air and it was still very quiet (we were facing the courtyard).

The bathroom, also very spacious with plenty of room for toiletries, was quite far from the bed and separated by a wall. Very civilized. It had heated floors, good water pressure with plenty of hot water. The towels were OK - big enough but not super fluffy - changed if you left them on the floor. As noted in other reviews, they provide a wall mounted squeeze "all in one" soap for hair/body. It worked fine for body and I brought my own shampoo and conditioner.

Free wifi is strong, although after a while it does drop your connection and you have to click through again, but basically it works well and was fast enough for me and my husband to browse for restaurant suggestions, get directions and use Facebook including uploading pictures.

The desk staff were friendly, helpful and spoke perfect English. We arrived late on Christmas eve because of a flight delay which caused us to miss the booking I had made at a nearby restaurant. They helped us find a lovely place nearby where we had a very nice Christmas dinner.

It's walking distance to Museum island, Brandenberg Tor (where you can pick up a free tours of the city starting at 11 and 2pm) Postdammer Plotz.... longish walk to Gemeldegalerie. Also 2 blocks to the metro at Kochstrasse/ Checkpoint Charlie. It takes about 50 minutes by metro to/from Schoenfeld airport.

We loved the free coffee maker and used it every morning to get us started! Breakfast is 18 euro so we left each morning to find something local and much cheaper. Plenty of options.

Room Tip: our room facing the courtyard was quiet in winter, but might get noisy in the morning in summer as they get ready for breakfast.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rschwartz375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Fantastic hotel close to Checkpoint Charlie and just a stones throw from the Gendarmenmarkt for one of the best Christmas markets I've seen. Staff we're very friendly and helpful and the rooms spotless. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Mercure Hotel Checkpoint Charlie is situated in a quiet street around the corner from the Friedrichstrasse and Checkpoint Charlie.
Check-in was quick and very friendly. The front desk is situated in a small lobby, breakfast area and bar just beside. Fitness and sauna on 7th and 8th floor. Free of charge. The hotel offers free basic WIFI and a faster variety for €6 per day. Parking garage available with in and out privileges for €16 per day. Parking outside also an option but don't forget to buy tickets.
We booked a privilege suite for the 3 of us. Situated on the 6th floor. The room was very clean and spacious. One bigger bedroom with sitting area, safe, coffee macine and mini bar. A seperate study with sleeping sofa. Small fridge, flat screen TV and working area. This room had a small balcony overlooking the courtyard. Okay size bathroom with fullsize bath, walk-in shower (no door or shower curtain), seperate toilet. Beds were comfortable although there should have been extra pillows.
Staff in the hotel very friendly. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel. €18 is rather expensive and in the direct area several bakeries for a nice German style breakfast.
Within a couple of minutes by foot you will find U-bahn, restaurants, shops, touristic attractions. Gendarmenmarkt is beautiful (very nice Weihnachtsmarkt), Unter den Linden, Brandenburger Tor, Museumsinsel, Dom, Reichstag, Tierpark, Potzdammer Platz. When not willing or able to walk, catch public transport which in cheap and convenient. Berlin is a very friendly city and an absolute must!
We enjoyed our stay a lot. Hotel very recommendable. Good quality, good rates, good location.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is a very good hotel, rooms lovely and big with toilet and shower room separate. Coffee machine and mini bar also available. Bed extremely comfortable and breakfast excellent. Chose this hotel when booking flights through EasyJet. Visited the lovely Gendarmenmarkt Christmas Market within a 10 min walk from the hotel. As the name of the hotel implies this is just round the corner 2 min walk from Checkpoint Charlie. Hotel is extremely central for all site seeing as you have public transport so accessible underground and buses! We ate one night at the two Michelin Star restaurant 'Entrecote' which is about 100 yards from the hotel, absolutely lovely and very reasonable. Every meal with had was lovely, so no complaints there!! The hotel is in a quite part of Berlin at night (Business Centre). Not too many bars on your door step but we soon found a few which we really liked especially the one near the Gendarmenmarkt. Christmas Market. Also visited the 'Ka De We' Store which was a treat in itself, having Champaign and Oysters at the Oyster Bar in the Food Hall. I also highly recommend taking the tour bus when you first arrive, so this gives you an idea of where you would like to visit on your trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews