We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #35 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Staying at this hotel was definitely my best option in Berlin. The location is just perfect since you can walk to the subway or do things by foot, in fact I did almost all the sightseeing by walking.
The hotel is so quiet that I thought I was in the woods instead of in a big city like Berlin.
The staff is lovely and I regret not remember the name of the girl that done my check in and check out as she was extremely lovely, but in general they are all very kind and helpful.
The taxi from Tegel is about 20-25 Euro, so more than acceptable!

Room Tip: From facing the main street are more quiet than the ones facing the interior garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CARLOSSOUZACRUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,869
    1,157
    139
    22
    15
See reviews for
825
1,132
335
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is located around the corner from Checkpoint Charlie, very central and close to all touristic spots. The service was very good, the rooms are very spacious and clean.
The breakfast had a large selection and is a blend of typical German, continental and English breakfast. I did not like the fact that there was no ironing board in my room; I had to go to a separate ironing room on a different level!
The hotel lacks athmosphere, but for business purposes it is very handy and I will use this hotel on a frequent basis.

Super Lage, da - wie der Name verrät - 1 Gehminute vom Checkpoint Charlie entfernt.
Das Personal war sehr zuvorkommend, die Zimmer großzügig und sauber.
Das Frühstück hat eine sehr große Auswahl gehabt, die Qualität hat ebenfalls überzeugt.
Das Ambiente wirkt allerdings etwas nüchtern, weil es wie ein klassisches Businesshotel wirkt.
Etwas irritierend: es gibt kein Bügeleisen auf dem Zimmer, man muss in einen Bügelraum gehen. Das fand ich unpassend und unpraktisch.
Für meine Geschäftsreisen werden ich das Hotel standardmäßig nutzen, für einen Urlaub wäre es praktisch, aber mit fehlender Atmosphäre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clanot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Marcure is a clean and neat hotel in a good locaton, near the metro station. There was a small problem with our reservation but they solved it pretty fast. The rooms are clean and cozy.
I wish there were more vegan options on the breakfast menu. There are only tomatoes and cucumbers which is very poor. Plus for having a soy milk, dry fruits and nuts!
The staff is friendly and welcoming (especially those in the kitchen).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was an excellent choice for a hotel in Berlin. We were able to easily walk to Checkpoint Charlie, Berlin Wall, Brandenburg Gate, and many other locations. There are also a ton of restaurants in short walking distance to the hotel. The room are huge and clean here as well. When we first walked into the room we couldn't get over how large of a space you get. The staff was pleasant and the décor was warm and inviting. We would definitely stay here again if we ever decide to return to Berlin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingduo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Wanted a location we could do the maximum from easily and this place had it in buckets - history on the doorstep as the back of the building would have been up against the Berlin Wall on the East side.
Then there is checkpoint Charlie at the end of the road. 2 tube stops within a few mins walk & Unter den linden just a 20 min walk past tonnes of top shopping.
The hotel suite is fantastic for families - 2 huge double rooms, relaxed seating area, outside balcony, separate bath and walk- in shower, separate toilet room and even a cloakroom area. A real home from home. We even sat in the bar each even and n the courtyard garden. Even had sweets n a jar & apples on reception!
A real home from home.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaManchester_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Upon arrival, the young women who welcomed us were warm and very kind. this was the only warmth and kindness we received from any of the front desk people during the 6 days we were at the hotel. In fact, the men at the desk were surprisingly unhelpful. The room was large and had all of the amenities one would like - coffee machine, minibar, sitting area, decent bathroom, etc. However of the two pillows we received, one was ok and the other was a cheap, paper-thin type. Also, the blankets - one for each of us - were less than twin size. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as we thought that 18 euros per person was very high but it looked like a well endowed assortment. There are plenty of coffee shops and a starbucks nearby.
The hotel is located within 5 brisk walking minutes of two different train stations and we walked from the hotel to Potsdammer Platz within 20 minutes. I wouldn't stay here again, mostly because of the uncomfortable pillows and blankets but also because I hope to never be in Germany again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurifriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#14 of 634 in Berlin
825 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,792 reviews
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#28 of 634 in Berlin
5,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our 4-star Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, you can choose between Single Rooms, Large Rooms, Privilege Rooms, Apartments and Privilege Suites. Our Family Rooms offer plenty of space in two separate areas with a connecting door. One child up to 12 years old can share your room for free and a second child for a charge of EUR 15 per night. Pets are welcome (charge of EUR 10 per night). It is just a short walk to the chic boutiques and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse, but as a guest at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie you can also enjoy the calm and comfort of a grand Wilhelminian-style building The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the main train station, 15.5 miles (25 km) from Schönefeld Airport and 3.1 miles (5 km) from the A100 highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing