We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Internet
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Fitness centre
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Bar/Lounge
    Reviews (3,385)
    Filter reviews
    3,385 results
    Traveller rating
    1,987
    1,212
    148
    23
    15
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,987
    1,212
    148
    23
    15
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscheckpoint charlieprivilege suitefamily suitecheck point charliegreat hotelquiet streetseparate toiletcoffee machinearound the cornerhuge roomexcellent locationunter den lindenwithin walking distancesitting areasuperior roomsmall balconyshower room
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    671 - 676 of 3,385 reviews
    Reviewed 22 July 2014

    As a single traveller, I had expected a small room, but the one I had (203) was huge! Massive TV, and a couple of armchairs, alongside two reasonably sized beds pushed together to create a plus king. The walk-in shower was fine, with lots of hot water, and - once I had worked out how to use it - the coffee machine was a welcome addition.
    Location-wise, it is not in the heart of any night life as such, but the train station is relatively close and so evening entertainment can be reached relatively quickly.
    Others have commented on the breakfast - I treated myself on my last day and filled up sufficiently to see me through until tea-time, so not bad value, when you come to think of it.

    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Kathryn W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 July 2014

    Excellent accommodation. Consider superior room is advisable. Do not miss the breakfast. Limited shops nearby but god communication by metro & buses.
    Excellent staff. Always ready to support. Very neat & clean.

    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank GautamBasak
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 July 2014

    We have been in this hotel on the night Germany became world champion football. Ot was very nice, there was a possibility to see the match in the lobby and bar, but every things was in a nice way, no noise! Als o on the streets it was fine. I think that is very special! The rooms of the hotel are very big, the bathroom is also good. There is an expresso machine in the room and tea. The rooms can open and there is airco. We did not use the breakfast. Just outside of the hotel there are bakery's that offer tea, coffee and breakfast. The area is full of nice restaurants. It is a new developted area direct at checkpoint charlie

    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Daisyboris
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 July 2014

    The rooms are very big, with kitchenette, nice bath and very quiet area. One block from Checkpoint Charlie is really an advantage. Don't expect services like swimming pools, fancy restaurants or bell boys taking your luggage up and down, but its excellent location and helpful staff is a plus. Price is also very reasonable. If you are an architect or enjoy nice architecture, you will like to stay in this unique Aldo Rossi's project.

    Room Tip: rooms toward the inner cuartyard are very quiet ones.
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank RobertoVillavicencio
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 July 2014

    Excellent quality room for a mid-price range (€83 per night in July), in fact it was overkill for a solo traveller, but that's a good thing. You definitely have a safe option with this hotel. Staff are polite, English speaking (as are most people in Berlin it seems) and very helpful. It is very close to a big tourist area and interesting museums near checkpoint charlie, but not so close that you can hear anything. It is also right next to Stadtmitte underground station which has direct lines to all the other main areas you will want to visit. You can walk to The Brandenburg Gate if you want and it will only take around 10 to 15 minutes.

    Wifi is free, unlimited and there is a stable connection, maybe a little slow, but I only had problems with video streaming.

    The fitness area only consists of a small room with treadmill and stepper machine, but the reality is you don't use the gym when you're on holiday, despite planning to use it every morning it doesn't happen as you get into your sightseeing instead.

    I didn't eat at the hotel so no comments there. Partly because breakfast is €18 which is expensive when you can go down the road to Thurmann and get something for €6. A pint of lager at the hotel bar is €5.

    My room had a safe, a nice coffee machine, A/C, nice lighting, an area with a sink / microwave / fridge, separate dressing room, sofa, dining table, walk in shower / toilet etc... all high quality materials and finishing.

    I didn't have any problems with the room or with anything else throughout my whole stay in Berlin. Everything is well organised and laid out and there is generally a friendly atmosphere for tourists.

    Room Tip: The hotel is not on a busy road so all rooms would be quiet. I had a free upgrade from a double room to an apartment, so was very happy with that. I'm sure the double rooms would be of the same quality.
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Strummer B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews