We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #32 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2009

I cannot praise the staff of the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie enough. Clean, beautiful, modern rooms, and excellent customer service made my trip very enjoyable. The hotel's central location made it the perfect launching point for trips throughout the city. The food in the bar and restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced. Special thanks to Gastgeberlin Dana Bruckner for greeting me and my colleagues, and making us feel right at home.

Chris Nolan
C. Nolan Television, LLC

Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank CBNPortland_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,693 - 1,699 of 3,309 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2009

We stayed here for 1 night while visiting Berlin for a short weekend. The hotel is located on a quiet side street, 5-10 minutes walking time to the main attractions of the city. A great location. Was also a couple blocks from restaurants and a bakery. We booked online and requested a 3rd bed for our child. We were given an extra bed free of charge, and a huge room.....the size of a suite with 2 bathrooms. The room was very modern and clean with a mini bar, TV, hairdryer, etc. The only thing missing was a coffee maker. The breakfast was 10 Euros per person so we did not partake, but upon peering in there, it looked like a nice buffet. The hotel also had a small bar area.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BFamilyZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much in this bed and breakfast hotel.
Friendly staff and wonderful breakfast. We booked a deluxe room which was clean and very nice. This Mercure hotel is located near Checkpoint Charlie in Berlin Mitte. A perfect location
for sightseeing. As Berlin was freezing cold during our stay, this
hotel always gave us a warm welcome.
So check it out and enjoy!
Els and Gerard

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AlmereJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Very nice hotel, very good location for sightseeing.
Close to museums, Ku'damm, Unter den Linden, Alexanderplatz. Very comfortable rooms !

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gewoonvoordelol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

Agree with most reviews. We booked hotel based on tripadvisor and it was as expected. Room was spacious and comfortable, staff mostly helpful,although their English wasn't always great.
Only complaint with room was there was no tea and coffee making facilities. Didn't have breakfast in hotel but found a cafe quite close by. There was not a lot of cafes to choose from in the area. The location was reasonable not far from checkpoint charlie and within easy travel by U bahn

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Merelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Agree with all previous comments, but would add the following.
We are four adults and stayed in the very comfortable spacious family suite consisting of two double bedrooms, but the suite contained only one toilet and one bath so you can imagine the queues for each one in the mornings.
So come one Mercure, one of the bedrooms has ample enough space to be converted into ensuite.
Also, why was there no kettle, coffee or tea in the rooms?

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank clara62016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We arrived in Berlin late on a Saturday in snowy conditions and couldn't have been met with a warmer welcome. The staff are all very helpful and happy, they all seem to like working there which rubs off on the customers.

We stayed with two teenagers (a family of four) and had a wonderful room with two separate bedrooms, a separate toilet and a great bathroom with an extra long bath and freestanding shower. The floor was heated in the bathroom, and the towels were always warm on the towel rack.

The room service menu is basic and the breakfast was a little expensive (18 Euros each) so we ate out for breakfast most days.

However, compared to our experience in Paris, this was a great way to finish off our European vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EuroVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#26 of 634 in Berlin
5,337 reviews
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#87 of 634 in Berlin
2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £67 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our 4-star Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, you can choose between Single Rooms, Large Rooms, Privilege Rooms, Apartments and Privilege Suites. Our Family Rooms offer plenty of space in two separate areas with a connecting door. One child up to 12 years old can share your room for free and a second child for a charge of EUR 15 per night. Pets are welcome (charge of EUR 10 per night). It is just a short walk to the chic boutiques and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse, but as a guest at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie you can also enjoy the calm and comfort of a grand Wilhelminian-style building The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the main train station, 15.5 miles (25 km) from Schönefeld Airport and 3.1 miles (5 km) from the A100 highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing