We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good hotel, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #32 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very good hotel, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

We had booked this hotel many months ago but on arrival were met by the Office Assistant who explained that they had not been able to collect the money or contact us and that they had no rooms available for the first night of three - that was the bad news. However, they had arranged, at the same bargain rate as the time we booked, a night in a comparable 4* hotel (which was fine), a complimentary taxi ride to get there and a choice of returning to this hotel or staying at the alternative. We returned because of its location and were given an upgrade to a suite type room. For a problem that was, to be fair, mostly ours, the hotel could not have been more helpful - a superb example of customer care. The location is great for sightseeing with a U-Bahn station round the corner and it's on a quiet street. The room was very good although beginning to get to a point where redecoration might be required - a minor point. All the staff were so helpful and friendly and particularly Thorsten who did such a good job of working around the problem. Well done.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dodgychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,791
    1,123
    133
    21
    14
See reviews for
787
1,093
332
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Impossible to fault anything about this hotel. I travel a lot in Europe and stay in all types of hotels but this has definitely been one of the best. On arrival I was greeted by friendly and helpful staff and was advised that my room had been upgraded from a "Superior room" to an "Appartment". This was a surprise to say the least and a fantastic size room with its own lounge, kitchen, 2 bathrooms, breakout area with desk, balcony with table and chairs and king-size bed. Excellent facilities at the hotel - wi-fi was available in the room for 7 Euros a day or you could use the computer in the reception area for free. Breakfast was included in my deal so not sure how much it would have been seperately but its buffet style and you can choose from cereal, yoghurts, fruit, bread, cold meats, jams, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, pancakes and so much more. Hotel was very clean, TV in the bar, I ate in the restaurant only twice during my stay and the food was of good quality and very reasonably priced for a hotel. The location of the hotel is also one of it's important features as it is right in the middle of the city, the nearest underground station is Stadtmitte which translates to "middle of the city"! its on the U2 line which runs central through the city from the Olympic Stadium right across Potsdamer Platz and over to Alexanderplatz and beyond. Perfect in every way and would go back to Berlin tomorrow, and certainly use this hotel for my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neilmac1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

large rooms, very good furniture, quiet, excellent service,
central location to touristic features, short walk to subway,
free internet access in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Summary :
Great staff
Large room
Excellent location
Spotlessly clean
Superb food and drinks from the Checkpoint Bar

Stayed midweek from 10th to 14th August.

Late flights via Ryan Air from EMA meant by the time our taxi from Schönefeld (35 Euro) arrived at the hotel it was almost 11pm, yet there was a welcoming hello and smile from the reception desk.
Each and everytime we walked either into or out of reception there was a friendly "hello!" from whoever was manning the desk.

Our double room (#214) on the 2nd floor was very spacious, consisting of bult in double waredrobe [inc safe] with vanity mirror and desk, table and three chairs, 26" CRT TV, air con, a second vanity mirror, fridge with mini-bar and bathroom with walk in combi shower et al.
Throughout our stay we didn't hear a noise from any adjacent rooms, except once or twice the sound of a door being closed. As the hotel itself was so quiet, we became very conscious of not allowing our hotel room door to close on it's own as it would make a loud clunk.
House keeping happened every day with fresh towels and bed linen.

The hotel location is excellent for Checkpoint Charlie and other Berlin wall exhibits; literally a two minutes walk, as is Stadtmitte U-Bahn station and a Kaisers supermarket.
Other Berlin tourist sites like the Tiergarten, Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag are about a twenty minute walk up Friedrichstraße which is [I believe] one of the main shopping streets in Berlin.
There are also several good restaurants in the immediate area.

The Checkpoint Bar serves a wide variety of drinks and a small selection of hot and cold food and as expected, both the food and drink and the bar staff were excellent.

Cabled internet is available in your room for a fee, however wireless is free in the bar and reception areas.

To conclude I would have no hesitation in staying again at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Checkpoint Charlie and would recommend this great hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JROB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

good location, kind staff, very clean...
and an amazing Berlin!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azzurraG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

Very nice hotel conveniently located to tourist sites and UBahn. Terrific breakfast included and clean, basic rooms. Very quiet neighborhood at night. Everything closed around 8pm. We especially want to thank Daniela at the front desk for being such a big help. Got a great "Sommer" deal by doing a bank transfer instead of a credit card. Saved about euro 356 for a week's stay on 2 rooms over any other price on the internet.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanInHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

Visited with a friend and her 13 year old son recently and found both the accomodations and the staff outstanding. I usuall y stay at top five star hotels, and this came close in every way. EXCELLENT location for a tourist. Walking distance to may sights including the Jewish Museum, the Gropius, and Gedarmenmart [sp?] as well as Checkpoint Charlie. Close to a very convenient U Bahn stop....a short direct ride to KaDeWe and a walking distance to Gallerie Lafayette.

While the rooms are not overly stylish, they are very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a suite with and adjoining LARGE room which I highly recommend for a family group. This is not a hotel with excelptional charm or character, but it is certainly a very comfortable place to stay if you are sighseeing or visiting friends in Berlin.

Be sure to book with included breakfast. It is worth every Euro....and more. The food is top quality and the variety unending. Many nights we skipped dinner because we'd eaten our fill in the morning.

The staff all speak excellent English and are very helpful. In particular, we want to thank Danielle, who treated us as though we were family who'd come to see her.

Don't let the value price fool you. This hotel is a real find.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivePenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#31 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel & Residence Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is located in the historic centre of the town and offers 139 spacious rooms, suites and apartments ( 30m² - 80m² ). Most of them have a balcony. Here you will be living in a particularly exclusive location, right by the former Checkpoint Charlie and near to the shopping stretch of Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarkt. Our hotel provides a breakfast restaurant, wine garden, Checkpoint Bar, 24 h sauna, gym, sundeck and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing