We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, clean room! Great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mark Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mark Apart Hotel
Ranked #431 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean room! Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mark Apart for 3 nights, and we really enjoyed it. The room was very spacious and clean. I liked that it had a balcony. The breakfast was good, and the hotel is walking distance from the train station (which I believe are a little difficult to figure out, but once you do, they are very useful). There are a lot of high end stores nearby if you're into that sort of thing. There's a really good Italian restaurant across that street that makes delicious late night pizzas.

One more note about the trains, make sure you have a valid ticket and make sure you get it validated at one of the little stamper machines. Regular tickets are only good for 2 hours, on way. The 'train police' caught us with expired tickets because we honestly didn't know any better, and we were charged 40 euros each OUCH! They don't care about the 'I'm a dumb tourist' excuse.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KELSEY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_apart_hotel, General Manager at Mark Apart Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you spend an enjoyable time in Berlin and are looking forward welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    288
    243
    119
    72
See reviews for
170
330
32
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

First of all, having stayed in 'apart-hotels' before, I have grown accustomed to them having a fridge and limited cooking facilities. The room we were allocated here was a standard room without these. However, the experience of staing here was rather good.
On arrival, the receptionist was pleasant, helpful and polite and allowed us access to our rooms well before the earliest check-in time. Having travelled since 4am, this was really welcome! The room itself was similar to the standard of a Travelodge or Premier Inn with a clean and fresh en-suite bathroom and the (now normal) two single beds pushed together to make a double. I didn't like the two single duvets on the bed though...if you like a kettle in your room, you should bring one - there isn't one supplied. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but there is a few rather good bakeries around the hotel which do good pastries and coffee.
The location of the hotel is good, being a short walk to the Sauvignyplatz overground station, which takes you to the centre in around 10 minutes or so. We bought a 3-day travel card which meant we could use all the public transport in Berlin for a fixed fee. If you do this, remember to validate your ticket on the platorm before you first use it - we met an incognito ticket inspector on one train.
The only downside to this hotel is the fact that it allows smoking. On arrival, we had a smell of stale smoke in the room - the presence of an ashtray explained why. We were, however, very pleased with this hotel and hope to return.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the staff car park - this was exceptionally quiet and oten felt like we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raisonable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_apart_hotel, General Manager at Mark Apart Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your comments, we have taken the critics received into consideration and are glad that our hotel met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, arriving Friday 4 January. Upon arrival in the afternoon, the reception lady was rather unfriendly and quite passive towards us. Was given Room 92 (of course very very small double room), but the room was too hot as we were unable to adjust heating. Room temperature about 28.c, reported to the same reception lady in first instance, but no joy. Chased up using assertive approach, requesting a change of room. Was given room 410 - very spacious, two double rooms, a big bathroom with shower and a balcony. The cleaning could also do better.
For the rest of our stay, all reception staff, apart from tha lady as described above, were very helpful with the willing to communicate with us.
Restaurant - the waiter service could do with some improvements - be more communicative with the guests whereas applicable. Breakfast food so superb - you won't be disappointed :-)

Room Tip: Ensure that the room is clean throughout when you enter into!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmileyDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_apart_hotel, General Manager at Mark Apart Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your experience in Berlin. We have taken all points into consideration and are glad you overall had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel with some friends for a summer break. We wanted a hotel that was in city but wasn't too expensive. This hotel was perfect! Very good value for money as the rooms were very clean and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Overall, a great value hotel that is worth far more than the prices they charge!

Would love to go again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_apart_hotel, General Manager at Mark Apart Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in Berlin, we are glad you spent an enjoyable time and that our team was able to provide the great service we aim for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed in a triple room, two singles and the third bed was a pull out sofa which was fine. we are three ladies and we were pleased with the room, price and location. Easy walk to the nearest train station.
There was a bit of noise on our floor one night, but one phone call to reception and it was dealt with straight away.
Little issues were the shower head had to be positioned a certain way or it leaked out through the door. the bathroom stunk of urine and when we lifted the toilet seat it was pretty gross. The cleaners do need to do a better job and actually clean and wipe things down!
No free WiFi! and at 12 Euro for 24 hours it was too expensive for us as you couldn't switch it off and on as you needed it. this was our biggest and most annoying problem as when you are travelling you need to be able to look things up on the internet.
Breakfast was also VERY expensive at 12 Euro so we never ate there.
Other than that we would be happy to stay there again and do recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwichic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_apart_hotel, General Manager at Mark Apart Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comments on this page, we are glad you spend an enjoyable time in Berlin and that our team was able to provide the great service we aim for. Your comments in regards to the Housekeeping we are taking very seriously into considerations. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed in a triple room (203) and found it fine for our needs. The room was big. The third bed was a sofa bed and, even when it was fully out, there was a reasonable amount of space. The bedrooms at the front of the hotel have a balcony looking out onto the main street. The bathroom was fairly large and was clean and bright. I didn't see any of the issues with dirty carpets that previous reviewers have commented on.

A safety deposit box is available behind reception, free of charge.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

I would stay there again for the right price.

Room Tip: Room 203 is a good sized triple room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancsman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_apart_hotel, General Manager at Mark Apart Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time, commenting on your stay and are very happy that we were able to meet your expectations and that our team was able to provide the great service we aim for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

No matter what level of irritation you're prepared to tolerate for a cheap price, the Mark Apart is certain to exceed your endurance. I have traveled all of Europe and stayed at some hotels that were definitely not what I expected. I have never stayed at a hotel as downright filthy as the Mark Apart.

The carpets in the hallways are encrusted with visible dirt. The room carpets are equally vile. If you drop something in your room, you had better pick it up yourself, because the maids don't vacuum. That's not hyperbole--the maids literally do not have vacuum cleaners. And they do not do any other form of cleaning. When I moved into my room, there was hair and dirt all along the edge of my bed. In five days, no one ever cleaned my sink, the counters, my shower, the floors, or any part of the bathroom. My mother, who had a normal-size room (as opposed to the euphemistically titled "business" room) had to lay towels on the furniture so that we could sit down on it. When I left my room at 10:30 one morning, the maid left a bag with towels on the door, because cleaning service was over for the day. Another day, they didn't clean until 5:00. Service (of any kind--housekeeping, maintenance, or question-answering) was as unpredictable as it was lackluster.

I couldn't turn down/off the heat in my room. My toilet leaked. The bathroom door handle was broken. My suitcase (standard carry-on size) didn't fit in the closet and there wasn't a luggage rack or any floor space for it, so the closet door had to just hang open all week, thereby forcing me to walk sideways past it to get in and out of bed.

Stay at any other hotel. Any. Other. Hotel. I stayed at the Berlin Plaza once. The power went out and there was a spring popped in my bed. It was about a thousand times nicer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilaMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_apart_hotel, General Manager at Mark Apart Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time, commenting on your stay and are very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. We have taken your points into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Berlin Mark Hotel
Berlin Mark Hotel
#339 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Europa City Hotel
#355 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Charlottenburg
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Apart Hotel

Property: Mark Apart Hotel
Address: Lietzenburger Strasse 82-84, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Mark Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Apart Berlin
Berlin Mark Apart Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing