We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spooky art hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Propeller Island City Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Propeller Island City Lodge
Ranked #359 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Spooky art hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

The Propeller Island City Lodge is one of Berlin’s best-known art hotels and deservedly so. Each room has a different theme, ranging from the weird to the sinister. Please look at the pictures on the website: it is definitely out of the ordinary.

Since each room is different, it is hard to write a general review. My room had a raised bed, a desk under an artificial skylight and an open-glassed bathroom. There was no TV, but it is possible to play eerie experimental electronic music. Free, good Wifi was available.

The hotel is in Charlottenburg in West Berlin, an area considered uncool by the hipper citizens of the town, but safe and convenient because of its location and many restaurants. For example, there are various small Asian eateries in walking distance, in the direction of station Charlottenburg.

My major complaints would be about practicalities. I never saw any staff until checkout. There is no staff in the evening, so I got my key by accessing an outside safe with a pre-sent code. Also, I was always away too early for breakfast, which starts only at 8.00. This was only a minor problem, but for the price they really should have more staff present. Also, a proper wardrobe in my room was not deemed artistically justifiable.

Comparing it to the other major art hotel in Berlin, the Arte Louise, the latter is somewhat better as a hotel, with more comfortable beds, better service and a more central location. It is also a bit more expensive than the Propeller Island City Lodge. As works of art, the hotels have a different style: the Arte Luise is playful and light, whereas the Propeller City feels alienating and spooky. I’m tempted to say the former is where you take your partner for a romantic weekend, the latter where you bring your secret lover. It’s a question of preference. In any case, they’re both great places.

Despite the practical drawbacks I give the full score, because this is the kind of hotel that should be supported. It is so much more original than most other places.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeyondBlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    40
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
14
56
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltic Coast, Poland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

If you are bored of those Arcor- like chain hotels for your weekend stay in the city try The Propeller Island Citylodge. Each room offers completely different design ranging from puristic all white thru hedonistic s&m style one with beds in form of cages hanging from the ceiling to psychodellic old crypt style where you actually sleep in a coffin !

One has to be forgiving as far as the quality of the furniture and some accessories is concerned ( sometimes crude wood and OSB boards used for the furniture and construction are visible ) but the ideas are great . Kids will love the change and your girlfrined or wife will think you were a genius if you book " The Cages" for her birthday ;)

Staff is young and friendly, multilingual. Breakfast basic.

Room Tip: " The upside down " if you travel with kids and " The cages" if with wife or gir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Propeller Island City Lodge hotel in Berlin is one of the most unusual hotels I've ever had the good fortune to stumble across. Each of the 26 rooms are absolutely unique and utterly unforgettable. Please visit their website to get an idea of the artful strangeness, because there isn't a simple way to describe the overall choices available. I've stayed here on a few occasions now, and have to say that my favorite room so far is the "Gruft" (grave) room. It accommodates up to four adventurous guests. As you walk into the room, you are transported to a surreal and very much German Expressionist style environment with it's massive windows and heavy as lead velvet curtains: think Murnau's 1922 film Nosfuratu. There are two white "coffins" that are roomy and quite comfortable (enough to get a good long sleep in) but would be too small for two guests. If you're feeling a little bit claustrophobic, you can sleep in the alternative, full sized bed located "underground". By climbing down into the floor, and crawling along a brilliant but short maze that features animal skulls and eerie lighting you reach a simple but exceptionally comfortable Japanese-style bed.

After your long sleep has resurrected you, take a shower in the most amazing shower. All of the Gruft room is designed to *visually* impress on guests the feeling of the macabre, but the bathroom teases your olfactory senses in the most surprisingly pleasant way. The walls and floor are covered in a wonderful slate stone that, when damp, smells exactly like freshly turned earth. Phenomenal! The shower is so good that I have yet to make it to breakfast on time!

The staff seems to keep as low a profile as possible, and I have had very little interaction with them other than a quiet "How was you stay?". It's downright ghostly in the halls...

From the bizarre artist composed music that you can listen to through a strange stereo system to the vast array of room styles, You simply can't go wrong no matter which room you choose to stay in. This hotel is truly designed for art lovers and genuine adventurers. At Propeller Island, you will inevitably feel as if you are on another planet, not simply staying in a hotel.

We love it!

Room Tip: This is a good hotel for the cooler months of the year, as there is no air conditioning. It has no e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZylahO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stayed here for one night (17-Feb'13). I stayed in the Hollywood theme room.The hotel has been publicised as a work of art. But they have not been able to combine art with comfort. There are rules written around everywhere,and chances are you may even miss some of these writings. The written rules are nothing new but basic hotel etiquette, which guests normally follow. I was surprised to read that even usage of wi-fi (which is complimentary) comes with a philosophy - please do not download, music, etc. Am I visiting a hotel or attending a school picnic with instructions from the teachers. We are definitely not kids but responsible adults and hence as a guest, I absolutely do not like to be told do this or don't do that.
You need not be an Olympic winner but you need to be physically fit to sleep in the rooms. Well, you cannot reach the bed without the stairs. The 2nd bed is till higher.
The positives : Very good hospitality by Ms. Valentina the care taker. Rooms are clean,location is good.
The negatives : Only breakfast available and that too very elementary. There's no one around after 12 noon. You need to be cautious at every step,as you have entered an art gallery not a hotel room. And should you commit a mistake, it will lighten your wallet.
The theme may be different but it is not practical, and anything different need not always serve the purpose. Its more like a bird's nest than a hotel room. The challenge is to combine the hotel basics with art. Here art takes precedence over hotel. The art is also very crude and definitely not fine or something you would like to see again and again. The outside of the hotel is nothing but just a normal building. No form of art is displayed.
I would also like to mention that the service of Ms. Valentina was exceptional and par excellence.
I would come back to this hotel only if I know Ms. Valentina is around, else would not.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KunalBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

My wife and i have stayed here a few times when visiting berlin. It is like nowhere else!
Not strictly a hotel, but a lodge. They do serve breakfast though. each room is furnished with a particular theme. Some are quite amazing. Check out the flying bed! Plumbing is a bit wierd, for example wash basins made from beer barrels and bare copper water pipes running around the bathroom. All very germanic. The lodge is housed in a large appartment building on several floors. No televisions, only a sound ssytem of mood and electronic music.
It is located in a "posh" part of berlin so there are plenty of places to eat nearby, and it is close to U bahn and S bahn stations.
Don't expect hotel luxuries like telephones and room service, although they do have wifi. Stay with an open mind and you will love it.

Room Tip: all rooms are completely individual, some have bathrooms some not. we liked the flying bed and glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travellingman062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

This is SUCH a unique place to stay and we definitely recommend it if you are up to something out of the ordinary. Sure, it doesnt have the "bells and whistles" as other hotels have, but it is made very clear on their website that they dont AND lets be honest: its has its own unique "bells and whistles" --> the most visually interesting rooms you can imagine, atmosphere music equipped in the room, and an overall intimate experience given that there are only 32 rooms. We found the reception so personable, the "lobby" warm and friendly, the location wonderful, and the breakfast adequate to fill our bellies for a big day. Of course, our room was BEYOND exceptional. The creativity and workmanship is mind blowing. If you appreciate art and the effort involved, and have an open mind, you will love it. We wouldnt stay for a week, but a day or two is perfect to glitter a stay in Berlin with a little more funk than a usual hotel. Kudos Propeller Island team! Well done.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Buppin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

If you want a really different experience, then you must stay here if visiting Berlin. It is an oasis of amazingness. The rooms are eclectic and awesome, the service is just so lovely and, although not with the bells and whistles of a 4* hotel, it really does give you a fantastic stay.
Great breakfast and location is super for all connections to the city.
Super value and guaranteed to leave you with fabulous memories! Do book this :-)

Room Tip: Room 42 - Two Lions is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bigsnakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Michelberger Hotel
Michelberger Hotel
#113 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Mitte
Arte Luise Kunsthotel
Arte Luise Kunsthotel
#198 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Charlottenburg
25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Ellington Hotel Berlin
Ellington Hotel Berlin
#136 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#10 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Friedrichshain
nhow Berlin
nhow Berlin
#28 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Propeller Island City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Propeller Island City Lodge

Property: Propeller Island City Lodge
Address: Albrecht-Achilles Str. 58, 10709 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Propeller Island City Hotel Berlin
Propeller Island City Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing