We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now one of my favourite hotels in Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DORMERO Hotel Berlin Ku'damm
Ranked #232 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Everything about this hotel is elegant and charming. The staff are wonderful and will arrange anything to make your stay with them perfect.
The food is amazing and the courtyard lovely to sit in, enjoy a drink or of course eat.
The rooms are large, modern and clean.
Location is in a quite elegant street.

It is wonderful as is Berlin!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

We booked this hotel on the strength of reviews not only on Tripadvisor but also the reviews on Small Luxury Hotels Club website. We also wanted a small, quiet hotel which was relatively near transport links to the city centre. The added attraction was the Michelin star restaurant. The hotel is relatively quiet but does get some traffic noise if you are in a room overlooking the street, but at worst this is spasmodic and didn't interrupt our sleep.
It is spotlessly clean and beautifully presented. The concierge and reception staff were always cheerful, helpful and efficient and spoke excellent English. They readily recommended other places to eat and booked tables for us.
Generally, breakfasts were excellent, with a wide choice from a long list which was a little confusing if you're used to the buffet style. If you're British and are used to having cereal followed by a hot meal make this plain because everything is freshly prepared and is delivered all at once, because, according to the waiter, the convention in Germany is that the hot breakfast is eaten first. Disappointingly we weren't able to sample Die Quadriga, the Michelin starred restaurant, because the chef had been injured and wasn't able to cook. We'd booked the restaurant several weeks before we went and confirmed our booking on arrival. We were only told about the chef's demise on taking our seats in the restaurant on our last night, even though the chef had been injured the weekend before our arrival.
We thought it might have merited an apology from the duty manager, but the poor waiter was sent instead. To make amends they booked a table for us at a nearby Michelin starred restaurant and called a taxi for us and offered us a free drink on our return.

For those of you who have become accustomed to eating in a non-smoking environment the Brandenburger Hof welcomes smoking in the bar and lounge and this is where breakfast and lunch is served, and the evening snack-type meals, if you're not dining in Die Quadriga. The doors of the restaurant open in to the lounge, so you will still get smoke drifting in there. Even though the hotel didn't appear to be busy you could still smell the second hand smoke as you entered the lobby, particularly in the evening.
Housekeeping on the whole was great although on two evenings out of three the face flannels weren't replaced. We accept things do go wrong and this was easily rectified by a quick call to reception.
I was asked to provide a review for the SLH website, which I did, and I made much the same comments but it's yet to appear.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is beautiful and stylish, the staff were always cheerful and welcoming and knowledgeable and went out of their way to be helpful and understanding. Our room and bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom small but well-appointed and the room air-conditioned. The hotel is conveniently located and a restful place to come back to after a day's sightseeing. If the hotel was brave enough to ban smoking altogether we would certainly go back there and would recommend it unhesitatingly to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trotterinKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandenburgerHof, Leiter Front Office at DORMERO Hotel Berlin Ku'damm, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear trotterinkent,

Thank you very much for your positive comments and feedback. I am pleased to read of your enjoyable stay at Brandenburger Hof. I will personally make sure that your praise for the staff members will be shared amongst the team. We truly value your feedback.

I am however very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the smell of smoke. Our private dining rooms and the restaurant Quadriga are of course all non-smoking areas. We do allow smoking to take place in the Lounge but only after the breakfast service at 11.30 am. Your comments have been taken on board and we will address the matter immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If there is anything I can personally assist you with please do not hesitate in getting in contact.

Kind regards,
Vinzent Reiss
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had booked, and paid for, our stay at the Brandenburger Hof a month previously through Avios. When we arrived at the hotel, for whatever reason, they didn’t have a record of our booking. I showed them our paperwork; they immediately took us to the bar and offered us drinks while they sorted it out. By the time we’d downed those, we were escorted to an upgraded room and our luggage was already there. An object lesson in how to handle something that’s gone wrong.
Our comfortably furnished first floor room with a large double bed overlooked the Japanese garden. For a city hotel it was incredibly quiet and relaxing. Minor niggles were that there was no information on the hotel services (room service menu, restaurant times, how to access Wi-Fi and what it would cost, etc.) and there was no room safe so we had to use the hotel’s safe deposit. We were told that some rooms had safes and they would eventually be installed in every room. We made do with CNN news because there was signal on the BBC World Service channel, though bizarrely we could get BBC Scotland.
Our rate included excellent breakfasts, taken around the Japanese garden. Be careful – it’s very easy to over-order.
The Brandenburger Hof is a small, exclusive hotel, so it doesn’t offer some of the things that might come with the larger chain hotels of a similar star ranking. It more than makes up for that in its charm and the friendliness of its staff. Reception staff picked up from the paperwork that we were departing Berlin on an evening flight and without even asking we were offered a late check out until we left at 4.15pm.
This is my idea of a good hotel and I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilotjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We booked a courtyard room for a friend's wedding and the staff contacted us immediately to confirm and ask if we had any special requests. Upon arrival the manager and his team were friendly and took care of everything. And, the room, lovely: modern, light and airy, clean and comfortable, and with a great view of the orangery style courtyard, where the restaurant and lounge are situated. Speaking of which, good food and drinks served by courteous, attentive staff, meant we stayed in a couple of times where in other hotels we would have sought a bar or diner - a mark of a good hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank variouslots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandenburgerHof, Leiter Front Office at DORMERO Hotel Berlin Ku'damm, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of a fantastic stay at Brandenburger Hof with particular mention of the friendly staff and modern yet comfortable rooms with a view to our blooming garden.
I am pleased to know you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Vinzent Reiss
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this Hotel, and had an amazingly large suite. It had a sitting room, and large bedroom, both overlooking the courtyard and each with 2 Juliet balconies, powder room and large bathroom. It also had a large walk-in wardrobe and another large wardrobe with ample room for luggage storage, which was great for us as we had 3 large bags and they all fitted in there with more room to spare. The staff are all very well trained and English is spoken. We had breakfast included and it's very well served and with a large choice from the menu. We also ate dinner there one night and it was faultless - delicious, beautifully served with fresh ingredients and a good choice in the menu. The hotel is well situated off the hustle and bustle of Kurfurstendamm Strasse, but is only 2 small blocks from here, so easy walking.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfinggirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandenburgerHof, Leiter Front Office at DORMERO Hotel Berlin Ku'damm, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear golfinggirl30,

Thank you for your recent review detailing the exceptional and comfortable space in our suites and I am pleased that you had such a fantastic experience in The Quadriga restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Vinzent Reiss
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We spent almost one week here this spring on vacation and had a very lovely time. The accommodations are beautiful in this small, 70+ odd room/suites hotel. It's down the street from the U-Bahn station, making access to the region simple without a car, and the staff, particularly at the front desk are wonderful. The hotel is incredibly quiet, located as it is on a small backstreet near the Kudam and KaDeWe, and it provided a perfect retreat from our days' activities. The breakfasts were terrific and economical, too.

On the negative, small numbers of the staff were less than we expected from a 5-star hotel, even though the overall impression from the staff was friendly and accommodating overall.

I would highly recommend this hotel when in Berlin, and we'll stay there again as well. It's location really is perfect for the best shopping, access to the fabulous Berlin Zoo, attending the Philharmonie, and a variety of activities near the Tiergarten. Compared with the larger, luxury chain hotels in Berlin, it provides individual and much lower-key, elegant accommodation, and it's renovated former luxury apartment history makes one feel as if he's stepped back into a more civilized and restrained time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street have more natural light but a little more noise on the weekend; the rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve41130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandenburgerHof, Leiter Front Office at DORMERO Hotel Berlin Ku'damm, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Steve41130,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Brandenburger Hof. Our friendly and helpful staff always do their utmost to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay and they can feel like at home.
I am pleased to know this was the case with your recent visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Vinzent Reiss
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I just left the Brandenburger Hof after a 4 day stay. Its a great small hotel on a quiet street. Its very well located to the shopping area and the KaDeWe. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are a great size. The courtyard in the center where you can have breakfast, lunch, dinner is lovely. I would definitely come back to this 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baci2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#79 of 634 in Berlin
693 reviews
art'otel berlin kudamm
#195 of 634 in Berlin
944 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Bleibtreu Berlin by Golden Tulip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#40 of 634 in Berlin
1,935 reviews
Hyperion Hotel Berlin
#136 of 634 in Berlin
608 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hecker's Hotel Berlin
Hecker's Hotel Berlin
#124 of 634 in Berlin
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DORMERO Hotel Berlin Ku'damm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DORMERO Hotel Berlin Ku'damm

Address: Eislebener Str. 14, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Formerly DORMERO Hotel Brandenburger Hof Berlin)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#99 Business Hotel in Berlin
#135 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#143 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £61 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DORMERO Hotel Berlin Ku'damm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
How can you resist a city that is 24/7 full of things worth seeing, flavors and sounds? In which everything is on the move, in which new things are constantly developed and others discovered. This is the challenge we accepted when we created the first Black Label among the DORMERO Hotels in the capital city Berlin. The DORMERO Hotel Berlin Ku’damm, located just a few meters from the famous boulevard “Kurfurstendamm”, is like the city itself – a balance between classical and modern design, trend and mainstream, globetrotter and fashionista. The boutique hotel is a fantastic blend of originality and contrast, tuned to the color black. Daring individualism in form and style, addressing the guest’s individual needs. With the Black Label, the previously Bohemian architecture was shaped into an unconventional frame redefining the traditional concept of the hotel. A hotspot in Berlin with unique and constantly changing experiences worth not only seeing, but above all experiencing live. The DORMERO Hotel Berlin Ku’damm has 72 rooms of three different categories ready for you. A perfect combination of design, individuality and minimalist style. For all those who need enough freedom to act out their stay in Berlin also behind closed doors. Some may feel it is a break in style, we think it is mystical and appealing. Feel as if you were at a secret place in the midst of the urban jungle. Enjoy the quiet location of the rooms and the view into the illuminated patio along with the technical features and the absolute sleeping comfort with all your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DORMERO Hotel Berlin Ku'damm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandenburger Hof Berlin
Brandenburger Hof Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing