We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 'go to' place in Berlin”
Review of Die Fabrik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Die Fabrik
Ranked #194 of 356 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I've stayed at Die Fabrik on multiple occasions and, honestly, have nothing but good thoughts about the place. Located in a cool, renovated factory (hence the name), it's somewhere between a hotel and a hostel and priced accordingly. Visitors always seem a good mix of ages and nationalities. The rooms are basic, bathrooms are shared, but everything is spotless and works just fine. Attached cafe serves good food and coffee. Super place for travelling with friends (been there with between 2 and 8 of us).

Neighborhood and location are just what I like... range of bars, clubs, food options and prices, good people watching, etc.. It's a short hop to Friedrichshain, Neukölln, or any of the historic/touristy parts of the city. Kreuzberg itself still thankfully retains enough edge to stay comfortably on the independent/non-corporate side of things, though some changes and increased crowds in the past few years are undeniable. That, though, is another matter entirely... Die Fabrik has always been, and remains, a great base for anytime you're in Berlin.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adaiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

Cheap, clean, no frills, easy, good food (did I mention cheap?) and dead smack in Berlin's coolest neighborhood. It's everything you'll need. Because if you plan on spending more than just the time to get some well needed rest in your hotel room, you're in the wrong city! I'll definitely be back at Die Fabrik.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

A great location to be based to tour Berlin. Close to the U-Bahn and S-Bahn you can move quickly around town and take in the sights. The local cafes and restaurants were more than adequate.

The rooms themselves are nothing to write home about - a bed to sleep in and that is about it. But you didn't come to berlin to hang in your room.

Breakfast downstairs was very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Dia Fabrik was a factory and has been really well renovated into a warm and welcoming hostel in Kreuzberg, Berlin. One of the nicest and most interesting areas to stay. The place has it's own renweable energy supply which allows the building to stay surprisingly warm in winter (considering the freezing temperatures outside).
I asked for a quiet room and was given a 4th floor (no lift, mind) room which couldn't have been cosier and quieter than that. Shared bathrooms really clean. So were the rooms. The staff very freindly and the cafe serves great breakfasts.
I got very into my Hefeweiser, which was best at the bar on the corner between Schleische str and Curvy Str. I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Top floor are quietest but no lift. Ask for ones away from the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fedeb1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed for a week, very basic, reminded me of my dorm room in Germany decades ago. Read Hr Lehmann while exploring Berlin. If you know what you're booking, then this place is probably perfect for you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Great location within easy reach of everything you need, but this place does need re painting, if this was done then the rooms would be much better and the stairwell would be pleasant. The bathrooms were clean and tidy, and the free wireless was great.. For the money we paid I would have expected a bit more.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinycampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Overall I found this place very comfortable but given the high prices I would have expected a TV or private bathroom as I had at Meninger in Munich for one third the price.

The place is very cool and trendy, as is the general area. The staff aren't all that helpful. We asked for some recommendations for good places to eat and were told that everything in the area was good we just had to walk around - not all that helpful!

One positive is the position off the street - it is VERY quiet and you will get a good night's sleep. The location is one of the perfect places to stay in Berlin with some fantastic places to eat, party and some amazing things to see nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
East Side Hotel
East Side Hotel
#498 of 635 in Berlin
126 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berlin City
Friedrichshain
Industriepalast
Industriepalast
#34 of 356 in Berlin
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Apartmenthouse Berlin
Apartmenthouse Berlin
#78 of 356 in Berlin
96 reviews
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#4 of 356 in Berlin
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Fabrik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Fabrik

Address: Schlesische Str. 18, 10997 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 356 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £11 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our House - an old factory building from the turn of the century - was restored and developed in 1995. The typical Berlin-Kreuzberg charme of a brick building has been retained with light, spacious rooms and a courtyard garden. On each floor you can find large bathrooms.To maintain a private atmosphere we do not have TV or telephone in the rooms. International calls can be made at any time in the lobby. Our rooms are bright, spacious and very quiet. For your convenience you can book single and double accomodation or rooms for more than two people.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the FABRIK-CAFÉ. Our hotel is located near the old and new center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Die Fabrik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Fabrik Hostel Kreuzberg Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing