We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the Ordinary” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Die Fabrik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Die Fabrik
Ranked #200 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Out of the Ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed with a couple of friends here in Die Fabrik on the eastern side of Berlin. Close to the river and an old east/west crossing point but actually the Fabrik (factory) was in West Berlin. Using the lovely bridge nearby you can visit a big part of the Berlin Wall that remains. The hotel itself is basic with an assortment of rooms built around an inner courtyard. Shower, toilet facilities are along the corridors and communal but we had no trouble with that. It was the atmosphere of the place that was special. And the fact that the locality was a little old-fashioned and had good cheap eating facilities. Also nearby are riverside cafes and even a beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    53
    10
    7
    13
See reviews for
5
23
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

I've stayed at Die Fabrik on multiple occasions and, honestly, have nothing but good thoughts about the place. Located in a cool, renovated factory (hence the name), it's somewhere between a hotel and a hostel and priced accordingly. Visitors always seem a good mix of ages and nationalities. The rooms are basic, bathrooms are shared, but everything is spotless and works just fine. Attached cafe serves good food and coffee. Super place for travelling with friends (been there with between 2 and 8 of us).

Neighborhood and location are just what I like... range of bars, clubs, food options and prices, good people watching, etc.. It's a short hop to Friedrichshain, Neukölln, or any of the historic/touristy parts of the city. Kreuzberg itself still thankfully retains enough edge to stay comfortably on the independent/non-corporate side of things, though some changes and increased crowds in the past few years are undeniable. That, though, is another matter entirely... Die Fabrik has always been, and remains, a great base for anytime you're in Berlin.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adaiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Cheap, clean, no frills, easy, good food (did I mention cheap?) and dead smack in Berlin's coolest neighborhood. It's everything you'll need. Because if you plan on spending more than just the time to get some well needed rest in your hotel room, you're in the wrong city! I'll definitely be back at Die Fabrik.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

A great location to be based to tour Berlin. Close to the U-Bahn and S-Bahn you can move quickly around town and take in the sights. The local cafes and restaurants were more than adequate.

The rooms themselves are nothing to write home about - a bed to sleep in and that is about it. But you didn't come to berlin to hang in your room.

Breakfast downstairs was very good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Dia Fabrik was a factory and has been really well renovated into a warm and welcoming hostel in Kreuzberg, Berlin. One of the nicest and most interesting areas to stay. The place has it's own renweable energy supply which allows the building to stay surprisingly warm in winter (considering the freezing temperatures outside).
I asked for a quiet room and was given a 4th floor (no lift, mind) room which couldn't have been cosier and quieter than that. Shared bathrooms really clean. So were the rooms. The staff very freindly and the cafe serves great breakfasts.
I got very into my Hefeweiser, which was best at the bar on the corner between Schleische str and Curvy Str. I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Top floor are quietest but no lift. Ask for ones away from the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fedeb1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed for a week, very basic, reminded me of my dorm room in Germany decades ago. Read Hr Lehmann while exploring Berlin. If you know what you're booking, then this place is probably perfect for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank btj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Great location within easy reach of everything you need, but this place does need re painting, if this was done then the rooms would be much better and the stairwell would be pleasant. The bathrooms were clean and tidy, and the free wireless was great.. For the money we paid I would have expected a bit more.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinycampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Michelberger Hotel
Michelberger Hotel
#113 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Kreuzberg
No photo provided
Kreuzberg
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berlin City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Industriepalast
Industriepalast
#29 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Kreuzberg
Apartmenthouse Berlin
Apartmenthouse Berlin
#74 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Fabrik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Fabrik

Property: Die Fabrik
Address: Schlesische Str. 18, 10997 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our House - an old factory building from the turn of the century - was restored and developed in 1995. The typical Berlin-Kreuzberg charme of a brick building has been retained with light, spacious rooms and a courtyard garden. On each floor you can find large bathrooms.To maintain a private atmosphere we do not have TV or telephone in the rooms. International calls can be made at any time in the lobby. Our rooms are bright, spacious and very quiet. For your convenience you can book single and double accomodation or rooms for more than two people.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the FABRIK-CAFÉ. Our hotel is located near the old and new center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Die Fabrik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Fabrik Hostel Kreuzberg Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing