We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel I've been to” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Circus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Circus Hostel
Ranked #4 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
1 review
“Best hostel I've been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Had so much fun as a solo travler. Met lots of other travler. The location os fantastic close to everything and yhe stuff are incredibly niceand helpfull. The rooms are clean and eventhough it was a room with 8 ppl it was not crowded at all. I will be back!!

Helpful?
Thank nitznatz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    272
    45
    12
    4
See reviews for
52
237
346
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My brother and I stayed at The Circus Hostel after a recommendation from our older brother. The beds and bathrooms were very well kept and clean. The location was a great fit because of the proximity to bars, restaurants and mass transit. Any questions that we had were answered by the lovely people at the front desk. We were even able to enjoy a few drinks and watch a World Cup match at the wonderful little bar in the hostel. It is certainly a great place for the price you pay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RahBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hostel is located right by the train station, so you have direct access from the airport. There is the tram line running outside the front door that whizzes you into town every 8 minutes or so. The private room I had was clean, the windows worked and the bathrooms were spotless. The security card you had to swipe to get into your wing is superb thinking. Too bad about the doors, whenever guests returned late, the bang from the doors were really loud and echoed throughout the building. Also, one morning, recycling effors was going on at full din, you could hear bottles being sorted and recycled for at least 30 mins. Still, nothing can take away the shine from this gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hummingbird012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a truly great experience! The front door is nearly impossible to miss. The decor throughout is really fun actually! The staff was all polite and very friendly (locked ourselves out...twice...) Very much like a dorm, with many rooms in the hallway and separated male/female bathrooms with showers. Our private room was much bigger than I expected and very nice and clean. It was loud at night but guess what it's Berlin so we weren't surprised by that! Breakfast was absolutely divine! Bad wifi made us sad but that was the only negative thing about this place. There's an above-ground metro style train right outside in the street and this was a huge help getting around!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had 3 nights in a private double room which was absolutely massive and had a great en suite.

The staff were friendly and informative, the bar downstairs was lively and had great live music (Thursdays)

The cafe next door does a really good breakfast for a couple of Euros.

Overall a great package that's really easy to get to and is conveniently placed in the city.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights and had a grand old time! The location is perfect as the tram spot and metro station is literally right outside.

The bar downstairs was pretty quiet when I stayed so it was a bit tricky to make friends. Luckily, the people in my 10 bed dorm were awesome so it didn't matter so much!

The beds are good and they all have a little locker next to them with a power socket inside which is nice. WI-FI works very well but you have to keep re-connecting which is a minor annoyance. Showers are good and there is a lot of them. Staff are also well friendly!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Circus Hostel is a fantastic hostel, the rooms are almost a hotel standard and they are vibrant and comfy! The shared bathroom isn't an issue and we never had to wait for the showers or toilets! You need a keycard to access each corridor which caused us a couple of problems since we had 2 rooms on separate floors but other than that we had no problem with this hostel! All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the bar in the basement is excellent to meet new people and chat with friends!

Room Tip: If having to book multiple rooms, try get them on the same floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeadSet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#8 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#6 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#3 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#6 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#11 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hostel

Property: The Circus Hostel
Address: Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing