We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel in the world!”
Review of The Circus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Circus Hostel
Ranked #3 of 356 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Circus Berlin is definately the coolest hostel I've even been to.
The rooms are good, with small lockers to store your valuables, personal lights (which can be VERY good when someone leaves early in the morning or arrives late at night), little balconies in the rooms (good for those of you who smoke), GREAT showers (separate showers with doors - you can leave all your things organized) and the staff is awesome!
My brother's backpack and mine were lost by the airline and the hostel staff contacted them for us a couple of times to make sure it would arrive in time. Very nice!
I reccomend the free tour they offer (they rent ipods for you, with an id deposit). It's a brilliant idea!
The bar is good for a chill out before going out, but thats pretty much it. The location is marvelous, its right across the street from the metro and there's a nice restaurant/club next to it, called White Trash Fast Food. (tip for the rockers). And for the hungry, there's a chinese fast food restaurant open 24/7 right across the street as well. Also laundry very close. Really, it's a great hostel with a great location.
And they pamper you with several little things (such as ipods with free tours and music, cheap bike rentals, transport ticket rental, cheap beer, great breakfast (WAFFLES!!!!) for a fair price and many many other things. Stay there!

Next time I'm in Berlin, I'll stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lais_hj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

We had an apartment on the top floor. It was not luxurious, but spacious, modern and clean. It was great to have a balcony, kitchen and sitting area. There's no AC...and no hair dryer, but it was no big deal for us. Breakfast is not included, but offered for a good price and very hearty. The staff could not have been more helpful in recommending tours and activities. We plan on returning to Berlin and we'll stay here again. The location is perfect...the metro is right across the street. There are restaurants all around. We had amazing Indian food and Vietnamese food while we were there. Berlin is a fabulous city and The Circus is an ideal place to stay.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VDonahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Great location, the hostel is close to many restaurants and bars and other sights. The rooms very extremely clean and we met some nice people there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gusse_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

That's the place to stay in Berlin. I can only say positive things about Circus Hostel.
Location is perfect, just a few steps from the U-bahn station and at walking distance to tons of pubs & restaurants and to the most famous biergarten in Berlin. You can easily walk to Alexanderplatz (10-15 minutes) or to Pfeffereberg/Seneflederplatz (10 minutes). Rosentalerplatz is also a good starting point for walking tours, i. e. around the Scheunenviertel (20-25 minutes from the hostel). I also recommend the very famous kebab in Rosentalerplatz, just fronting the Circus Hotel (another excellent accomodation if you're willing to splend a few more euros).
My and my friend stayed in a twin room that was just lovely: stylish and essential furniture, wooden floor, large comfy beds, very nice sized. And, what's more important, everything was clean as you would expect from a four star hotel.
You can surf the net for free from your room if you have a wi-fi device (laptop or smartphone); otherwise they will charge you a few euros for using a pc in the lobby downstairs.
Last but not least, service is something you will appreciate at Circus. Staff is nice and friendly; maps and other touristic info are available at the reception; events and weather info are also displayed anche changed daily.

Let me say that this place is not only recommended for teenagers of twenty-somethings. I've seen families and middle aged tourists stay here.

Circus will definitely be part of your Berlin experience!

PS: in case you're asking, I'm not someone from the staff but a simple traveler (and also a travel journalist). Check my other reviews if you're planning trips to other cities!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

This is an excellent hostel - the staff, the location, facilities and the decor were all very good. I stayed in a 4 person dorm room with shared bathroom facilities - which were extremely clean. The bar in the basement was a good place to meet people. The hostel also seemed very secure with keycards required to access the lifts and doors to each floor.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarleyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

ok so we arrived in berlin and stayed in the generator hostel for 2 nights because there were no other nights available so we had to look elsewere and we came across the circus hostel, all i can say is THANK GOD the generator had no room for us! the circus hostel is newly renovated and gorgeous! they have a really funky decor and the whole reception area is like a circus tent...prettiest hostel we stayed in,the bar downstairs was great too the decor again really funky .the staff were excellent extremely pleasent!..the rooms were spotless we stayed in a 3 bed private room the first night and it was gorgeous ..windows opened so wide to which was really helpfull as july in berlin is extremely hot! the staff offered advice on were to go told us how to get there they really made our stay..breakfast in the morning is all you can eat and it was the best food we had in all of europe!! 5 euro all you can eat and it consists of fresh fruit, yougurt ,rolls , cereal everything you could ask for and as much as you like for 5 euro! i would highly reccomend it here as it is ideally located as berlin is so big its in a perfect spot..i would definately come back here again and all for only 19 euro a night! best hostel we stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danikagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The Circus Hostel has recently been renovated and all the rooms are decorated in funky decor. It made for a hip environment accompanied with hip people. The people who work the front desk were amazingly helpful, provided maps, directions, wonderful suggestions about what was locally going on, etc. The hostel also offered a discounted rate on all-day metro passes. Those certainly came in handy. Our room was immaculately clean, modern, and comfortable though a bit small. It was also noisy because our room faced the busy street and we had to have the windows open (no AC). However so, this was a great place to stay. I would definitely stay here again, my next trip to Berlin. The location was also fantastic. It is right across the street from a metro stop, and there are tons of shops and restaurants nearby. The night life was vibrant and the people, great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 87kmblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#9 of 635 in Berlin
2,608 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
497 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Circus Apartments
The Circus Apartments
#17 of 356 in Berlin
295 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 356 in Berlin
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hostel

Address: Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 356 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £20 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing