We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel we've ever been to!”
Review of The Circus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Circus Hostel
Ranked #4 of 355 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We stayed at the Circus Hostel for two nights.

We stayed in room 317 which was a private double room. The bed was nice and big, and the room was very large. Wifi was available in the room and throughout the building.

The shower room was directly opposite our room and the toilets were just down the hallway. The room was clean, and the bathrooms remained clean throughout our stay.

The hostel is well located on both the metro and bus lines, and there are lots of cafes and restaurants nearby as well as a laundrymat.

The hostel sells cheap breakfast ranging from €2-5 which is really good and they have a bar.

This hostel is fantastic!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi_Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
There are newer reviews for The Circus Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,263 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
53
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Circus hostel (don't be confused with the circus HOTEL across the street) was immaculate. Funky reception area with postcards and magnets to buy. The rooms were spacious and the beds were so comfortable and large. Everything looked brand new and instead of the usual nasty hostel smells, it smelled like sanitation and oak...what a nice change! The bathrooms were awesome with individual shower stalls and they were very clean. The cafe downstairs was great and trendy, with good breakfast deals. The hostel had a pretty good location with an excellent walking tour. By far the best hostel I've stayed at. I left asking, was that really a hostel?

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Being a bit of Princess - or Duchess in my case I don't consider myself a "Hostel type person". If they were all like this hotels would go out of business!
It is AMAZING! The staff are fantastic. They are SO helpful and nothing is any trouble.
I arrived distressed as my purse had been stolen and they did everything they could to calm me down, get me to my room and then help me go thru the steps of reporting it, getting money to Berlin etc. I stayed there twice in the end! There are a selection of rooms available, I had a single with private facilities. There are dorms, rooms without facilities and apartments.
The cafe supplies an all you can eat breakfast for 5 Euro's. Enough for the day.

Please give this place a go regardless of your age or if you're a 4 star type! You won't be dissaponted. The Circus has been recently renovated so most of the the photo;s displayed are well out of date

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boomer020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

The Circus Hostel is incredibly well located (and indeed very well organised). It is particularly easy to get to from Schonefeld airport (though I imagine it is equally convenient for Tegel)

Check-in is efficient and they let you store bags till the room is ready. The staff are very helpful and very nice, and always willing to suggest things to see. There is a small bar downstairs and a cafe for breakfast, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aditya_Sarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

like the hotel, but a little cheaper. very nice rooms, nice design. incredible staff and awesome people. best place to stay in berlin!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankenreiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I have been to Berlin many many times and each time find myself back here. "Try somewhere else," I think to myself, "you know what Circus is like, see what the other cool hostels in this great city are like." But I can never tear myself away from this place and its thoroughly excellent staff. Beds are good, showers good, bar downstairs great, breakfast at the cafe is pretty amazing, location is excellent, and staff are very helpful and excellent. There is a cheap kebab place pretty much across the road, and a U-bahn station is right nearby. In short - ich liebe Berlin, und ich liebe die CIRCUS!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beherenow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Circus hostel was easily the nicest hostel I have ever stayed,
the place is brand new, great bar down stairs with street fighter on the big screen!!, beds were comfy enough, liked the locked boxes next to the bed with a power point inside, great breakfast also, I couldn't recommend circus enough!, would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roryandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#9 of 635 in Berlin
2,586 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
475 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Circus Apartments
The Circus Apartments
#17 of 355 in Berlin
295 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 355 in Berlin
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hostel

Address: Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 355 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £23 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing