We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location, and oh-so-comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flower's Boardinghouse Mitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flower's Boardinghouse Mitte
Ranked #17 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location, and oh-so-comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived to Flowers about 9:30am after an overseas flight and were thrilled that we were able to get into our room! I found the women working at Flowers very nice and helpful. The room was two levels, with a half bath, kitchen, and living room downstairs, and the bedroom and a full bath upstairs. The bathroom was well appointed with a towel rack and hair dryer. The bedroom was set up for twin beds, as we'd requested - very nice. The kitchen, little deck, and kitchen table were a great place to enjoy breakfast and look out at Berlin. The neighborhood was really vibrant but not noisy, and it was in close proximity to a number of U/S Bahn stops. Oh, and I loved the elevator to the apartment :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank liznem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    38
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
62
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The ony reason we have given 'Flowers' a decent rating is because of the fantastic location in the fashionable heart of the Mitte district in old East Berlin. Apartment is spacious, secure and smartly presented with neutral decor. However, several aspects of our stay were disappointing. It's the first time we have ever stayed in an apartment without finding a welcome complementary coffee and tea etc and as the nearest supermarkets are some walk away (and there are no instructions on how to find these), you are left to drink just hot water until you find the shops! A 'breakfast' is provided in the lobby of the reception, if you feel like a cold croissant and mass produced coffee. Also, there is no change of towels, linen etc without additional payment and as the number of large towels provided is two, after four days they became a little disgusting given there is no washing machine in which to wash them. Worst of all though, was that one of us badly cut our foot on a faulty protruding metal surround in the middle of the floor in the kitchen (the last thing you want when sightseeing on foot!) and when we went to reception seeking first aid, the lack of English was a problem, and there was no indication that the problem would be fixed (although it did look as though there had been an attempt to fix it before). On one of our nights there, the bulb in the bathroom blew, which then caused the fan to malfunction. Concerned, we rang the emergency '24 hour' number (the reception is only staffed from 9am-6pm), and after ringing twice (at our own cost) was told that if the problem continued, an electrician would be rung in the morning, but that there would be no assistance at present. However, no one checked the next morning and the bulb was never replaced! Likewise, no one ever bothered to ask how the foot was! All in all, we were left wanting more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenntay188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Wow! Close to the metro. Spacious & clean. This area of Berlin is just alive & vibrant. We were close to everything & yet stayed in a quiet oasis with great views & wonderful amenities. It would be difficult to beat this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hiking-nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We especially loved the location of Flowers boarding House - surrounded by lovely cafes and restaurants and quirky shops - it had a really nice cosmopolitan feel to it. Everything is in walking distance and also close to tube station and transport links. Apartment itself was very nice - clean and well kept - with great views across to the TV tower. My only gripe would be that the beds were very hard, and the bedding was very thin - quality mattresses and bedding would make all the difference to an otherwise great find!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Porgie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The accommodation at Flower's Boardinghouse is excellent - very spacious and spotlessly clean. The complimentary coffee and warm croissants in the morning were a nice touch and the hotel reception staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Please note this is not a hotel so you don't get 24 hour reception or maid service but this was not a problem for us. The location in East Berlin was excellent, surrounded by lovely shops and restaurants and an easy walk to Alexanderplatz for the 'hop on hop off bus tour'. I would highly recommend these apartments and will stay here again the next time I'm in Berlin.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Flower's Boardinghouse Mitte has great apartments in a great location. My husband and I stayed here a little more than a week in May with our teenaged daughter, and we all loved the space (she slept in the "living room" while we took the bedroom) and the neighborhood, which was full of interesting shops and restaurants and just a few minutes' walk from transportation and sights. It was nice to have a full kitchen with appliances and accessories. The people at the desk were very nice and accommodating. But...

If you're staying at Flowers, you're not staying at a "hotel" per se. The front desk was only open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., which was only a a little bit of a problem when we were trying to arrange for late delivery of delayed luggage. The "breakfast" they provide is pretty bare-bones--croissants, coffee, tea. And they don't provide daily maid service--you have to pick up your own towels and wash your own dishes. We didn't particularly mind any of these limitations, as we were able to work around them, and even enjoyed shopping at one of the local groceries for some food to supplement the breakfast. But based on some of the comments on this site you need to decide before booking here if you need a full-service hotel or if you'd rather have the experience of living in this very cool neighborhood.

Back to the neighborhood: yes, it can be a little noisy in the evenings on the street side, as there are tons of people going to the great restaurants and shops, and there's even a little park across the street. But the windows on the street side were amazingly noise-proof. Again, think about your needs: if you want absolute silence and don't want to live in a happening neighborhood, look elsewhere.

We really enjoyed our experience at Flower's Boardinghouse Mitte. We ate at several of the neighborhood restaurants and shopped around in Mitte. We enjoyed the short walk through the neighborhood to the U-Bahn station or one of the local attractions. And we appreciated the experience of living like Berliners for a few days--watching the neighbors heading in to work or school in the morning and letting off a little steam in the evening, grabbing a few groceries at the grocery or the local convenience store.

Room Tip: Apartments that mostly front Mulackstrasse are quieter, and rooms that overlook the courtyard are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

My wife and daughter lived at Flower's Boardinghouse during our week-long visit (May 24 - June 1) with our son who is studying in Berlin. As mentioned in the other reviews, the location is great. You can easily walk to Hackescher Markt, Alexanderplatz and Museum Island. The U-bahn is across the street and the S-bahn is a short walk away. Service was attentive but not pushy. They arranged for us to stay an additional night on our way from Prague back to the States. The apartment was well appointed. Having multiple rooms was great. The beds and the pillows may be little on the firm side, but that seems to be a central-European thing. For the money, I have a hard time imagining that we could have found anything better in Berlin.

Room Tip: The corner apartments have a great view, but they also have more exposure to the busy streets. Duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#7 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#2 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Mitte
Hotel AMANO
Hotel AMANO
#79 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower's Boardinghouse Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower's Boardinghouse Mitte

Property: Flower's Boardinghouse Mitte
Address: Mulackstr. 1-2 | Mitte, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flower's Boardinghouse Mitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Flower's Boardinghouse Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower`s Boardinghouse Mitte Hotel Berlin
Boarding Hotel Berlin Mitte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing