We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as ever - continued...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Am Wilden Eber
Ranked #452 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Yes, back again this year, to find everything much the same as before, though perhaps a little busier. Friendly, comfortable, good value, free parking and WiFi, and an amazing gym and pool squeezed into the lower ground floor (which we never have time to use, sadly). The breakfast is still good - and good value. Maybe time soon for some refurbishment here and there, particularly the bathrooms, but everything works, and you will be well looked after.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Am Wilden Eber
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

After a business meeting in Berlin my wife and I stayed a few extra days to visit friends and the city and stayed at the "Hotel am Wilden Eber" (the wild boar). It is a nice quiet hotel with comfortable rooms, free Internet and a good breakfast for a reasonable price.
The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Located in one of the more upper class districts of West Berlin, in Dahlem, it is surrounded by older classy homes and Embassies. With good Bus transportation it is only a hop to both, the West and East Berlin city centers. With the S-Bahn (local train) it is easy to get to the outer districts of Potsdam and Spreewald. Wie enjoyed our stay at the "Wild Boar" and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a comfortable hotel for a Berlin visit.

Room Tip: I believe they are all similar, dpending on single or double rooms....all facing a realtively quiet...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loboli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This place got me into a mixed bag of reactions.
They have a very friendly staff ( 5 star worth) and they serve a good breakfast.
There is a stunning pool underground and a gym too, Which I found amazing, given that the rooms are a bit too simple and almost bare, and not very big.
The toilets are all a bit cramped, with some odd choices, like very large showers but tiny sinks, which i found to be a bit too uncomfortable.
The room was a bit cold, and despite it being full spring, it would have benefited some heating, especially at night, and especially with the German-styled duvets that are likely to leave some parts of the body uncovered during the night. Either way, during one cold night I woke up several times for the cold.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quisazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Two years since our last trip (see below) and we were very happy to be back again. Not much has changed, and this is still an excellent option for a small friendly hotel in a pleasant location. Everything is as it should be, and the staff could not be more friendly. Breakfasts are really excellent for a small hotel.

Don't hesitate if business or pleasure takes you to this part of Berlin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Nice location in green suburban area surrounded of large upper class villas, near Grünewald, Brücke Museum, Botanical Garden etc. Large rooms, old fashioned interior but well equipped, good sleep comfort.

The place is a little motel-like, not very attractive design. Pool area and fitness room nice to have but not particularly attractive. Breakfast basic. Shower in bathroom needs replacement, also light is missing above desk in the room and above kitchen facilities. Service friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Just finished our 4th visit here, and we still love it. We have friends who live locally and who recommended it originally. The location is quiet and pleasant, but has excellent public transport nearby (if you can master the system), and makes a surprisingly good base from which to explore Berlin.

The staff are friendly and welcoming, and the whole place is run like a family business. Breakfasts are excellent and included in the room price, as is parking and WiFi access. The rooms are comfortable, and some have kitchens. The furnishings are perhaps a little "German 1970s" but perfectly adequate, and the same goes for the bathrooms.

If the location appeals, this makes an excellent choice - and good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I almost skipped this hotel from my list when I planned our trip to Berlin. Fortunately I telephoned the management. Frau Nissen answered my questions competent and very friendly. There are blinds on every window in the room to keep any light out. Yes, the window in the Bathroom is a bit too high up for small ladies. We had choosen the most conveniant hotel close to the Dahlem Park Klinik , where I was treated, and we even got the 10 percent discount on the price of the room for clients of the clinic . Rent a bicycle from the hotel to enjoy the nearby Grunewald.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reg4us2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Zehlendorf
Apartment Hotel Dahlem
Apartment Hotel Dahlem
#498 of 635 in Berlin
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anna 1908
#149 of 635 in Berlin
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Wilden Eber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Wilden Eber

Address: Warnemuender Str. 19 | Wilmersdorf, 14199 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #452 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Wilden Eber 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Am Wilden Eber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing