We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, acceptable accomodation if on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Berlin Markischer Hof am Tacheles
Ranked #548 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Toongabbie, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great location, acceptable accomodation if on a budget”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We chose this hotel based on its location. About ten minute’s walk from Friedrich Street Station, a thirty minute walk from Hopbanhof (Berlin’s main station), fifteen minutes’ walk from museum island, 30 minutes walk to Brandenburg Tor, and the U6 stop for Orainienburger Tor on the doorstep. This was perfect for backpackers arriving by ICE and planning to use public transport and walking to get around Berlin, which is a bit of a spread-out city lacking a city centre.

There is a Turkish kebab shop downstairs (get the doner box, yum) and multiple other food options around, including subway and a supermarket on Tor Street. However, the closest Laundromat is about 20 minutes’ walk away, so we didn’t bother.

The hotel itself is very basic, everything just ok. Beds were ok, linen ok. Not great. We had a cheaper room with a separate toilet outside the room that we had to keep locked, which was a major pain. Would be worth spending a little more to avoid this inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivandZac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    32
    34
    12
    18
See reviews for
14
33
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I had a single room for a week, and was very satisfied from the experience.
Pros:
- the owners are very kind and welcoming.
- it's located in a central place (many universities, landmarks, places to eat etc. are in a walking distance).
- the price is cheap.
- the rooms are cleaned and supplied with soaps, shampoos, and toilet paper every other day.
- there's a bus and a subway station just in front of the hotel.
Cons - I can't think of something substantial, but here are two things that bothered me a little:
- wifi connection wasn't stable.
- the smell of asian food (probably because I'm not used to it).
- the owners are not the best English speakers (and from the impression that I had, not they are not very good German speakers either). Subsequently, talking with them wasn't very easy, but it didn't cause any misunderstandings.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank MSharif4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in the 3 person room with ensuite. Excellent location, excellent price and very nice owners. Hotel is a short walk from Friedrich Strasse Station which has many U Bahn and S Bahn lines. Oranienburger and Friedrich Strasse have plenty of restaurants and bars if you want something close to the hotel. We didn't try the hotel breakfast. The furniture was modern enough and the room had a TV which we were weren't expecting. The room wasn't as clean as it could have been, though the sheets and towels were fine. The room faced the street which was fairly noisy but with the windows shut it was fine. Hotel owners were very nice people. Only real complaint was the cleaners took empty plastic bottles from the room which we were keeping to get the deposit back. Overall we were impressed by the excellent price and location and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleura848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel over the years - from 8 years we go almost each time we were in Berlin here. Everything was superb.
But this year , we found out that the hotel was sold to some chinese ppl and was not great at all. All the great atmosphere, the cleaning, the furniture, bed sheets, breakfast were completly changed.
First of all we receive room 13, very bad smelling of Food , not clean at all and in the bathroom a total mess.
Breakfast so simple , but for 7 euro Per person what to expect....

If you look just for a place to sleep and don't have high expectation (for a 3 stars hotel) you will find this hotel a good one regarding the price (60 euro- the room with 3 beds), free parking, free good wi-fi conection, location and smiling friendly chinese :):)
I feel so pitty for this wonderful hotel becames surely a ruin, being ruled by the new administration.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Libella14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Booked on strength of reviews on TA. Room & beds very small but clean. Remainder of hotel looked shabby & not very appealing on arrival as front area of hotel is now a takeaway. Free WI Fi which worked well was a bonus. Real plus for this hotel is location. Close to tram as well as underground & main line stations. Based on the room we had would not have wanted to have stayed more than a couple of nights. Would return again but only for short break & would be hoping for a better room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Well located for a short city break (we had four nights) with underground and trams on the doorstep, bars and restaurants nearby. Rooms are functional with comfortable beds and a good shower. We were offered a choice of two rooms, and our double had a table with a couple of chairs. The room and en suite were clean. There was a good cold breakfast buffet with hard boiled eggs, cold meats, smoked salmon etc. Staff were very friendly and we had no problem paying with a credit card even though a sign said the credit card machine was out of order! There was free wi-fi which worked in our 3rd floor room which was a bonus. Only small gripe was that there was no lift and taking stairs to the 3rd floor after a hard day's sightseeing was a bit of an effort. A great budget optrion however and I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Lower floors if you don't want to walk up too many stairs, rear rooms possibly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redwing58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novalis Hotel
Novalis Hotel
#349 of 635 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Mitte
Arte Luise Kunsthotel
Arte Luise Kunsthotel
#198 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Mitte
Hotel M68
Hotel M68
#547 of 635 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#168 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
#316 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berlin Markischer Hof am Tacheles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berlin Markischer Hof am Tacheles

Property: Hotel Berlin Markischer Hof am Tacheles
Address: Linienstr. 133 | Mitte, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #548 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Berlin Markischer Hof am Tacheles 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ein Traditionales preiswertes familiär geführtes Hotel in Alt-Berliner-Style mitten in Berlin. Lage genau an der Kreuzung zwischen Friedrichstraße und Oranienburger Straße, wo Alt-Berlin zum Leben erwacht. Sehr freundliche Atmosphäre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Berlin Markischer Hof am Tacheles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markischer Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing