We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, decent value”
Review of Hotel Transit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Transit
Ranked #285 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“No frills, decent value”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We got the last double in the hotel, which fills up on spring weekends and empties out on Sunday afternoon. It is clean, located close to a metro in Kreuzberg (a short subway ride from many Berlin tourist spots), and comes with an excellent breakfast. The desk staff was helpful and pleasant. The hotel is funky in an industrial way, and the room had very ceilings but was extremely narrow, to the point that we had to be a bit creative with where we placed our luggage. The walls are also thin, so I could hear my neighbor snoring.

Aside from the breakfast and bar area, the hotel is extremely no frills. There is some soap, some scratchy towels, and bedding provided, but not much else. That said, it's still a good value if you are basically just looking for a clean, convenient, and comfortable place to sleep and have breakfast. Also, I noted below that it does look like there are other rooms that are larger (ours was the last one available), but I don't know how that affects the price point.

Room Tip: A lot of travelers left on Sunday, so we looked inside some of the other rooms being cleaned before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewelnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    79
    34
    7
    0
See reviews for
28
38
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Booked a double room for myself and my girlfriend. The price came out to about $186 Euros for three nights so very reasonable. The room and bathroom were clean and beds comfy. The common area is really nice and a cool place to hang out. The breakfast was also really great. My only criticism was that our room was really hot and there wasn't any kind of fan in the room. Luckily it wasn't that hot outside, but in the summer I can imagine it getting bad. Also, the WIFI wasn't available in the rooms, only the common area. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gannon322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This hotel is excellent! The staff are incredibly helpful. Excellent value for money and great breakfast. Great location. Everything about this place was great! Nice chill out area. Funky design. If you're looking for a good pub, head to Distille across the road - probably not suitable for people who do not like smoking! You will not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonOzzie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed for 3 nights on a school trip to Berlin and the hotel was very comfortable and convienient.
The staff were extremely helpful and spoke good english as well as helpinfg me improve my german.
Breakfast was very good also.
Traffic was quite loud but inly in the room I was staying in so didn't majorly affect the stay.
THe room tended to be quite hot-even in december!
Went december 2010- I can only put January 2010

Room Tip: Choose a large room as some rooms were quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iziee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braga, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Go By Bike went to Berlim, Germany to find out what the best things about bike business are among the german companies.
We stayed at Transit hotel and we just loved it. The service , the food, the room, everything was spot on.
Totally recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoByBikeLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I first stayed at the Hotel Transit in 1992, months after they first opened the doors... and each experience has been overwhelmingly positive! I always have a lovely time here, the staff is agreeable and friendly and willing to provide information about Berlin, and the breakfast is fantastic, available until 12pm! The location in Kruezberg can't be beat and each room has high ceilings and minimal decor. I would totally recommend this place to anyone wanting a central location for not too much money. Give it a try!

Room Tip: Since the walls are about 3 feet thick, every room is quiet. Big windows provide lots of light. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kansasforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had a fantastic stay in the Transit Hotel in berlin recently.
The rooms are small, but neat and clean and cosy.
We had a fantastic balcony.
It is central and situated in a lovely area... close to the U-bahn.
The communal area is also really cosy and the staff friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonymousAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
#358 of 634 in Berlin
50 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
#213 of 634 in Berlin
136 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#531 of 634 in Berlin
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Acama Kreuzberg Hotel+Hostel
Kreuzberg
Hotel Johann
Hotel Johann
#28 of 634 in Berlin
410 reviews
Kreuzberg
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Transit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Transit

Property: Hotel Transit
Address: Hagelberger Str. 53-54 | Kreuzberg, 10965 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Transit 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Transit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transit Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing