We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for the money in Berlin!”
Review of Hotel Transit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Transit
Ranked #290 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best value for the money in Berlin!”
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed here as a group of 4, in a 4-bed room, at 128€ per night.

The hotel is a converted cigar-factory, so is quiet spacious, and a little industrial. It's quite trendy in the way it's decorated, and they have hung on to the orginal character of the building.

Breakfast is ok, typical continental breakfast. We didn't have any other meals there as we wanted to enjoy the city!

It's not the most central hotel, but it doesn't matter as the underground is so cheap, fast and efficient. The hotel is located in the 'gay quarter' - we were thrilled as the bars and social life around the hotel was much cooler!

The hotel is on a quiet side street, and we didn't hear any noise at all - from other rooms or from the roads (we were on 4th floor).

The beds are comfortable enough, and even at this price they do change all of your towels etc every day, and tidy up the room.

The safe needed a euro every time you wanted to lock it, which surprised us as we thought it would return the coin.

All in all, when we go away, we expect a clean, comfy room, and to feel safe - exactly what we got. Our view is that you rent the room, you don't buy it, so why pay a fortune for soft carpet?

I whole-heartedly recommend this hotel to friends and students, maybe not business travellers and definitely not couples.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleMissExplorer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    80
    36
    7
    0
See reviews for
31
39
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

9 of us stopped here in October 2008. I had booked 3 triple rooms via the hotel website. On arrival we were placed in 3 rooms with 6 beds in each!
The cost per person for 3 nights was 96 Euros which included breakfast.
Breakfast is served from 7am until noon in the bar/reception area on the 4th floor. It consisited of a wide selection of cereals, fruit, cheeses, cooked meats and bread. Coffee and Tea were available. Orange Juice was 1.5 Euros at the bar.
The rooms were very large. There was no TVs in the rooms. The bathrooms were basic but clean, The showers were especially powerful. My room over looked the courtyard.
The hotel had a bar at reception which stayed open until about 3am. Smoking is allowed in the bar which pleased and displeased some of our group.
The Transit is situated just off a main street. It's handy for the nightlife in Bergmanstrasse, and if you want to travel further afield then the U-Bahn station (Mehringdham) is about a 6-8 minute walk.

Overall I thought the hotel was value for money. The rooms were clean, the staff were courteous and helpful, and the location was good.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeep_potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

I have taken university art students to Berlin on numerous occasions and we always stay in either the Hotel Transit or the Transit Loft. I have never had a unpleasant experience. The staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms are basic, contemporary and clean, I haven't been in a hostel that compares with value for money and quality. The bar is open 24 hours and its in a brilliant location, with plenty of places to eat and drink with some local stores.

I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Liked — the rooms are clean, cosy and contemporary
  • Disliked — checking students in was tricky as you had to either wait ages for the lift or struggle up the stairs
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Simmox3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2006

I love this hotel!

It is a renovated cigar factory - so the ceilings are very high and the windows are huge. All the rooms open onto the central courtyard and are flooded with sunlight. So is the large common room, making breakfast a delight. The rooms are done all in white and grey - comfortable, spotlessly clean, and tastefully spare.

I took the bargain rate, as I have no qualms about a bath down the hall. The bathroms are large, there is never a wait, and the Transit has the best showers in all Europe - a torrent of hot water.

The checkin desk doubles as a bar - open all day and half the night, always tended by friendly people.

Best part: you are in an interesting, vibrant, nieghborhood, not on the tourist route. A short walk to the nearest U-Bahn puts you anywhere in the city within a few minutes.

John Black
Washington, DC

Stayed December 2004
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
#198 of 634 in Berlin
146 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
#352 of 634 in Berlin
51 reviews
Kreuzberg
Acama Kreuzberg Hotel+Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
City Hotel Gotland
City Hotel Gotland
#514 of 634 in Berlin
53 reviews
Kreuzberg
No photo provided
Kreuzberg
Hotel Johann
Hotel Johann
#39 of 634 in Berlin
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Transit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Transit

Property: Hotel Transit
Address: Hagelberger Str. 53-54 | Kreuzberg, 10965 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Transit 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Transit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transit Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing