We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price/value, average hotel”
Review of Hotel Kastanienhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kastanienhof
Ranked #140 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fair price/value, average hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this Hotel in July, 2013 when the weather was hot in Berlin. Ther are big constructions going on next door to the hotel where the noisy work started early in the morning. As there is no air conditioning so we would have preferred to keep the windows open but in ths case we had the terrible noise (there is also a tram going on the street besides the constructions..). The room facilites are average, the beds are not too comfortable but their size is fine. There is only cable internet in the room so you can use only 1 computer at once (no iphone, ipad etc). The staff is polite and helpful, cleaning is also fine.

I stayed in September 2012 and visitors should know there is construction going on next door and across the street - big projects that are super noisy and they start early in the morning. They are likely to continue for many months - I would ask if they are done before booking. 2. Rooms have cable Internet - useless if you have an iPad. No aircon - that means keeping the window open and listening to the drunks and the trams in the street all night when it is warm or you want fresh air... 4. The bedding was less than adequate for a European hotel 5

Room Tip: Ask if the constructions on the steer still going on before booking the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    93
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
102
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I just spent three nights here, finding it in a very pleasant location, with a short walk to the U-Bahn, tram stops almost outside the door, and plenty of cafes and places to eat in the neighbourhood. I was easily upgraded to a quiet room at the back and it was extremely clean and very comfortable, and well-equipped. Staff seemed very efficient and helpful. The only thing I would change would be to provide a sheet for a hot night as the duvets were too warm!

Room Tip: Probably best to ask for a room at the back if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed one week at this East Berlin location and loved it. Clean,quiet rooms, plenty of outlets for recharging our cameras,etc. Staff was very helpful with directions,suggestions. Breakfast (extra charge) was wonderful. Fans in room made for comfortable sleeping during our summer stay. It was an ideal location for us since it was a short distance from the U bahn and S bahn. Great neighborhood with outdoor seating at many of the restaurants. Tiny store(open late) located 1 minute from hotel-for water,pop,snacks. Defintiely would stay here again!

Room Tip: The M-1 tram does run in front of the hotel-but earplugs allowed us to sleep just fine. Quiet neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suitase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kastanienhof, reception at Hotel Kastanienhof, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear suitase,
We appreciate your nice review regarding your stay in July at Hotel Kastanienhof. We are glad to hear that you found our rooms to be comfortable and clean. It is our goal to ensure that every guest feels home at our Hotel.
Many thanks again for your comments and we would love to welcome you back to our Hotel next time you're in Berlin.
Best regards from the family Hauptmann and all the team of Hotel Kastanienhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Kastanienhof is perfectly located in East Berlin's Prenzlauer Berg district. There are 35 rooms, breakfast/bar area, complimentary WiFi on the 1st floor only but LAN access for laptops in each room. The staff is helpful, suggesting restaurants, directions, etc. The #M1 tram stop Zionkirche is only 20 yds from the front door, connecting you to the S-Bahn & U-Bahn. Plenty of restaurants and shops along Kastanienallee.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank messro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We loved the hotel! The location was great for us, it was exceptionally clean and had a friendly, helpful staff. If I return to Berlin, I will stay there again. We enjoyed the local restaurants and being in the neighborhood. Even though the breakfast was not included, it was worth the additional charge. Free WiFi was available in certain areas, but would have been nice if access was in our room. We highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I've been coming to this hotel in Prenzlauer Berg for over 10 years now. It is perfect; good price; nice staff; good breakfast and ideally situated for the Mitte (2 trams whisk you to Friedrichstasse in less than 10 mins) and Prenzlauer Berg with its tree lined streets and many good restaurants.

Room Tip: The street side has a bit of tram noise so ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clivers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Couple of nights in November - Berlin is great and Hotel worked well both public transport and by taxi. It's small in what was East Berlin typical small city centre layout great for in and out. Was a bit mousy with the teams but also convent because of the trams.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#367 of 634 in Berlin
98 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#85 of 634 in Berlin
243 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#247 of 634 in Berlin
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth
H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth
#178 of 634 in Berlin
236 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Die Schule
Hotel Die Schule
#361 of 634 in Berlin
23 reviews
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#55 of 634 in Berlin
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastanienhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastanienhof

Property: Hotel Kastanienhof
Address: Kastanienallee 65 | Berlin Mitte, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Berlin
#83 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#92 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kastanienhof 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Kastanienhof is your friendly accommodation in the heart of Berlin-Mitte, located in the vibrant neighborhood between Alexanderplatz and Prenzlauer Berg. Our hotel, with its 44rooms, is inside a typical Berlin apartment building dating back to the 19th century. Every room is decorated with dedication, so you will find many testimonies of Berlin's exciting history. If you want to stay in a warm and cozy environment, experience a creative, cultural and, palatable neighborhood, reach all of Berlin's major sights in no time, then start your next Berlin trip at the Hotel Kastanienhof. The grand entrance hall leading to the mezzanine, the painted courtyard gateway, the stucco and the old stairways - you instantly are connected to Berlin's history. You should try out our hotel-own restaurand "Ausspanne". Our excellent chef Andre Pilz creats traditional german dishes in a modern way. Or you can enjoy our wide selection of drinks at our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kastanienhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastanienhof Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing