We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Prenzlauer Berg location”
Review of Hotel Kastanienhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kastanienhof
Ranked #140 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Terrific Prenzlauer Berg location”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a basic hotel, good value and comfortable - but you stay here for the location. Tram 1 stop is right across the street (takes you to Museum Island), UBahn stop is a 5 minute walk (2 stops to AlexanderPlatz) but stay and explore the immediate neighborhood for funky restaurants and coffee bars, parks (with ping pong tables and trampolines) and enjoy the (mostly) pre-war area. This hotel offers breakfast for 9 euro (but I skipped it for the cafes right outside the door) - there's an ATM next door, as well as a really small 'market' and a larger market and fruit stand around the block so everything you need right there!.

Helpful staff, inexpensive mini bar (!!?), very comfy beds, clean and quiet (in the back at least).

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside overlook a courtyard instead of busy Kastanienallee
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shezswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    94
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
105
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, very clean and has everything you need. The location was perfect for us - loads of lovely places to eat and drink nearby. Very quiet as well and nice friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again if and when I return to Berlin.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this nice hotel. It's located right across the street from the tram, and is just two tram stops up from Hackerscher Markt, which has great connections. We enjoyed the street it was located on, which had lots of restaurants and amenities.

The rooms were good sized, by European standards, with very modern bathrooms. We stayed on an upper floor, on the street side of the hotel. The road noise was a little too loud to have the windows open, but there are roll-down shutters that do a GREAT job blocking out the noise and light. Note that the tram runs almost all night, so it's worth taking a few minutes to figure out how the shutter works if you face the street.

The hotel doesn't have A/C, and even with highs only in the low 80s (in late May) the room got pretty warm. Luckily, with the windows open for a couple hours, it would cool off enough to sleep well. The breakfasts were great, and offered an excellent selection of items that should meet pretty much anyone's needs.

Room Tip: The courtyard side rooms are quieter. The hotel facade is undergoing renovation (May 2014), but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesbrown1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Based in the Mitte area of Berlin, you could not be better placed for superb restaurants, bars and cafes. After spending six active days in and around Berlin, I am confident in saying this hotel, in this location, at the price would be hard to beat.
Every day I presented myself at reception with a new request and regardless who was on duty, I received cheerful and helpful advice, whether it be for a restaurant booking, ordering a taxi or changing the pillows on my bed.
I followed a previous tip on TripAdvisor and booked a rear room and enjoyed peaceful and comfortable nights.

Room Tip: Select a room at the rear of the hotel, away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_Jeffries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A group of seven of us stayed here for the weekend as a base for my stag do. We chose the hotel due to the reviews on here, and its position near a decent number of bars. Although it was a stag do, a number of the group are a little bit older and therefore wanted somewhere reasonably decent, and this fitted the bill. The hotel itself is positioned on a reasonably busy street with trams, and a short walk from a couple of metro stops. The welcome we received was very pleasant, and the staff generally spoke enough English for us to get by. We didn't sample the breakfast, deciding to eat out on both mornings. Our rooms were at the front of the hotel, and I had read of people being kept awake by the noise...I can't say any of us had this problem. The rooms we had (three twins and a single) all had a nice clean bathroom with shower gel provided, safes, a mini bar, TV. Wi-Fi was available if you were in the right part of the hotel - you need to ask reception for the code. Each of us had a small fob which operated both the door to the room, and the front door as well. Beds were comfortable. All in all, it is a very decent option if this part of Berlin is where you want to stay, and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boyvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

A really excellent hotel, staff and atmosphere. Everything was good, location ideal, easy to get to from Berlin Hbf where I arrived and departed from (short S-Bahn and tram ride, or taxi ditto on way back). Room was well made up, warm, comfortable. Only little problem was the wi-fi but that was probably my fault - and the night porter helped me put that right in quickly. Can't wait to get back. Breakfast also was great.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back (an apartment actually) which, even on a Friday night, was really quiet. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed for 5 nights at this hotel with my daughters in their 20s. We throughly enjoyed our stay, the location was great, staff are helpful and friendly, rooms spotless and an excellent breakfast. We felt like we were staying in a 'real' German hotel not one of those boring hotel chains that you find in every capital city.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fretheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#360 of 634 in Berlin
99 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#51 of 634 in Berlin
253 reviews
Mitte
H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth
H+ Hotel HVD 4Youth
#178 of 634 in Berlin
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#251 of 634 in Berlin
212 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Die Schule
Hotel Die Schule
#371 of 634 in Berlin
23 reviews
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#50 of 634 in Berlin
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kastanienhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastanienhof

Property: Hotel Kastanienhof
Address: Kastanienallee 65 | Berlin Mitte, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Berlin
#83 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#92 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kastanienhof 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Kastanienhof is your friendly accommodation in the heart of Berlin-Mitte, located in the vibrant neighborhood between Alexanderplatz and Prenzlauer Berg. Our hotel, with its 44rooms, is inside a typical Berlin apartment building dating back to the 19th century. Every room is decorated with dedication, so you will find many testimonies of Berlin's exciting history. If you want to stay in a warm and cozy environment, experience a creative, cultural and, palatable neighborhood, reach all of Berlin's major sights in no time, then start your next Berlin trip at the Hotel Kastanienhof. The grand entrance hall leading to the mezzanine, the painted courtyard gateway, the stucco and the old stairways - you instantly are connected to Berlin's history. You should try out our hotel-own restaurand "Ausspanne". Our excellent chef Andre Pilz creats traditional german dishes in a modern way. Or you can enjoy our wide selection of drinks at our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kastanienhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastanienhof Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing