We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uber”
Review of Guesthouse 21

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Guesthouse 21
Ranked #42 of 188 Berlin B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Uber”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Guesthouse 21 is clean, comfortable and great value for money. Most importantly however, the guesthouse has something that most other establishments could never achieve. This being a special warmth, happiness and friendliness that as guest, you experience as soon as you arrive.

The hosts Daniel and Maik were attentive and responsive from the first email enquiry and this carried through till the moment you leave.

Guesthouse 21 is like visiting your best friend's home and being treated not like guest but a special friend.

Can't recommend it highly enough.

Thanks Boys

Paul and Nick - Australia

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_and_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    11
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
17
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were met with German, warmth and greetings and made to feel welcome by our hosts. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room spacious and warm.

There was a plentiful supply of warm water and the cleanliness of the toilets / shower-rooms was good. There was always a supply of clean towels available.

Our fellow guests were friendly, interesting and multi-national. G21 clearly has a loyal following by the number of repeat visitors we met.

Our hosts were always kind to ask about night's rest and about our stay when we saw them almost every morning. They were keen to cook us eggs to order in addition to the home baked bread, cheese, cold-cut meats and jams that were provided for breakfast.

However, Daniel & Maik do not live in the premises, and, perhaps this does have an effect on the overall standard of G21.

The kitchen appears spacious, clean and orderly in the gallery pictures. In reality the table is mostly taken up by a computer, stationery and part-opened food supplies etc. Reservation and guest check-in paperwork is left lying around on it, with guest's personal information, contact numbers and email addresses open to be viewed by anyone. At breakfast, guests sit, cramped and 5 strong round the bottom part of the table.

The fridge which is used to store the cheeses and meets for breakfast is open for guests to use, and it appears, many do. Part consumed food items appeared abandoned, perhaps by previously departed guests, because they didn't move in the days we were there. Open, part used tins of food were allowed to remain in the fridge.

The breakfast cheeses and meats were usually in an air-tight plastic box within the fridge. They are unpretentiously put on the table in their original plastic packets at breakfast time.

The dish towel left by the kitchen sink was often soiled by various uses during the previous day but continued to be used in the early morning when breakfast is being put out.

There is an open smoking policy which some guests, like us, were disappointed by. Particularly when guests smoked in the kitchen / breakfast room and some ashtrays continued to be un-emptied by anyone for sometime afterwards.

Our bedroom, and the guesthouse generally, smelt of stale cigarette smoke. This is not an easy thing to get rid of. Regrettably, even the clothes we did not wear and had kept in the wardrobe smelt of tobacco smoke.

In an attempt to fumigate our space we opened the top 1/3rd of the full-height windows in our room. (It was autumn and to leave the bottom 2/3rds of the windows open would have allowed the occasional rain and falling leaves and fumes from the traffic into the room.) Opening the windows sadly brought down a deep layer of dust and fluff which had been there for sometime. Under our bed, and an occasional couch positioned against the wall in our room, the same thing appeared to apply -quantities of dust and fluff.

Despite our criticisms we were grateful for the location, safe and pleasant setting we otherwise experienced in G21. We appreciate that running a guesthouse is a major commitment and requires almost perpetual vigilance if standards are to be maintained. Perhaps at the end of a busy summer and autumn season we caught them at a bad moment. Other aspects of the operating policy regarding cleanliness and hygiene do need revised and improved.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook a busy 4 lane, main road. One or two are at the back and are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Well-travelled2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Thank you Daniel & Maik for a great place to stay during my visit to Berlin! It was everything I was looking for. I was traveling alone for a 5 night holiday, I arrived late in the evening & was greeted by Daniel & the dog (love the dog). He showed me my room, which was large & spacious. The bed was comfortable, I slept great every night. The location is on a busy street (wear ear plugs, if you are a light sleeper). My room faced the street, no worries!

The breakfast was good! Fresh bread (always warm), eggs, meats, etc. since, I was traveling alone this gave me an opportunity to meet the other guest. Which, I did & a few of us went sight seeing, had dinner & visited a few bars together.

Daniel & Maik are gracious host. Always available to answer questions, suggestions for restaurants, bars & sight seeing.

Now this place is not the Ritz-Carlton & isn't for everybody. Do your homework, ask questions, know what to expect & your stay will be great!

If you are the personality type that must have everything "Perfect", butler service to cater to your every need & want, then you need to stay someplace else! Leave this gem for the rest of us!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PatrickBoyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Relaxed and welcoming, good value for money, great location in the epic gay district of Berlin and a good breakfast, big rooms and comfortable beds. A special hug to Daniel that welcomed us in a special way.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexRicard0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montorgiali, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Berlin and we selected the Guesthouse 21 for the enviable position in the heart of the Schöneberg area, close to the most of bars, restaurants and shops we MUST visit every time we are in this city.
We spent there a great time,nice and friendly managers always ready to give you an advice, a hand, very large rooms, a huge amount of food for the breakfast every morning and costs are really adequate.
We definitely found our "Home" for our trips to Berlin.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Lutherstrasse are a bit noisy but full of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I just spent a great week at this homey, friendly place right in the heart of Schoneberg. The hosts were welcoming, friendly and happy to help out a first time visitor to Berlin. Breakfast at the shared table was good fun, and good fare, non-stop coffee and tea all day I had a great, spacious, comfy double bed room, came and went as I wanted. Definitely I'll be back again to this gem of a place to enjoy more of the great hospitality, and of the delights of Berlin. A great place to base yourself if you come for a weekend or even better a week or two.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank uteguysydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This place is brilliant! The owners are friendly, helpful and welcoming. Daniel was so helpful orientating us to Berlin and making us feel comfortable.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat and I would recommend this location to anyone looking for a place to stay in Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandontoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Hotel Zu Hause
Hotel Zu Hause
#36 of 188 in Berlin
74 reviews
Schoneberg
Bananas Berlin Gay Guesthouse
Charlottenburg
City Stop Berlin
City Stop Berlin
#58 of 188 in Berlin
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hommage a Magritte
Hommage a Magritte
#2 of 188 in Berlin
344 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Pension Absolut Berlin
Pension Absolut Berlin
#21 of 188 in Berlin
94 reviews
Schoneberg
ArtHotel Connection
ArtHotel Connection
#8 of 188 in Berlin
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse 21

Property: Guesthouse 21
Address: Martin-Luther-Str. 21 | Schonenberg, 10777 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse 21 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Guesthouse 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing