We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Bregenz
Ranked #11 of 192 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Pension Bregenz in August for 6 nights. We had a pleasant experience overall. One of the best things about our stay was our host, Christian. Upon arrival he helped us take our suitcases to our room. He was very thorough in explaining different bus/s-bahn/u-bahn routes and ticket options to us, and had transit tickets behind the desk so we could buy them right there instead of having to get them at the metro station. He took us into our room and showed us everything, and gave us a mini-guidebook on the Charlottenburg area. He was always there during breakfast with a hello and a smile. The Pension is run by Christian and his wife, but she was more behind the scenes. I only saw her in passing at breakfast time, and she always smiled.
The Pension itself is located in an old building a few blocks off of the Ku'damm in a quiet residential area. When you arrive, there is an intercom outside and he will buzz you up. There is usually nobody at the front desk except at breakfast time, so you get a key to the building and a key to your room. The Pension is on the fourth floor of the building. There are stairs as well as an elevator. It's one of those old elevators that is quite small (there was just enough room for the two of us and two suitcases) and has the doors that you have to open and close yourself. The room we booked, a double room, consisted of a fair sized room with a big, comfortable bed, a TV, a mini-fridge, a couple of chairs, a small entrance way and the bathroom. Our room looked out onto the courtyard. It was quite hot when we were there in August, and there was a fan in the room. It was quiet in the Pension and I always felt safe there.
Breakfast is served in the main reception area each morning from 7am-9:30am and had a selection of meats, cheeses, bread, apple slices, yogurt, tea, coffee and juice. There are also quite a few restaurants in the immediate area.
The Pension is apparently a T-Mobile hotspot, but we couldn't connect to it from our room or the hallway. There is a computer terminal in the hallway with internet access for 2 EUR an hour. The internet was quite slow, but if you're in Berlin, you shouldn't be spending much time on the computer anyways!
Most of the places we went to definitely required one transit transfer, and most of them even required two. We would either take the bus from Olivaerplatz to the Zoo s-bahn station, or we would walk to the Adenauerplatz u-bahn station and go from there.
Overall, the room was comfortable, the shower was good, the hosts were absolutely excellent, and the location is safe. We paid 80 EUR a night including breakfast and tax.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissWanderlustCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2009

My husband and I stayed here in August for a week. It is a beautiful pension, the rooms are large, bright and airy. The beds are really comfortable. The bathrooms ample with good shower water pressure. It is really quiet at night (always a bonus!). Breakfast is really nice and generous and the owners themselves are a cut above the rest, friendly, helpful, you can't ask for more. The pension is on a lovely tree lined street in a great residential area and there are several restaurant options nearby so you don't have far to go for a relaxing meal after a big day exploring. It is very close to the Ku'damm and the rest of Berlin is easily accessible. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eves21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

My husband and I spent 4 months traveling through Europe and Pension Bregenz was our favorite. The location is fantastic - Wilmersdorf (West Berlin) is a lovely, upscale residential neighborhood, with great restaurants, rental car agencies, shopping, etc. The bus stop is a 3 minute walk, and the S & U Trains are easily accessible as well. All our friends stayed in Mitte (East Berlin) and payed double or triple what we payed and our neighborhood was much more charming.

The rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. (We stayed in 3 different rooms as we visited other cities via train and used Berlin as our base). All 3 rooms were very nice. We did a shared bathroom for 2 of the nights and it was no problem at all - in fact it's a great way to save money. Breakfast in the morning is great - meats, cheeses, cereals, granola, yogurt, fruit, coffee, juice, etc.

Christian the friendly owner was very helpful with travel questions, sightseeing, holding our luggage, etc. It's a very well run pension and excellent value in a fantastic neighborhood. There is no Wi-Fi but they have a computer you can use for 2Euro/Hr...it works, but it's very slow.

We very much enjoyed our stay at Pension Bregenz.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discrn_Trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Not a 4 star hotel but a great deal in a lovely neighborhood. Christopher and his wife (can't remember her name) were helpful, the room was pretty large and the included breakfast spiked my cholesterol being in the same room with it. But there are low fat options in the buffet.

A great bed, huge pillows and a decent bath. The phone was reasonable to use, the mini bar had store prices and there is a fabulous Italian restaurant a half a block to the right (as you came out of the pension.

The only whine was the lack of free high speed wireless. T-Mobile wanted 29E for 30 days. There was a pay computer out in the hall but, I didn't have the 2E coin that it required.

No deposit at reservation and at 80E per night for a double, this may be the best deal in Berlin.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zigzagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights in late July. Wow! From making reservations to checking out, things could not have gone smoother. Christian, the owner, is smart, friendly, efficient, and full of excellent advice on what to see and how to see it. We had a large, clean, sunny, comfortable room (#7) with a good-sized bathroom and a balcony for 80 Euros a night, including a very decent breakfast. The hotel's location is superb: on a quiet street within easy walking distance of the Ku-dam, busses, and subway stops. Wonderful, friendly local restaurants on the block, with the standout being La Vigna, which is 50 yards down the street. Only minor issue was crappy internet access, but there's a 24-hour internet cafe near the Adenauer Platz subway stop, within easy walking distance if you need it. We've spent lots of time in Berlin over the years and love the city. This was our first time in Hotel-Pension Bregenz, and we'll never stay anywhere else in our future visits.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

What an excellent hotel! When we arrived we were given very friendly welcome and advice about the various Berlin attractions and how to get to them.
Our room was gigantic with a window overlooking a small garden. We had a mini bar (fridge) with very reasonably priced drinks in, TV with BBC news and a great big comfortable bed.
At the end of the road was an Italian restaurant/deli called ‘Gusto’ with benches outside. They prepared delicious pasta and pizza dishes at reasonable prices.
In the morning included in your rate is a self service breakfast which is perfect to set you up for a days sightseeing. Tea/coffee, cereals, toast, cold meats etc..
There are two supermarkets near by and one on Konstranzer strasse which is open until midnight. I would definitely stay here again as its location was ideal to get into the city centre and for day trips to Spandau or Potsdam.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubylondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Rooms were really clean and comfy. Hosts were really helpful and welcoming. The location is perfect with lots of restaurants and bars around, and a very quite street.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Charlottenburg
Hommage a Magritte
Hommage a Magritte
#2 of 192 in Berlin
366 reviews
Mitte
CALMA Berlin Mitte
CALMA Berlin Mitte
#6 of 192 in Berlin
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Pension Peters
Pension Peters
#7 of 192 in Berlin
308 reviews
Charlottenburg
Goodman's Living
Goodman's Living
#5 of 192 in Berlin
258 reviews
Charlottenburg
mittendrin
mittendrin
#4 of 192 in Berlin
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Bregenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Bregenz

Address: Bregenzer Strasse 5, 10707 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range: £58 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Pension Bregenz 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Berlin hotel-guest house provides a personal service to you and your family.Our family-run city hotel with personal charm an ambience is to be found just a short walk from the famous "Kurfurstendamm" (Ku'Damm). We gladly offer our help and assistance with regard to visiting theatres, concerts or opera.We also take care of reservations for restaurants,sightseeing tours etc... Tickets for public transport are available from the reception of the hotel.A friendly house at friendly prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel-Pension Bregenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing