We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arte Luise Kunsthotel
Ranked #207 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Centrally located rooms with an artsy twist. Proximity to Berlin Hauptbahnhof and Friedrichstrasse S-Bahn/U-bahn makes this one a winner. The shared bathrooms were clean and pleasant and didn't feel like a hostel - which makes this a viable option over any of the nearby hostels (if you book early enough)

Clean, comfy rooms and helpful reception staff who lent me a euro to UK convertor when I realised I'd left mine at home. My room was facing the internal courtyard and had a good view of the vine-covered walls, but this also meant a quiet night's rest.

Book in advance to get the best prices!

Room Tip: Higher floor, facing the internal courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is centrally located, very close to major attractions like the Reichstag and Brandenburg Gate. Very close to the Spree and transportation.

It was like a maze in there. I tried to exit through the janitor's closet several times!

I had a single room with bathrooms in the hall. The showers were shared but the toilets were man or woman. I rarely saw another person. I would bring soap because the packets the hotel provides are quite small.

I did not hear the trains, but I did hear birds. There was a pigeon making a nest outside the window and lots of songbirds EARLY in the morning.

The entire hotel was very clean and the staff was always helpful.

I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: I had 303 where the birds are, but I's rather have birds than trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canarycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Each room was designed by a different artist with different themes. The rooms are very large. We chose the shared bathroom option where they had 6 showers stall, 6 toilets for female and then for male (so 12 each) per floor. They offer fans in room, and with windows closed the rooms are fairly sound proof (they provide ear plugs as well). They provide towels and soap provided and a hairdyer in shower area. they offer free wifi in the rooms, our room didnt have a tv. The TXL bus from airport (cost 2.60 pp) literally stops right next to the hotel (its the 2nd stop after the Central Haupbahnhof). The Haupbahnhof is 5 minute walk to hotel. The Reichtag and Brandenburg Gate are a 3-4 minute walk, jewish memorial is a 5-6 minute walk. The breakfast was a bit pricey ($11 Euro) so we just walked to Dunkin Doughnuts and starbuck at Brandenburg gate

Room Tip: ask for one on opposite side of tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightygeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had an early flight out of Berlin and needed a place to spend an evening. For this purpose, I took a single room with shared bathroom. The room was small, clean and the shared bathroom/showers were right next door, and also well maintained. Reviewers have complained about the proximity to the train tracks. My room faced the indoor courtyard and I actually didn't hear much noise at all. My only complaint is the bed was one of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept in. I'm not a picky sleeper, but I found it incredibly difficult to sleep in that bed. Overall though, I would recommend this hotel to friends, and would stay here again. The price was great as was the location: 10 minute walk from main train station, and the airport bus TXL stops just across the street from the hotel. The 24h hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venya3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel, nestled five minutes from the Reichstag, is a real Berlin gem. Each room in the old townhouse is different, making it feel unique and unusual. The location is excellent, an ideal pied-a-terre between the tourist centre and the cooler riverside bars of Friedrichstrasse.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank HopefulTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel is quite stunning and the staff are very friendly and helpful, no matter what time of day it is. It is located about a ten minute walk to the Brandenberg Gate and further 5-10 to the Reichstag. Albrechstrasse, with its bars and street cafes, and a lovely stretch of street cafes along the River Spree are a street away. It is about a 15 minute walk to Museum Island and less than 30 to the Alexanderplatz area in one direction and the checkpoint Charlie area in the other. So it is very well located.

Many reviews mention that it is next to the train line, which is true - and my room at the front was very close to it, though I slept with the windows open. I found I was so tired after exploring Berlin that the trains did not keep me awake, despite the fact that I am a light sleeper. They supply earplugs and the windows are double glazed if you want to shut them.

The building itself, I believe, used to be set into the Berlin Wall. It was restored from the late 90s onwards and each room is done by a different artist. The hallways are historically restored in a beautiful style and there are artistic ornaments everywhere. It is an utterly charming place. There is a large internal courtyard and free internet in the artistic reception area.

My room was very clean, comfortable and private. The shower was a little cramped, but that was easy to put up with for 2 nights. Breakfast in the restaurant next door is great value - serve yourself muesli (you have to try the one with the tiny squares of chocolate through it!), hot and cold buffet and juice. But wait for the staff to serve you coffee (from my experience, serving yourself is seen as the height of rudeness!)

There is a very cheap, efficient council bus that goes from the airport and stops directly across the road from the hotel. At night the cab from the airport cost about 25DM.

Room Tip: The older more historic part of the hotel seems to be closer to the train line. The more modern part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bsmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

On a recent trip through five European countries, this was by far the best hotel we stayed at! Not only was it the most reasonably priced, it was perfectly located near all of the main tourist attractions and good nightlife. The room was large and just gorgeous, and the service was excellent. No complaints at all from me!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mistyglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#255 of 635 in Berlin
209 reviews
Mitte
Maritim proArte Hotel
Maritim proArte Hotel
#169 of 635 in Berlin
1,102 reviews
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Mitte
Hotel Berlin Mitte by Campanile
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Berlin-Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arte Luise Kunsthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arte Luise Kunsthotel

Address: Luisenstr. 19, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#160 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £40 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arte Luise Kunsthotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arte Luise Kunsthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arte Luise Kunsthotel Berlin
Arte Luise Kunsthotel Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing