We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good budget hotel longs you dont mind a hard bed night sleep and a swing a cat bathroom.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum
Ranked #255 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“good budget hotel longs you dont mind a hard bed night sleep and a swing a cat bathroom.”
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Here for my Birthday treat and chose this hotel for its location. It scores high on it's presentation at reception with its prompt service when you require anything extra ie blankets, iron etc.
Breakfast I defy anyone not to say they couldnt fill up for the day. All freshly baked and abundantly self served.
The room was very clean but do be warned the bed is a twin and not comfortable.Not for the romantic weekend.
The bathroom, if thats, what it should be called , was a square box,no wider than the stretch of arms.cramped with a capital C or for the over weight person you enter at risk to get stuck.!!!!
As a female, when channel hopping, I found it absolutely hilarious as the male viewing was free for the explicit channels but not the football !!!!!!!!.I came to the conclusion this must be a Carlsberg hotel !!!!!!!!
The one thing that down grades the location of this hotel was the open street prostuition girls by the next street, it was so openly in your face. I learnt its legal.on the up side of this hotel it boosts fantastic connections for sightseeing with two U band stations at an easy 5 &10 mins walk away.the all day ticket was 6euros.
I was impressed by the affordable restaurants especially the San Marco up four blocks from the hotel left by the nollendorfplatz U band station..A Quaint full of character Italian.

Snack kiosks were every where. Like most eateries they were very affordable and had quality for monies worth. Everywhere was kept litter free!
Shopping? for the unusal, it was here but good old fav's were here too like C&A.
Berlin has surprises every turn on the streets historically, expect it, to make you think deep and be sadden by what you view.
The Wall, that still stands, is cold and hard,( what's left of it).
But what I'll remember most is having the opportunity to listen to a real life experience of east/ west division of a brother and a sister and a growing tree that signalled they were ok.
This city does have two tales to discover.
What I liked best, was, experiencing the blening in of real German way of living. This city thrives with mast citizens well within its main district.
Germans, take No compromise on food quality here, all food markets are full to the brim. all food stalls of fruit and veg and bakeries are colorful and inviting you to eat..
Berlin is very inviting but on the down side it could make alittle more effort for translation English around the main tourist attraction monuments etc.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andi042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    672
    405
    98
    78
See reviews for
239
471
152
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

The Aldea is a basic well placed hotel. Checkin was very efficient but it is a very dull hotel decor wise. The room was ok but the beds were two single wooden framed beds put together which creeked every time you moved. All the rooms on the sixth floor were the same. The bathroom was very very small and I have attached a picture. Shower, tiolet & sink. If you are a lager person then think twice about this place. Service was good. The room had no iron but I asked at reception and they delivered within half an hour. No tea or coffee making facilities but a well stocked fridge is in the room and not over priced. Be warned that if you have children, the TV has 24hr xxxx movies for free. Only one english speaking channel which is next to the xxx channels.
Also, windows open wide so again, please be careful if you have children.
The hotel does have a restaurant but we only used it for breakfast which was of a very high standard and quality.
The exploring the city, the Buelowstrasse U-bahn is approx 200 meters away to your right. This will take you to Wittenbergplatz for the KaDeWa shop or Zooglischer garten for main shopping on the Kudamm or you can get the Pankow train to Potsdamer Platz which has a fine shopping centre and restaurant area. You can also go to Alexander Platz which also has a shopping mall which I preferred.
All destinations are less than 15mins away and you can get a day ticket from reception which is 6.20 Euro each. You must validate these tickets on the platform before you travel.
For a nice little restaurant near the hotel. Take a left out of front door and walk for approx 10 mins. A small Italien restaurant called San Marco which also does german food. Graet price, meal for two with drinks under 30 euro. It is a local place and we used it twice. Know your german though for menu.
It is a very safe area though you will see the local female nightlife after 9pm.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

The hotel is all right, reasonable value for money and we would probably stay there again.
The location is OK: the hotel is 2 minutes from an underground station and a few stops from the touristical attraction in the centre. The area is a little dodgy: in the evening you will see a couple prostitutes but we felt quite safe to walk about, even at night. There is a free public car park just in front of the hotel: I think that during the day it may be difficult to find a place but we arrived in the evening and it was half empty. It felt quite safe to leave the car there. You can also leave the car in the hotel car park at a charge (10 euro, I believe)
The room was clean, relatively large and comfortable. It has everything you would expect, including a safe and hair dryer but no kettle or coffee making equipment. No aircon either but in September that was not a problem.
What was a little depressing was the corridor to the room (plain to the extreme) and the lifts were like the London busses: none for a long time, then all three at the same time.
We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but it seemed to be quite popular.
Staff were polite.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryWastoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stayed at the Aldea during the Athletics competition, so it was a very busy weekend and we probably wouldn't have stayed here otherwise. Other hotels were very much more expensive, some had put more than £100 on their usual prices.
Having said that, the location is very good - but I don't think you can go wrong in Berlin as every district has a lot to offer.
We upgraded to rooms at the back as the front, above the main road, is so noisy you can't open the windows and it was too hot with them closed (no a/c).
I would compare the hotel to a Travelodge in style, fairly small and basic, but clean.
The ensuite is tiny though, you wouldn't want to be here longer than a few nights.
Can't comment on the breakfast as we ate out. A few minutes' walk down the road to Nollendorfplatz brings you to loads of great cafes, all with pavement seating.
Staff are efficient and friendly enough.
Overall, good value and good location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BathHappytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We arrived here directly after long international flights, and finding the hotel was easy from the train, and check-in was smooth. The hotel was a perfect value for the money spent, and was about a block from the Bulowstrasse U-Bahn stop--uber convenient, with trains stopping every few minutes. The breakfast was outstanding (probably our favorite of the 5 cities we visited), with so many choices, beautiful meats, fruits, and cheeses, as well as excellent coffee. Even the breakfast room was very modern and beautiful, with bright colors, good lighting, and flowers on the table. The room was like an outdated dorm room, and the mattress was a little bit thin, so 2 nights was a good length of a stay. However, I doubt we spent no more than an hour awake in the room each night, and we slept great, without any noise from the neighborhood. We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat--for the value, breakfast and location.

From Tegel--took the bus to Zoologischer Garten, then the U2 3 stops toward Pankow. Getting to the Hauptbahnhof when we departed was super-easy too, and took only 30 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midwestcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia & Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2009

The önly bad thing in this hotel was the placement of the reserve toilet paper roll- it had urine spots on it from previous residents! Really bad placement...
The breakfast, however, was incredible- the coffee was superb, the fruit selection excellent and everything else was good, too.
The desk clerks were helpful, the rooms clean and there were plenty of multi-ethnic restaurants nearby from which to choose.
This hotel was in a good location and had everything we needed. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiredButHappy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Hotel is OK. This is everthing. Only OK.
If you usually stay at 4 star hotels, maybe you will have a little shock as soon you arrives at the floor tdirection to the rooms (old carpet, dark corridor, abandoned cleanning trolley, etc...).
The rooms are small, but smaller is the toillet (couldn't move myself "in a normally way" after taking shower). Furnitures are OK and quite new. Rooms are clean. Infrastructure only average (e.g. TV monitor is old and very very small).
Localization is convenient (due to nearlly by metro, etc...), but the district is not the nicest one (partially ugly and cruddy).
Breakfast is amazing (really great!).
Reception staff unfriendly (with exception of the night staff -> they are really great as well!).
Don't will stay there again. Should you are looking for ba udget acomodation, please go ahead (the hotel is not bad).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonnysunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Charlottenburg
Novum Style Hotel Berlin Centrum
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#119 of 634 in Berlin
707 reviews
Charlottenburg
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Schoneberg
Novum Style Hotel Aldea
Novum Style Hotel Aldea
#422 of 634 in Berlin
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum

Property: Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum
Address: Buelowstr. 20-22 | Schoeneberg, 10783 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aldea Novum Hotel is comfortable and contemporary furnishings. Functional rooms in various categories, free Wi-Fi, big breakfast buffets await every visitor. The majority of our rooms are suitable for small families. (3 Or 4 people) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agon Aldea Berlin
Hotel Agon Aldea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing