We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum
Ranked #231 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Oslo
Level Contributor
644 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

The hotel is close to the "Bülowstrasse" station at U-bahn (Metro) U2.
I stayed at room 314. The hotel looks newer on the outside, than the inside. My room was large with double bed and a ekstra sofabed. The bathroom was very small, but well functioning nevertheless. The TV was very small. There is a mini bar and safe in the room. The bed was average and may be a bit hard. I didn't pay for breakfast at the hotel (12Euro) and opted for breakfast at the many cafes around Nollendorfplatz with a whole more charm.
The staff at the hotel was very friendly. They had a system of ID-card having you to identify you as a guest when picking up the room key. After some time it gets a bit annoying having to get in line in order to get your room key. If there are many checking in/out at the time...you may have to wait in order to get your room key.

During my stay I woke up several times due to noise from people talking in the hall way. The rooms are not "sound proof".

The location is great, and I would stay there agian if they have a great offer.
Note - check out time is 11:00, not 12:00.

The hotel is easyly reahable from Tegel airport. The Bus X9 takes you to Karl Reuter platz where you connect to the U2 towards "Pankow" and gets of at "Bülow strasse". The ticket costs 2,10 Euro and is valid for 2 hours in one direction. You have to validate your ticket on the bus.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VacationOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    659
    392
    93
    71
See reviews for
230
457
151
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mallorca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in Nov 2009, room 121.

In general, the hotel was great. Good location, good service, excellent breakfast, good sized rooms, good cleanliness.

The bathroom was a bit small, but it was fine for just a few nights' stay.

The hotel is on Bülowstrasse, right opposite the U-bahn station, just accross the road. It's handy to walk to the Sony Centre and Potsdammer Platz. There is a nice little cafeteria just on the corner (near the traffic lights), that do nice coffee. There are also supermarkets near to the hotel.

If you're travelling with children, watch out for the (hard) porn channels on TV!. There is also Spanish TVE internacional, an English speaking channel, etc.

The digital safe is free. We couldn't find the "red little button" as per the safe instruction description, and we had to call reception. We must be stupid!.

There were some vending machines on the ground floor (water, juice, etc). We found that we had everything that we wanted.

Breakfast was great, especially the slices of different cakes!. Sehr Lecker!!!. And the scrambled egg and German sausages!.

I would recommend this hotel and as I loved every minute that I was in Berlin, and really want to go back sometime soon, I will definitely think about staying in the Agon Aldea again. It's excellent value for money.

My friend who I travelled with is a travel agent, and I know that she has already recommended to hotel to some of her customers.

The only possible negatives that I could find were:

- some of the reception staff were more friendly than others
- some of the ground floor area (near the lifts) could really do with a lick of paint and updating

I would rate it: 9/10

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

Located near to the Potsdamerstrasse, the Agon Aldea Hotel is well located in terms of public transportation. Also, many nice worthy visit places are reachable by walking. The rooms are confortable, yet nothing too luxurious, but make an impression of a more expensive hotel.

Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank priscillaamador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

The Aldea is on Bülowstraße on the u2 line of the U-bahn, lterally across the road from the station. It is round the corner from Potsdamer Straße that leades you to Potsdammer Platz (about a 15 minute walk.) The location is really good, within easy walking distance from everything, either that or jump on the U-bahn, its about 6 Euros for a multi journey all day ticket.

The hotel itself, on first impressions I wasnt too impressed, the stairwells and lifts are very dated and a bit eastern block, as are the corridors. However the rooms were more than adequate, really good sized rooms with 2 singles (pushed together) and a sofa bed. Bathroom was tiny but perfectly fine.

The room was clean and nicely decorated. They were actually painting some rooms on our floor (floor 7) when we were there.

The rooms also have a mini bar and an in room safe and plenty of hanging space too.
Tv's are little portable ones with a good selection of channels, English you only have CNN and Sky Movies but they have MTV etc in German that have some english shows. There is also pay per view too.

Tha area around the hotel has a lot of prostitution at night, and some during the day as well, but its pretty safe and we didnt feel at all worried coming back late at night.

If you are looking for somewhere cheap to stay that is clean and comfortable then this is a good bet.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SacredTrickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

for a cheap hotel near a Metro stop, this hotel is ideal. The breakfasts were fabulous & filled us for the whole day. Some of the hotel needs a bit of a paint but for the price, who cares! There are lots of nice bars & restaurants 5-10mins walk. The staff were very friendly & spoke good english.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank chrisengland01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Good location with subway and bus stop at the hotel and walking distance to many great places.

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
Thank NuritL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

Here for my Birthday treat and chose this hotel for its location. It scores high on it's presentation at reception with its prompt service when you require anything extra ie blankets, iron etc.
Breakfast I defy anyone not to say they couldnt fill up for the day. All freshly baked and abundantly self served.
The room was very clean but do be warned the bed is a twin and not comfortable.Not for the romantic weekend.
The bathroom, if thats, what it should be called , was a square box,no wider than the stretch of arms.cramped with a capital C or for the over weight person you enter at risk to get stuck.!!!!
As a female, when channel hopping, I found it absolutely hilarious as the male viewing was free for the explicit channels but not the football !!!!!!!!.I came to the conclusion this must be a Carlsberg hotel !!!!!!!!
The one thing that down grades the location of this hotel was the open street prostuition girls by the next street, it was so openly in your face. I learnt its legal.on the up side of this hotel it boosts fantastic connections for sightseeing with two U band stations at an easy 5 &10 mins walk away.the all day ticket was 6euros.
I was impressed by the affordable restaurants especially the San Marco up four blocks from the hotel left by the nollendorfplatz U band station..A Quaint full of character Italian.

Snack kiosks were every where. Like most eateries they were very affordable and had quality for monies worth. Everywhere was kept litter free!
Shopping? for the unusal, it was here but good old fav's were here too like C&A.
Berlin has surprises every turn on the streets historically, expect it, to make you think deep and be sadden by what you view.
The Wall, that still stands, is cold and hard,( what's left of it).
But what I'll remember most is having the opportunity to listen to a real life experience of east/ west division of a brother and a sister and a growing tree that signalled they were ok.
This city does have two tales to discover.
What I liked best, was, experiencing the blening in of real German way of living. This city thrives with mast citizens well within its main district.
Germans, take No compromise on food quality here, all food markets are full to the brim. all food stalls of fruit and veg and bakeries are colorful and inviting you to eat..
Berlin is very inviting but on the down side it could make alittle more effort for translation English around the main tourist attraction monuments etc.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andi042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Charlottenburg
Novum Style Hotel Berlin Centrum
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#107 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Schoneberg
Novum Style Hotel Aldea
Novum Style Hotel Aldea
#361 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum

Property: Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum
Address: Buelowstr. 20-22 | Schoeneberg, 10783 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aldea Novum Hotel is comfortable and contemporary furnishings. Functional rooms in various categories, free Wi-Fi, big breakfast buffets await every visitor. The majority of our rooms are suitable for small families. (3 Or 4 people) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Lastminute, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agon Aldea Berlin
Hotel Agon Aldea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing