We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potsdamer platz best”
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #8 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 April 2008

Me and my friend decided to spend a long weekend in Berlin, as we have never before been to this city. We choose Mandala hotel through a Design hotels chain because of it`s central location between the old easter and western parts of the city. Potsdamer platz, where the Mandala hotel is situated has the most central location. Just a 5 minute walk to the Holocaust`s memorial and Brandenburg`s gate. Around 10 min to go to the Gallery Lafayette and Q206 shopping malls. The hotel itself is very clean and has a homey feeling. We had a suite which had a huge marble bathroom with a balcony. The room is very airy and has lots of light and even the fully equipped kitchen. At Mandala they also have a very nice restaurant Facil. The only unpleasant experience was a hotel`s spa and gym. Though it was not the hotel`s fault. When we were in the sauna/bar area(2 girls actually) men didn`t seem to notice us and took an open shower and visited sauna naked. That was quite embarrassing, so we just left the spa/gym area.
All in all the hotel is really nice!
We would recommend it if you visit Berlin for a weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank darkloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 2,463 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2008

We had a wonderful stay here. The hotel is very stylish, quiet, and perfectly located in Berlin, right opposite the Sony Centre (lots of shops and restaurants), a short walk to the Reichstag and 100m from the U- and S-Bahn, right in the heart of the new Berlin. The suite was spacious, comfortable with an excellent bathroom. Breakfast in the restaurant was equally good - the combination of buffet style with fresh-cooked eggs works well, and the bar was just what we needed after a long day's sightseeing. There is a spa at the top of the hotel, but we didn't use it. The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming - we couldn't have asked for more.

As a retired airline pilot, I have stayed in very many hotels over the years, but I have rarely had a stay I have enjoyed as much. If you want a large, bustling hotel with several restaurants and lots of shops then this is not the place for you, but if you're after a quiet, stylish oasis to return to after a hard day out, you will be very happy here.

From our experience, this is a very, very good hotel indeed.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveandLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

We stayed here over the 2007/2008 New Year and booked it primarily due to the proximity to the Brandenburg Gate (a 10-minute walk) which is the focus of the New Year (Silvester) celebrations. It was wonderful to know that we were such a short walk away at the end of the night. We also got our own personal fireworks display at our hotel window courtesy of folks on the street below.

The hotel is bang opposite the Sony Centre at Potsdamer Platz and you can easily hop on the U-bahn (underground/subway) to get to other locations like the Ku'damm for shopping/the zoo or Alexanderplatz in the east.

We booked an Executive Suite at the Mandala. The room was huge, with a small kitchenette, large bedroom with desk and sofa, and a large bathroom with a big bath, perfect for wallowing in after a cold day of sightseeing. The room was stylish and modern in decor, as is the whole hotel.

Breakfast was included in our room, and we had it every day, in the Facil restaurant, although if we had to pay to 23 Euro charge (per person!), we would have opted to make something in our room instead. The buffet was immaculately presented, with staff constantly topping up food supplies and making sure everything was perfectly aligned (no, I'm not kidding) and all labels pointing in the right direction. You could order hot food from the staff, who all seemed to speak six languages.

On our first night, we'd had an early start and just wanted to relax with a DVD in our room and some pizza. The staff helped us to find a DVD in English from their library (bring your own...most are German) and ordered pizza from a local restaurant for us. They were very helpful.

The only criticisms we could find were a) the pillows, which were typical German/European and far too thin to be effective and b) the housekeeping staff, who seemed to ignore the electronic "Do Not Disturb" signs when it suited them.

Otherwise, it was on the pricey side but we spent a lot of time in the room and the location was great, so I'd say it was worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2007

fantastic central location right outside the Sony Centre!

I was on the 11th floor with a Balcony and right beside the gym and the Solarium which was relaxing. Cds in the room for different moods, desk for office work and a robe to go back and forward to the Solarium in.

Staff were extremely friendly and always had a smile on their face...

Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank joshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

I was in Berlin for five days on business. I stayed at the Mandala. I found the hotel facilities and the staff excellent. All of the staff spoke good English and were very helpful - from rebooking flights to providing me with sellotape and recommending an interesting walking route.
I stayed in one of the business suites. It was a well thought out design that allowed for separate sleep and working areas. The room included a kitchenette, lounge area, desk, bedroom and bathroom area. The most impressive aspects of the hotel were the details: the desk was spacious and had network cables, plenty of electricity points (at desk level!), and was complete with the office necessities (highlighters, post it notes, stapler etc); the hallways and lobbies feature interesting photos and art; and most importantly there was no noise from neighbouring rooms.

I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Little_Miss_Trouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

Have just returned from a great weekend in Berlin, made all the better for staying at the sublime Mandala hotel. We booked a 'management suite' on a booking website for a fair bit cheaper than the rates advertised on the Mandala's own - and it was really good value for money.

Despite being right on Potsdamer Platz, our room was very quiet and perfectly relaxing - a real pleasure to go home to at the end of the day! It's tastefully furnished to a high standard, and the bathrooms are enormous (as was the bed). We didn't have a chance to try the Spa on the 11th floor, but the prices looked reasonable.

The food and drink we had there was all very good and we found the staff to be really polite and helpful. Breakfast (at 23 Euros a head) is a little steep, but you can't fault the food and it'll keep you going 'til the evening! We'll definitely go back to Berlin and the Mandala and I wholeheartedly recommend it as a base for exploring the city - Reighstag, Brandenburg Gate and Unter den Linden are all within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank RH777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

The Mandala Hotel is a small boutique style classy hotel in a premium location across from the Sony Center right on Potsdamer Platz. We stayed five nights while sightseeing in and around Berlin. Almost everything we wanted to see was within walking distance from this hotel, and those sights that were further away were easily accessible via the subway station just around the corner. We did not utilize the nice spa or recreation area with the exception of one morning in the fitness room, but we could see that it was very nice. This was a pretty expensive place to stay, and unfortunately breakfast was not included in the price. Some of the front desk clerks were friendly and some were not, but our overall experience with the staff was great. We highly recommend this hotel for the beautiful rooms (and especially the large beautiful bathrooms!) and the location alone.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AKaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 634 in Berlin
3,203 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
568 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,795 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 634 in Berlin
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £105 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing