We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the nicest hotels we have ever been to!”
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #11 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of the nicest hotels we have ever been to!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

we actually went here on business and were working over the weekend so wanted somewhere pleasant to return to and did we get that. This hotel doesn't look much from the front but that is very very different from the reality. Everything about this hotel is so carefully and beautifully executed it made the visit so much more enjoyable.

Our room was a management suite and was lovely, everything is very very clean and the bathroom was simply gorgeous. The staff are some of the best service I have had travelling the world and the food there is excellent.

You will not go wrong with this hotel and we are actually planning another visit so we can enjoy this hotel at our leisure

Room Tip: Whilst we only stayed in one room the way this hotel is run I can't imagine there would be a bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p3nnyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,489
    448
    78
    30
    30
See reviews for
255
984
151
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our trip to Berlin was to celebrate our 10th Wedding anniversary, with that in mind my husband pushed the boat out and booked the The Mandala for a bit of luxury and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we checked in until we left everything was perfect.
We had a suite up on the 8th floor (I'd highly recommend room 828!) and it was amazing. We had arrived very early and our room wasn't ready which we fully expected however our bags were taken, we went off for lunch and when we arrived back we were handed our room keys and the bags were up in our suite. The suite was modern but still cosy and the carpet so thick you could see our footprints in it. The bed was very large and comfortable. The kitchenette was well stocked with glasses/crockery/cutlery etc.
We ate breakfast every morning in Facil and we couldn't fault it , the service and presentation was excellent.
All members of staff we encountered were helpful and pleasant and all had a "Guten Tag" for us.
It is ideally located across from the Sony Centre (we went to the cinema on the first night as we were a bit tired from travelling etc - they show films in their original language so lots of new release films in English) , Postdamer Platz train station is literally across the street and we visited all the major attractions on foot from our base at The Mandala. There are lots of good restaurants/bars close by (check out Billy Wilders across the street, some very fancy cocktail making goes on there)

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in The Mandala Hotel.

Room Tip: Our suite was facing into the courtyard that housed Facil which meant we heard none of the usual cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allysangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The elegant hotel with large rooms and a kitchenette, clean and nice designed. Very helpfull staff. Located in center of Berlin, near to the Filharmony, museums and restaurants. Beautiful view from the room, we saw all importent points from our window.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a Mandala standard room which was extremely spacious, huge comfortable mattress, well-appointed bathroom (shower over bath). Clean, quiet (with windows closed) despite being on a very busy road opposite Sony Centre. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Service was quick & efficient. Didn't feel like a business hotel with mostly couples and families staying when we were there. Easy to get to other parts of the city with S Bahn & U Bahn very close.
Slight negatives- main restaurant full two out of three mornings, so had to eat in rather soulless foyer bar or even more sterile annex-type room on same floor as restaurant (Facil); not a place to linger over coffee. Second main gripe was slowness of lifts- just two and with stairs not really promoted as an option, you can waste a lot of time just waiting for the lift to arrive. Sorry, 'first world problems' as my daughter would say but I thought worth mentioning. Overall conclusion is we'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
233 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel is new, modern and very well decorated. The room was big, clean and beautiful, with all amenities. The location is more than perfect, in front of Sony Center, with a lot of cafes and charming restaurantes all around. Nearby there's a mall too ( Arcade) and a big metro station. It's possible to walk to many city attractions like tiergaten, reichstag (parliament), jew memorial, topography of terror, the wall (remains) , branderburg gate, bebelplatz, etc. We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUCIANAGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the Mandala Hotel, Berlin, last week with 2 teenagers. It is a great hotel, clean, spacious rooms and very friendly, very helpful staff.

Located opposite the Sony Centre, walking distance of most sites and adjacent U and S bahn.

A great experience.

Room Tip: We had a suite, with 2 rooms, kitchen and 2 bathrooms, ideal for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIANECYMRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Spent the best 3 nights in Berlin, in this extremely well-located hotel, the staff was great and friendly, the food was great, and the city welcomed us nicely (cold, but sunny).
The hotel is on the other side of the road away of Postadmer-Platz, and Sony center, and also from the other side, on a walking distance from the great restaurants, shopping mall, cinemt and Casino of the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Not sure they have rooms with balconies to Potsdamer Platz, but if they do, ask for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Property: The Mandala Hotel
Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing