We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 day stay over Christmas”
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #8 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed in 2 rooms - standard room upgraded to management suite and an Executive suit- over Christmas as a family of 4. Both rooms were modern and very spacious with a living room attached to a bedroom with a clever design tweak - 60-70 sqm2. Bathrooms are again very spacious, simple timeless white settings and modern equipment. I will recommend the inner looking rooms as the potsdamer avenue side could be rather noisy. Petered is also a small kitchenette in each room although amenities - coffee etc are very basic; but hotel was kind enough to provide a proper coffe machine . Breakfast is in the stylish Facil restaurant - 2 Micheline stars overlooking a well manicured inner garden; food is creative, nicely presented, choice is not very rich for this kind of a Design hotel but good on the overall

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Y G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,273)
There are newer reviews for The Mandala Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 2,273 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Room was the best! Included kitchenette, huge walk-in closet, living room divided by desk and free WiFi from sleeping area , small patio, wonderful bath. Could walk almost everywhere including restaurants, historical sites, philharmonic. Outstanding breakfast. Helpful staff!

Room Tip: Pay extra to include breakfast. It's amazing!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwilkecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

* We stayed three nights at the Mandala and were more than pleasantly surprised.
* We had a Management suite and its more like a junior suite than a regular room. Kitchenette, desk and WiFi (ours was included). The room has a walk in closet and more than generous storage space. Put your bags away and enjoy the room uncluttered. The room has book shelves that surround the TV. Since I am about 2 meters tall I can see the top shelves. I found a small surprise behind the books on the top shelf. I'll tell if asked.
* The room has a small balcony. I think it would be super in the warmer months. Since we were there in December it was a little to chilly to use.
* The staff was more than helpful. Courteous and knowledgeable.
* Breakfast is served in what seems like an indoor garden than a normal dining room. Eggs cooked to order and all the normal accoutrements.
* If you intend to use the Spa services I recommend you book early. The calendar fills up quickly.
* The location on Potsdamer Platz is very centrally located and close to most all the attractions. Don't miss the Topography of Terror. It's really something.
* There was a small Christmas Market located just behind the hotel. Very convenient and fun.
* The walk to the Gendarmermarkt (sp) Christmas Market is about 20 minutes. We took a cab home, very cold that day.
* As an earlier reviewer said, this is one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in. Normally we never stay in the same place twice. I would readily stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We spent three days and two nights at the Mandala as part of a Lastminute.com flight & hotel package and was not expecting it to be so wonderful! We had what basically amounted to a suite on the 11th Floor right next to the ANA Spa. It was enourmous, spotless, comfortable, stylish and silent! Sadly, being there in the winter, we weren't able to make the most of our wrap around balcony, but on a summer break that would be an excellent addition. The staff were charming and helpful and the breakfast was insane! More volume and varieties of breakfast items than you could wish for...and champagne, lined up with the orange juice and milk! Each of us had a treatment at the spa, and although it wasn't cheap, it definitely felt like value for money. The spa itself was really calm and tastefully done, and we were plied with festive herbal teas before and after our massages. Again the staff were professional and friendly. The location on Potsdamer Platz was great - easy to walk to central sights, and also right next to the U Bahn for longer trips (and to get back to the airport). All in all, one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in.

Room Tip: I don't know what other rooms are like, we thought we had a normal room, but it was like a penth...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Very modern, faintly zen, quiet, comfortable and very spacious rooms. Great storage space and you get a kitchenette too! Excellent breakfast, really helpful staff and service. Recommended if you need to be at this end of the town. And there was a nice Christmas market just behind it

Room Tip: My room was at the front, no noise issues at all
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The hotel is very well located if you are looking to stay in the modern part of town. Easy access to both the subway and train stations. Very spacious and bright rooms, outstanding breakfast. And, the spa is very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Have just stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend in an Executive Suite, which was excellent. The room was very spacious with a large balcony, and the bathroom really was something special with a huge walk-in shower, double sink and a 2-person bathtub. We were up on the 9th floor so well away from the traffic below.

The best part about the hotel for me was the service of the hotel staff - very attentive, very helpful but not at all intrusive.

We didn't visit the 2 Michelin starred restaurant so I can't comment on that (I should imagine it's probably not too shabby...)

The spa is probably not worth bothering with. Communal facilities extend to a sauna and a few sunloungers. There's no pool, hot tub or anything else really. There is a good list of private treatments but they are all hugely overpriced so we gave those a miss.

The bar is well worth a look - excellent cocktail list and open late in to the night.

Overall I felt the hotel was somewhat clinical - it is clearly very new and modern and is in perfect working order, but there isn't really any character or soul to it. I imagine a lot of its clientele are business people rather than couples like us.

Location-wise, Potzdamplatz is a great place to be as you are central to most of the tourist attractions. You're near the Brandenburg gate and the Reichstag (10 min walk), and the tube station is only 2 mins from the hotel.

Lastly I would definitely recommend visiting in December - there was an excellent Xmas market directly behind the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMH86, Manager at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review to our hotel and for your words of praise.
We had forwarded all your compliments directly to our colleagues.
Our ONO Spa area is a location of silence to maximise the feeling of stress relaxation.
Therefore we offer outstanding products for detoxification and anti aging with the Iyashi Dome and the Alpha Sphere for tranquility.
A Whirlpool would have had the result of a higher noise pollution and some non-relaxing smells.
Due to that fact we had decided deliberately against any kind pool. Further our ONO Spa works with natural or medical manufactured products of high quality and lots of imported fresh ressources.

Thank you for your good valuation.
It would be a great pleasure to welcomng you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,847 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#22 of 635 in Berlin
3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
831 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 635 in Berlin
3,504 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 635 in Berlin
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £123 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing