We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious”
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #8 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Luxurious and very comfortable rooms. Daily cleaning very good.
We had a city studio suite which was spacious but not as big as I'd expected from the description. Bed and bedding excellent. Very quiet, even though on main road. Good sleep!
Advertised as having kitchenette, which was a fridge, kettle and 2-ring hob, but pots and pans and microwave not there. You have to ask Reception to borrow those.
Room had a 'tablet' with wifi, which was very useful for internet connection.
Breakfast was not included and very expensive if you took it.
Location is in a modern, rebuilt part of Berlin away from some historical sights, although we did discover we were close to Tiergarten, Martin Gropius Bau, Topography of Terrors and the Memorial to Jews. All worth a look. And only 50 metres from the site of The Wall.
Very close to Potsdamer Platz Station, from which there is now a direct 30 min. train to Schonefeld Airport, so all very convenient.
Overall, an excellent experience. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Mandala Hotel.

It is right that the kitchenette just comes with basic equipment as most of our guests do not use the kitchenette in an extensive way. Thanks to your feedback we informed our Front Office Manager to improve the communication of the loan service during the check-in.

We would be delighted to welcome you again during your next stay in Berlin.

With warm regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,558
    459
    82
    31
    31
See reviews for
269
1,021
156
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great location - close to major businesses. Rooms are of a very high standard and service very slick too. Breakfast a pleasant experience in a nice restaurant. If you're used to good hotels I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Mandala Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Berlin.

With warm regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

First trip to Berlin and couldn't have picked a better location. A lot on your doorstep. Staff were pleasant and the place is spotless. We had one of the bigger rooms, with a lounge and kitchen area. Biggest room I've seen - loved it! Only flaw is breakfast - two small breakfast rooms fill up fast so you might need to wait. Choice is less than I expected having read other reviews but the chef sure knows how to cook an egg! Had a drink in the bar on the last night, good atmosphere but a bit pricey. Gym was good too with some nice art on all floors take a peek.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jollygoodtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your friendly and open words regarding your stay at The Mandala Hotel.

We forwarded your comment regarding the breakfast to our Food and Beverages Manager. Feedback like yours helps us to fulfil the wishes and needs of our guests and to improve our service quality constantly.

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay.
We would be delighted to welcoming you again during your next stay in Berlin.

With warm regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Probably the best-lead 5* hotel in town. Fabulous restaurant (my advice: book well in advance)!
My room was fitted with a tablet-PC for looking up hotel services, and browsing the internet- pretty innovative!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tivolidroelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent evaluation of your stay at The Mandala Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our suite pad in the rooms. Feedback like yours helps us to fulfil the wishes and needs of our guests and to improve our service quality constantly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at your next stay in Berlin.

With warm regards from Berlin,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

In the centre of Potsdamer Platz, this hotel has a perfect location, great ambience and decor, really good food and ..... The best customer service since the world benchmark of the Fairmont hotel in Singapore. Nothing is too much trouble. Left my credit card in Ka De We and the receptionist had it sorted before he could be asked. Asked for the metro station and the concierge came out to show us and advice exactly how to get where we wanted to go. Booked a suite. The room was modern, high quality, tasteful and very functional. Breakfast buffet was a delight to see and everything was at it's peak all the time because of small portions on display which were constantly refreshed.
It is not cheap, but for the location and quality it offers it is really good value. Parking in the basement car park is one euro per hour.
The number one choice for me in Berlin from now on. Strolled down the road to the smart Italian restaurant for dinner last night. (Essenza) and was equally impressed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lipowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent evaluation of The Mandala Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you during your next stay in Berlin.

Best regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Madala looked absolute wonderful on the internet, unfortunately my wishful thinking was working overtime again I guess.
The room didn't add up to my expectations and the food from the roomservice was way beyond par!
Don't expect a nice view either.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriaan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your open words regarding your stay at The Mandala Hotel.

We are very sorry to hear that the rooms and the room service did not fulfil your expectations. We are highly motivated to understand your reasons. Therefore, we would appreciate to receive further feedback from you so that we can meet your expectations even better in the future. We would be much obliged if you send your feedback to goldboom@themandala.de. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this caused to you.

Thank you once again for taking the time to evaluate your stay. Feedback helps us to fulfil the wishes and needs of our guests and to improve our service quality constantly.

With warm regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is really nice. Very centrally located, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff all over. And to top it off, it's the quietest hotel in the center of a big city I have ever stayed in. I did have a room facing the courtyard at the back, which probably helped.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard, worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanSurv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to evaluate your stay.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our breakfast and quiet rooms.

We are delighted to welcoming you again during your next stay in Berlin.

With warm regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,747 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#15 of 634 in Berlin
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#20 of 634 in Berlin
2,921 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,541 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Property: The Mandala Hotel
Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing