We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book the Mandala Hotel. You won't be sorry!”
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #8 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the new Mandala Hotel for 6 nights. Located across the street from the Sony Center, it is an Asian inspired,very classy and beautiful hotel. A short walk to many important sites and steps away from Potsdam station (U ban and S ban), the Mandala Hotel couldn't be more conveniently located. Surrounding the hotel are many restaurants from inexpensive to expensive and stores. The rooms are beautiful and have a large walk in closet, very comfortable beds and linens. The room had a mini kitchen with minibar, 2 burner glass top stove, sink, shelves, and drawers. The mini kitchen comes supplied with plates, cups, utensils, electric hot water pot for coffee, tea and hot chocolate. The hotel will also supply pots on request. Behind the hotel is a large mall with a supermarket, apothecary, stores and many eating places including a great gelato place. It was at that large supermarket that I bought breakfast items which I prepared in the room daily. (Breakfast in the hotel is approx. $40 US. )
The concierges were consistently friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. One of the concierges personally picked up opera tickets for us.
My husband went to the gym and described it as more than adequate. I didn't go to the spa but looked in. Beautiful.
But the bonus feature of the Mandala Hotel is the free laundry room on alternate floors. The hotel even provides free detergent and a top of the line ironing system.
The room rate does not reflect the high quality of this hotel. It is so well priced.

I highly recommend the Mandala Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Mandala hotel is your place to stay in Berlin and justifies all high praise it received. Reasonably priced, beautiful spacious rooms including a comfortable sitting area, work area with a designated electricity and comm sockets, sleep area, smart cupboard for clothing and suitcase and a spacious kitchenette and bathroom.
Rooms are isolated from outside noise and light by double glazed windows, two layers of drapes and shutters.
It is located across the street from Sony Center with easy walking distance to the Arkaden, museums, and public transport - U,S trains and buses.
Do not skip a visit to the pampering Spa on the 11 floor.
Staff is accommodating and eager to help.

It really feels that in planning this hotel every traveler's need was thought of, and the hotel staff delivers the very high standard that was planned, whether in rooms service, cleaning or front desk staff and concierge. Highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Studio room with Balcony highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antiquesfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

It has been a while I haven't stayed in a hotel that offers this much value for money . My staywas from May 2nd till the 6th.
The design is crisp , the rooms large and clean , the location perfect , the staff friendly ,and the breakfast restaurant sublime and Zen ..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TripMember10162015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had the most wonderful time in this hotel.
The room was beautiful and had a great urban view.
there is a mini bar with room for storage and electric stove in every room for your convenience.
Breakfast was Devine: they have a Buffet which in the hot beverages and eggs are made by special order.the food is delicious and very fresh.big variety of salads and drinks.
the dinning room has a very relaxing atmosphere:two water fountains are at the center of the room and classical music is played.
The staff is very polite and always makes sure you are most comfortable.they all speak English.
Great city location at the heart of berlin walking distance from a lot off attractions.
As soon as we had notified the hotel that it was our honeymoon they upgraded our room to a business sweet and sent us an amassing bottle of champagne.
I highly recommend this hotel and hope I will be back there soon :)

Room Tip: Every room is great. We had a room and a sweet. Both great.sweet more roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hotel was well kept and clean. The front door staff were always friendly and helpful. I also very much enjoyed the breakfast and found their staff to be both accommodating and professional. And by all means visit the bar. Their was a large assortment of cocktails to choose from and the bartender was excellent. It was an excellent hotel I recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Husband and I booked an anniversary break away in Berlin. The hotel was easy to find by public transport from Schoenefeld Airport. The staff were friendly and spoke good English (whenever I tried to speak in German they replied in English!). We had room 811, which overlooked a quiet tree lined side street. It did have a view of the Sony Centre as stated but not one you'd write home about! The facilities were fabulous. An enormous bed with two single duvets which we were surprised about but worked for us. The big bathroom was well stocked with all the necessary toiletries, slippers and dressing gowns - even a set of weighing scales which I ignored for the weekend... Balcony over the Alte Potsdamer Strasse. Curtains all round made for a good night sleep.

WiFi in our room was good. 97Euros for a bottle of Champagne was a bit steep though. Breakfast in the main restaurant was lovely but when we had to go to the 'overflow room' on the Sunday we were disappointed as the atmosphere wasn't nearly as nice.

Great location for exploring the city. A few minutes walk to Brandenburg Gate and about 15 mins to Checkpoint Charlie. Everywhere is accessible by excellent public transport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SrhWbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A great modern Hotel exceptional room layout and design. Best location all of the must see sights within walking distance such as Brandenburg Gate, Topography of Terror, Museum Island, Berlin Cathedral etc etc. Staff great, breakfast room and offering great. Treat yourself to the best restaurant in Berlin, the Facil located on the 5th level. This ranks up with the top 3 hotels we have ever stayed in.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,883 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#20 of 635 in Berlin
3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 635 in Berlin
3,545 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
497 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 635 in Berlin
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £127 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing