We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #12 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Monett, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I really enjoyed our night at this hotel. Nice bed and very nice bathrooms. The room had a great patio, but it was raining so we did not get to enjoy it. Very comfortable and a good location. Sony Experience is across the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,593
    466
    85
    33
    32
See reviews for
283
1,044
159
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Mandala is a superb hotel in central Berlin. Although a fairly large property, (158 rooms), due to the small size of the lobby, and second floor bar, and general sense of calm, it gives the impression of a smaller property.
First impressions are of a Nordic theme tempered with Asian influence. We had a room described as a management suite, at 538 sq. ft., and highly recommend it. The room is sheathed in light-colored wood, perhaps birch, and coolly elegant. There is a small sitting area with desk, p[aertially separated from the bed by a very clever divider, which includes the TV on a 360 degree swivel, so that it can be swung to be viewed from the seating area or from the bed.
A very comfortable bed, described as a king, although a North American would recognize it as a queen. A pair of double doors open to the bathroom, coolly elegant in white tile and green marble. A very good rain shower, with much better volume than normally associated with them, and, in the heating season, a heated towel rack.
The entrance hallway has a small kitchenette, with fridge, two burner hotplate, sink and dishes. It’s unobtrusive and out of the rest of the room as it’s in the corridor.
The room has three hanging closets, one of which is a walk-in. The walk-in is quite large, and has the advantage of serving as a luggage storage space, out of sight and out of mind. A surprising, and pleasant bonus.
Our room was on the north side, and very quiet. The hotel is a U-shape, with the bottom of the U facing the street. I expect that rooms on the inside of the U would be quieter, but I am advised that if selecting a room on the inside one need to be on the 6th floor or higher to avoid looking onto the dining room. I believe that the bulk of the smaller, garden rooms are on the inside.
A well –equipped gym, with brand new equipment and spotlessly clean.
On the second floor there is a small bar and casual restaurant called Qui. It has a limited menu, mostly elegant snacks, but very good and reasonably priced, for the most part.
The 5th floor restaurant, Facil is superb. A Michelin –starred restaurant ( we variously heard one and two stars ), the room is beautiful, quietly understated, and in fair weather completely open at the back to a bamboo garden with 5 tables outside under a canopy. A very creative, ambitious menu, all flawlessly presents. One of the best we have ever had, anywhere, anytime.
Facil offers a comprehensive breakfast buffet wonderfully presented ( you have to see it once ) but ambitiously priced at 28 Euros.
The staff are uniformly polite, friendly and helpful. English is a challenge for many, but they make up for it with an apparent genuine desire to help.
We did encounter a couple of curious service anomalies. Washcloths are a valuable, and scarce commodity, it seems. One day we got one, although there were clearly two of us in the room, one day we got 2, two days we got none, and one day I chased a housekeeper down for a couple. The reluctance to change bed linens is a little peculiar.
Our second day in Berlin co-incided with the arrival of the first hot weather of the season, and there was much talk about gradually turning on the AC. On a morning with a forecast of 84 F and full sun, when we left the hotel for the day, we advised the staff that the AC was not working in the room, and given the forecast would like to have it resolved, When we came back at the end of the day, nothing had been done. As I was explaining this at the front desk, one of the more experienced staff figured out what the issue was and offered to come up to the room with me. He came up, went into the walk-in closet, located the breaker panel and threw the switch to turn on the AC. Once on, it worked very well, and is one of the quietest AC systems I have ever encountered.
Here’s a tip for figuring out the control panels at the door and bedside. No instructions are provided, so we couldn’t figure out how to operate the do not disturb and please make up room signs. The trick is this, like most hotel rooms in Europe, you must put your key card in a slot at the door to turn on the lights. The Do Not Disturb sign ( which can also be switched on from the bedside panel) cones on when the key card is in the slot. Removing the key card automatically turns on the please make up the room light.
In terms of location, the hotel is central to just about anywhere you might want to go in central Berlin. It’s across the street from the Sony Centre, and about half a block from Potzdamer Platz. The central courtyard at the Sony has characteristics of both Times Square and Piccadilly Circus, and is not all that appealing. Two blocks to the south is a casino, with a predictable crowd lurking about out front. Directly behind the hotel is a pleasant, cobblestone street with a couple of outdoor cafes and the entrance to a shopping mall which includes a large, high quality supermarket, Rewe.
All-in, a wonderful hotel, and we’ll be back.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the management suite, a great room and actually pretty good value. Rooms on the nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love this hotel. Even the smallest rooms are generously sized and have a great layout - good working desk area, floor space for yoga, armchair for reading/tv and comfortable bed. The lovely big bathroom, walk in wardrobe/shelving area and tiny kitchen are tucked away off the entrance hall. Garden rooms have balconies and view down into the planted area and the glass roof of restaurant. Location is great as others have said - close enough to the Tiergarten for brisk stroll before breakfast. Make sure you have a good appetite for the terrrific buffet of every imaginable savoury and sweet thing plus eggs cooked to your liking. It isn't cheap but it is very good value.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the inner courtyard/garden are nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

At first glance the reseption might fool you. Small and not to exciting. But look further, look to the great bar, or the breakfast, the big rooms and to the restaurant. This is super!

We did not try the spa but I guess thats great too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel with my 80 years old parents for a sightseeing tour of Berlin. The hotel is in a great location, most of the main Berlin attractions are either in the walking distance or within 5 mins reach by a taxi. The hotel is modern, rather minimalistic and yet incredibly comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and well equipped. Superbly clean. Breakfast is lavish and a very kind young gentleman who was serving us breakfast on May 19th - 21st made the mornings for my parents really memorable. The best attribute of the hotel is Mr. Thomas Valentics who made an incredible effort to make some special arrangements for my parents and recommended a few great restaurants, Brecht being one of them. On the other hand, the two female receptionists/concierges (the function is combined) who attended us during our stay could well learn to be helpful and gracious when things don't go as planned on the part of the hotel. But this flaw, would not detract from my willingness to stay here again with confidence.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nice hotel, rich in services in the rooms, especially if you get a suite, and with a very good SPA on the roof. Excellent restaurant, both the one high level than the other. Great position, very very close to the Philarmonic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aboncian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Baie
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were intrigued by the name and thought that this was another one of the Shangri-La hotels and hence expected to see some of the more familiar concepts of Shangri-La hospitality. We walked into the lobby and lo and behold, this was not what we had thought it was, but definitely was something to explore and talk about.
The staff here are welcoming, and helpful and the rooms are well appointed. The breakfast was great and very filling.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satyajeet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,794 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#14 of 634 in Berlin
825 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,563 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 634 in Berlin
3,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Property: The Mandala Hotel
Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing