We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks are deceiving”
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #8 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have traveled to 30 countries and have worked in the upscale hotel market segment as well so am a bit biased when it comes to good customer service and such. However, I have stayed at several great hotels around the world and the Mandala is far from it. The expectations of a 4 or 5 star hotel are a lot more than what Mandala can even offer. If you are accustomed to staying at 4 diamond or 4 star hotels rated by AAA or Forbes (ex-Mobil) then this is below this level - well traveled folks will get this.

We checked in on Saturday June 7 at about 5:45PM and a bellman with messy black hair that seemed to be high was not welcoming and although he had a very good grasp of the English language (most Germans do), he did not talk to us about any of the hotel amenities. He just giggled and had a lost look the entire time. Did not show us anything in the room except where the key goes on the wall for the lighting.

We had an issue with the shower and the front desk told me to "pull the knob" to make it work, however when the housekeeper arrived with extra towels, he showed us that you actually had to push the knob to make the shower work. Not only did the front desk agent provide the wrong information, but did not offer any in room assistance in solving the issue. In addition, the shower pressure needs to be adjusted.

The AC does not cool very well in the room, any other night would have not been an issue, but our last night was warmer due to the heat wave.

We asked room service to deliver our breakfast at 630am as we had an early check out, however the morning of check out, I called room service at about 640am and they could not find the order. We had to skip breakfast and eat unsavory food at the airport. There is no point in taking an order and promising it will be at the room if indeed it is not saved in the operating system.

Other items of disappointment: bed is uncomfortable, pump soap not adequate (no real soap), towels are old, room is a bit worn.

I would not be complaining if this were a cheaper hotel, but for the price, there are better hotels. Luckily for the most part we stayed at the Adlon Kempinski which is a FAR superior hotel. I emailed the partner and front office manager and all they gave was an apology, but no offer to reduce the room rate for such all the inconveniences.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FoodFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Inhaber at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear FoodFrogg,

as you have correctly stated we have already answered your guest feedback personally via e-mail and we regret to hear that our response did not satisfy you.

Thank you very much for your open words and honest feedback regarding your recent stay at The Mandala Hotel.
First of all, I am very sorry to hear that your experiences at my hotel did not meet the expectations you had.

I instantaneously forwarded your comment about the inappropriate welcoming and lack of information to our Front Office Manager and his team.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience this caused to you and thank you once again for taking the time to personally inform me your impressions during your stay.

I would be delighted if you gave us a second chance during your next stay in Berlin.

Kindest regards from Berlin,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,267)
There are newer reviews for The Mandala Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 2,267 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed in the Mandala for 6 nights in June 2014. Overall the stay was excellent but there was one minor let down with the bill. I should point out at this point that the error was rectified swiftly and with little grief but I feel it was still a minor blemish on an overall excellent stay.

The Mandala is excellently located about 1minutes walk from Potsdamer Platz, just across from the Sony Center and within 10min walk from Brandenburg Gate. I found this to be superb for sightseeing!

My room was very spacious and very clean but luxurious interior and as a nice bonus had a balcony with views over central Berlin, including a view of the TV Tower.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmiller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on a trip to Berlin. Pleasant friendly staff on check in. Management suite was a really good size with a Kingsize bed and separate sitting area. We also had a small balcony over looking the garden.

The bathroom was large but was adjacent to the side of the bed......this could be slightly annoying if your a light sleeper and your partner gets up early or during the night as the doors have glass in. I think other rooms have different layouts.

Staff were continuously helpful, courteous and friendly.

The Hotel is in a great location opposite the Sony centre and close to the underground. It is also only a short walk to the Symphony hall and the Brandenburg gate.

Its also worth noting that in the road behind the hotel there is a variety of restaurants.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again in Berlin as it doesnt feel too much like a business hotel.

Room Tip: Inner courtyard rooms are quiet and look out over the garden and restaurant.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DynamicAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have recently stayed here for 5 nights while exploring Berlin. The hotel is lovely and near all the local amenities. Everything is within walking distance, and anything further away is easily accessible on the tube lines.

The hotel is clean, crisp and modern, and we could not find another hotel at the same level for the price.

The bed was lovely, the bath was huge and everything was well thought out. As described on the in hotel information in the lift, the breakfast is indeed "opulent".

I simply cannot fault the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

this is a quality hotel aimed at the business market in a great location close to Bandenburg gate. Hotel lobby very small and the bar is also small and lacking atmosphere. However the dining room is beautiful and breakfast is great . Staff friendly and efficient. We were in Berlin for the first time on a short 4 day holiday and so location superb. The immediate area around the hotel is geared to business with not many bars or cafes though the Sony centre across the way is excellent.
By the way Berlin is great - loads to do and very atmospheric - go there!

Room Tip: they all appear pretty good but get the concierge to show how things work it took me a couple of day...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, and had a wonderful time at the Mandala hotel. Superb large room, very convenient location and excellent staff. No swimming pool, but good gym. The spa area looked very nice, but we did not have time to try it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I wanted a great location for a Berlin City break with my partner that was hassle free and good value and I found it with the Mandala Hotel. I cannot give enough praise for the staff and their willingness to assist with our needs.

The bar was well run, the food we had excellent, the room (City view room) clean, well fitted out and when we needed more pillars they were delivered with no fuss.

And the icing on the cake, fast and free WiFi, a vital part of any travel needs today.

I was very happy with this hotel, can you tell :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a city studio room as they are great value and their is no noise from the roads.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard_Gough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,840 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#22 of 635 in Berlin
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
830 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 635 in Berlin
3,498 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 635 in Berlin
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £123 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing