We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #8 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights in a suite which was a great modern design and extremely comfortable.
Only downside was breakfast which had a great selection of food and drinks but fairly chaotic service.
Very central location with great access to different areas of Berlin.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Robert S,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at The Mandala Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our breakfast and the rooms, and we forwarded your comments to our Food and Beverages Manager.

Feedback like yours helps us to fulfil the wishes and needs of our guests and to improve our service quality constantly.

We would be delighted to welcoming you again during your next stay in Berlin.

With warm regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 2,495 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had Executive Superior Suite. Very nice. 11th floor, fantastic terrace. Big two rooms suite, flowers all around. Same floor as the SPA.

Breakfast location was amazing. A garden on the 5th floor, water fountains. Very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Corrado B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Corrado B,

Thank you very much for your excellent evaluation of your stay at The Mandala Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially liked our suites, the breakfast and the decoration. Guest feedback like yours is very important to us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Berlin.

With warm regards from Berlin,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Was in Berlin for 3 nights for work, which consisted of some VERY long days.
Not having been to Berlin since 1994, it is fair to say that it had changed a bit!

The staff, whether at the front desk or in the various hotel restaurants were all wonderful, polite and very helpful (as needed).

The rooms are various spacious with all the basic amenities and then some. I would have liked a bit more furnishings (seemed sparse), but perhaps that was just their aesthetic. I must point out that the desk in the room had several power points which I found VERY useful.

Room Tip: The Qui serves food until midnight which was hugely helpful on a business trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CASnowDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear CASnowDOG,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay at The Mandala Hotel.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and happily forwarded your comments to the respective employees.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Berlin.

With warm regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We wanted a hotel with a great location and a room that would allow us to stretch out and a suite at the Mandala Hotel fit the bill perfectly. The staff is both friendly and helpful, but the star of the show was the room itself. It had a nice, private balcony for enjoying an evening drink. It had a living room, space for work, more than enough closet space and even a walk-in closet to stow the luggage out of sight. There was a kitchen with plates, utensils and even some cookware if you felt so inclined.

The bathroom was large and in no way did we feel like we were being squeezed into a room that was more of a landing pad than anything else. If we take another trip to Berlin, then we will stay at the Mandala. It's become one of our favorite hotel experiences in Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tompayne888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear tompayne888,

Thank you very much for your friendly and honest words about your recent stay at The Mandala Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and and happily forwarded your comments to the respective employees.

We are looking forward to welcoming you during your next stay in Berlin.

With warm regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is one hotel where they have clearly fully considered what guests want and need. For example, when travelling a continuing anxiety is how and when to do laundry ( other than usually very expensive outsourcing ). Here no fewer than 3 floors provided access to excellent washer/dryer/ironing rooms.
The hotel rooms themselves are very roomy, modern and first class. The hotel service was well beyond any expectations and we must mention the abundance of beautiful fresh flowers throughout.
There is a well deserved two star Michelin restaurant and, as a gentle hint, the food in their " bar/bistro " is also terrific. Arguably the best hotel experience ever, and we are seasoned world travellers !

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the management suites are exceptional. Whilst centrally located, the hotel it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Anne M,

Thank you very much for taking the time and evaluating your stay at The Mandala Hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the FACIL Restaurant, the QIU Bar & Restaurant, and our laundry facilities.

We would be delighted to welcoming you again during your next stay in Berlin.

With warm regards,
Lutz Hesse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Rude staff to say the least. Avoid this place at any cost or discount. Food was good though. Location not bad, very central, but very commercial. There are much more better locations in Berlin in general and Mitte in specific. Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Tamer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Tamer R,

Thank you very much for your open words about your recent stay at The Mandala Hotel.
We regret that you experienced us as rude. However, we expect that our guests act accordingly to our standards and do not leave their rooms in a disastrous condition. The damaging and staining of our furniture at a certain degree is never included in the room price, as was requested by you.
At The Mandala Hotel we treat all our guests equally and with highest respect.

Yours sincerely,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just returned home from a 4 night stay in Berlin at the conveniently located Mandala on Potsdamer Strasse. Opted for the 50 square metre Management suite and found the facilities to be really good- large bathroom, desk/work area, seating area, small kitchen with cooker and fridge, a walk in dressing room and king bed. Like the overall style of bedroom and hotel in general.
Initially, had a problem with the WiFi, but had the modem swiftly replaced and all good. Staff were all helpful and friendly. Spent a lot of time on TA studying the reviews for Berlin hotels and felt confidant with my choice. May not have been the cheapest choice but certainly a very good one.

Room Tip: Had a room on the 7th floor on the side, which was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 635 in Berlin
3,223 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,973 reviews
Louisa's Place
#4 of 635 in Berlin
641 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#20 of 635 in Berlin
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £107 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing