We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would have been a perfect stay except for the breakfast hornets”
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #8 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I recently completed a four night stay at the Mandala in Potsdamer Platz and thought it would be smart to offer a few comments for fellow travelers to get the most out of their own visit.

First off, I was really impressed with the room layout. Everything feels really spacious, zen and relaxing, but I can also see how the space is very efficiently utilized. The rooms simply felt *bigger* than the rooms at other hotels where I’ve stayed at in Berlin. An entire wall of our room was actually a window offering lots of light — or, when we wanted to sleep — we could pull the black-out curtains to make the room very dark. The (“inside-facing”) rooms still face the outside weather, but don’t face the noisy street. And these come with a balcony sometimes with tables and chairs, although our room’s balcony was far too narrow for even a chair, i was still thankful I could fully open the sliding door and step out for a fresh breeze.

There was a small kitchen nook with a stove (no actual cooking utensils), a sink and there was plenty of space in the minibar fridge to store and keep things cool.

The bathroom had two sinks, a bathtub and a separate walk-in shower. I was happy to see shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in generously sized individual tubes (lots of European hotels have done away with these in favor of unremovable bulk dispensers). Three out of the four nights we had American-style washcloths (or hand towels?), which are a rarity in Europe. The fourth night housekeeping took them away and didn’t replace them. Aside from missing a washcloth on the last day, the hotel staff were pretty thoroughly pleasant to work with — I was able to get a couple additional pillows for my bed and engineering came by to fix a broken phone cord within a couple hours of me reporting it. Wi-Fi Internet is included (yay!) in the room rate.

Checkout is at 12 noon, which was really nice (usually checkouts are somewhat earlier in Germany).

As far as I can tell, breakfast is always included within the room rate and you’ll get charged the 30€ for it regardless of whether you go to the 5th floor Facil space or not. One end of the restaurant had a beautifully arranged spread of breads, sliced meats & cheeses, fruits and veggies, cereals and more juice types than I’ve ever seen in a fancy hotel (strawberry juice!). You can order hot dishes (omelets, eggs, pancakes, etc.) from the servers and they’ll be cooked to order, artfully arranged and brought out to you.

One major issue that we ran into — which isn’t necessarily the fault of the hotel but definitely should be something to consider — is that Facil’s space opens up into the center courtyard. This means beautiful views of bamboo and fresh air. But mild winters mean summers that are full of insects, and each of the breakfasts we woke up to had intimidating swarms of hornets, usually aiming for the honeypots or sugar bowls on each breakfast table. Most folks simply ignored the insects, but there were a few guests that leaped up or swatted around to shoo the bugs or a couple kids cowered behind chairs away from the bugs. This was a massive and unfortunate experience with our meals at Mandala.

The Qiu lounge space was a quite a bit less formal than Facil and also completely indoors, so no issues with the hornets. Lunch there for two ran about 70€.

Underground parking was a little bit tricky to figure out at first (in terms of finding where to drive in), but once underground, I parked near location 3E — the lowest level of the garage and therefore always parking available extremely close to the elevator doors. The price for in & out access to this garage runs 20€ per day.

Overall, I thought this was one of the most comfortable stays I’ve had at a Berlin hotel, aside from the hornets at breakfast. Four nights with parking ran 868€ or right around $1150 USD, which seems a bit pricier for a leisure stay in Berlin. Then again it’s certainly a better value than other high end hotels like the Ritz Carlton which is a couple hundred meters away. I hope to get a chance to stay at Mandala again.

Hopefully this information helps you out. And if you did find useful information in my review, please let me know by clicking the "Helpful" link down below. Have a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MichaelInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear MichaellnSF,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay at The Mandala Hotel so thoroughly.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the rooms, the breakfast and the service.

Regarding your comment about the hornets – we are aware of the problem and got professional help to put wasp traps in the trees of the garden. This was a sudden and particular problem this summer, as the winter and spring were exceptionally mild this year. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

Furthermore, we would like to inform you that breakfast is not always included in the room rate. If you book a rate including breakfast, the full amount will be charged regardless of you taking breakfast or not. On the other hand, if you book a rate without breakfast, you will only be charged for the breakfast if you take it.

Moreover, we offer a valet parking service to our guests upon arrival. You are welcome to stop your car in front of the hotel and we will be pleased to park the car in our parking garage free of charge for you.

Dear MichaellnSF, guest feedback like yours is very important to us and helps us to improve our service quality constantly. Thank you once again for your detailed evaluation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Berlin.

With warm regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 878 of 2,402 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Put simply, this hotel is perfect. Great value, world class service, attractive location. Personally, I don't like buffet style breakfast. Mandala was an exception.
I can't wait to visit the same hotel again. Great job!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nekiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Nekiv,

Thank you very much for the excellent evaluation of your stay at The Mandala Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Berlin.

With kind regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived from the airport by underground. The hotel was easy to find and in a good central location. We were warmly greeted in English and shown to our room where our bags had preceded us as if by magic. The room was fantastic and huge with every facility we could want. Although we did not eat at the hotel other guests assured us the good was excellent. This great hotel demands another visit and was perfect for our short (4) day break

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jafergusonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear jafergusonuk,

Thank you very much for taking the time and evaluating your stay at The Mandala Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the room, the location, and our services.

We would be delighted to welcoming you again during your next stay in Berlin.

With warm regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our family - two adults and two teenage boys - arrived to be greeted as we left the taxi by help with our luggage and at the check-in by refreshing warm towels and an upgrade for the adults to a 10th floor suite which was simply stunning. We speak no German, but we were checked in by staff whose English was superb and who were, throughout our stay, cheerful, helpful and unobtrusive.
The boys' room was spacious, elegantly furnished, clean and had a tablet device with details of the many services on offer, recommendations for local activities and restaurants and access to the internet. The boys couldn't believe it was really their room!
Our suite was simply amazing: hallway with storage, separate lounge with sofa and coffee table, table and chairs, desk, small kitchen and adjustable external shades on corner windows overlooking the Sony Centre and Potsdamer Platz; bedroom with wonderfully comfortable big bed and ample storage; bathroom with big bath and powerful shower and toilet - all kept meticulously clean and with bathrobes, slippers and plenty of towels and regularly-refreshed toiletries making the packing of such items completely redundant.
Though we did not eat in the restaurant or try the spa facilities, we did have a late-night drink at the cosy, stylish bar to end one of our wonderful days at the hotel.
Through Expedia, we got all of this for about £100 a night per room - we have never stayed in such a luxurious, wonderful hotel and would recommend it without reservation. When we go back to Berlin - and we will - we will certainly be booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank alasmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear alasmurray,

Thank you very much for your excellent evaluation of your stay at The Mandala Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and happily forwarded your comments to the respective employees. Guest feedback like yours is very important to us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Berlin.

With warm regards from Berlin,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel was wonderful. After a very long trip into Germany, the staff was very polite and accommodating. The rooms were lovely, quiet and clean. I highly recommend it if you are looking for a hotel in Berlin.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L4dy_Lilith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear L4dy_Lilith11,

Thank you very much for the excellent evaluation of your stay at The Mandala Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you again during your next trip to Berlin.

With warm regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We enjoyed our 3-night stay at the Mandala Hotel, which is located right across from the Sony Center. After multiple upgrades (one additional upgrade due to non-availability) we ended up in the Mandala Suite on the 10th floor, which included a wrap-around balcony, automated shades, a separate living room, and a office desk area. We also had negotiated a discount to the morning breakfast. Conveniently, the Fitness Center is on the 11th floor, accessible 24 hours a day. We dined at the 2-Michelin-starred restaurant Facil in the hotel. There is free WiFi and a laptop w/ a printer on the first floor for use. Another benefit as part of staying here is the free access to 3 laundry rooms with everything you need: washer, dryer, laundry soap, iron, and a TV! You can also purchase subway tickets from the front desk. The staff was generally helpful.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank alviemsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear alviemsw,

Thank you very much for taking stay the time to evaluate your at The Mandala Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the FACIL Restaurant, the suites, and our laundry facilities.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Berlin.

With kind regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. We had booked an executive suite for three nights at the end of our honeymoon. About 10 mins after checking in a member of staff knocked on our door to deliver us a free bottle of bubbly as a honeymoon present.

The room was massive with a division between the bed and seating area. The tv spun round so you could watch it in bed or on the settee. The balcony was a lovely touch.

The room was made up each day with fresh soft towels and new bottles of shampoo.

The location is pretty central with lots of restaurants surrounding it.

We booked this via expedia and got it for just over €100 a night. Such a great price for a five star hotel with five star rooms and five star service!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMandala, Geschäftsführer at The Mandala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Alice G,

Thank you very much for the excellent evaluation of your stay at The Mandala Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the executive suite, the service and the location.

We would be delighted to welcoming you again during your next stay in Berlin.

With warm regards,

Lutz Hesse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,939 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#18 of 634 in Berlin
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
554 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 634 in Berlin
1,574 reviews
Louisa's Place
#4 of 634 in Berlin
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £109 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing