We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very nice rooms”
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #10 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location and very nice rooms”
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Not obvious from the outside but the hotel is very nicely designed inside.

The service in this hotel was very good. We cannot comment on the food as we tended to eat out all the time.

It is well located with Postdamer Platz across the street, which is great for food or a sit down after a hard day's sightseeing.

All major attractions were within walking distance of this centrally located hotel.

The hotel is very nicely designed. Although the foyer is not as grand as other 5* hotels.

Our room, however was very nice (Garden Studio) with a walk in closet ,separate office area (not that we needed one), kitchenette, garden view and sliding doors through to the bathroom area. Lots of space.

Berlin is a stunning city with lots to see and do (other than the obvious attractions).

I would also recommend the Trabi Safari, which is located near the Balloon Garten. Great fun driving the old Trabent's around Berlin!!

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheraz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,486
    447
    78
    30
    30
See reviews for
255
981
150
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

This was my first trip to Berlin and I could not have stayed at a better hotel than the Mandala. The decor is trendy minimalist and done in neutral colors. The rooms are modern and really big (the wrap around desk with desktop sockets and walk-in closet were totally unexpected and wonderful). The staff has an amazing sense of customer service and made all sorts of reservations for us without batting an eye. The location is very central and right next to a major metro stop. I would highly recommend the Mandala to business travelers or couples (it might not be appropriate for kids given the serene nature of the hotel).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnThomason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Huge rooms - tons of space; friendly staff who are very eager to please; unbeatable location with access to everything interesting.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2009

The hotel was a rather good choice for first-timers in Berlin. Rooms are spacious, and clean. Quite near the metro, and the main shopping area with cinemas and restaurants, too. We haven't utilized anything other than the room itself, but am starting to think we should have given the spa a try.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevrasezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

The hotel is conveniently located to everything but the high street, but with so much to see in Berlin, we managed to walk nearly everywhere from Potsdamer Platz. The rooms are huge- suites actually, with an office that we nearly missed completely (and never used). The staff was kind and helpful and the breakfast (and the room in which it is served) was delightful. The spa is beautiful but I must say I had one of the most underwhelming massages of my life. Not bad per se, but certainly nothing special. I would not recommend having a massage at the Mandala. We liked the streamlined decoration found throughout the hotel and would definitely recommend it. I would have appreciated a better entertainment package though- some movies on demand or satellite channels would have been great in dealing with jet lag.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LorLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

The service in this hotel is definitely 5 star. On entrance to the hotel we were greeted with a refreshing cold towel, particularly welcomed since Berlin was experiencing a warm spell.

We were here to celebrate my birthday, and my husband tells me that they could not have been more accommodating with regards to arranging a surprise birthday cake at breakfast. The breakfast was excellent as well - with a wide ranging buffet.

If you want to experience a hotel where you won't be disappointed with any aspect - this is the one to choose.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2009

The hotel is very well located in the city - close to Potsdamer Platz with fast access to public transportation, cinemas, shopping mall etc.

The service in the hotel is excellent! And we were also excited about the breakfast buffet. I enjoyed the Fitness Centre and the spa area with the Sauna.

The only small negativ point - the bathroom did not really meet my expectation. When taking a shower the floor got wet

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaluPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Property: The Mandala Hotel
Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing