We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #9 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“very good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

we were upgraded from a studio to a management suite, which had a lot of space: huge bathroom, walk in dressing closet, a small kitchenette (you can order cooking appliances if you wish to cook your meal), a balcony... the deal was bed only and as the breakfast at the hotel is very expensive we did not had trouble to find a place just opposite at the Sony center (i would recommend ALEX which opens early and has a very good buffet breakfast for a very reasonable price). we did not use other hotel services so can't say anything on that but a general impression is that the stuff is very attentive. we had some extras charged to our room at check out (such as solarium, which we did not used) - we were politely asked if we used that and the charge was dropped when we said we did not.
the most important feature is the LOCATION - actually walking distance from major attractions and major transport intersection: S bahn, U bahn, bus lines - you name it - all just beside the hotel (200 bus line just in front) - very convenient to go anywhere. the city is large and transport is important. and last but not least: a lot of cafes, restaurants and shops just behind the hotel in a new and lively Potsdammer platz area.
first class hotel in a first class city

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ilyaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,404
    420
    75
    28
    30
See reviews for
233
933
141
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

just back from the mandala and had a great stay , the location was perfect just minutes from all the major attractions . when we arrived at the hotel at 10 30am we thought we would have to wait till the 2 30 pm checkin time but we were in our room by 10 45 am . the room was huge and had everything you would expect from a 5 star,flat screen tv , great sound system , kitchenette and massive bathroom . But the best thing about the mandala is the staff they were just brillant especially Daniel in the Qui bar . So if you are looking for a great hotel in berlin you wont get better than the Mandala

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

Service, Service, Service - attentive, friendly, courteous, prompt, better than efficient. We would rate the service better than 5 star. In traveling all over the world for almost 30 years, we've never experienced service of this quality. All the staff always greeted us personally, including knowing our names, and could not do enough to help us.

We had 2 corner suites - expansive area, large bathrooms, kitchen, living room, queen bed, great view of the Sony Center across the street. Very close to S-Bahn stop, restaurants, shops, cinemas. Wireless internet in the room kept dropping off and thus had to use the ethernet cable. Free internet would be desirable.

Definitely will stay here again. Our thanks to the staff of The Mandala for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gocomoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

I've stayed at some of the best hotels int he world, but the Mandala is about the best city hotel I've ever stayed in.

Right in Potsdammer Platz, within walking distance of the Brandenburg Gate, Unter den Linten, and Checkpoint Charlie.

The executive superior corner room we had was huge, luxurious and serene. Great media centre with surround sound, superbly comfy beds, a sofa to chill on, and a balcony with a view to the TV tower.

The bathroom was gigantic, with a bath to match, huge mirrors, and it's own small balcony. Loads of lovely toiletries, resupplied properly every day (I find even decent hotels tend to skimp on this).

The room has a small kitchenette, so you're not boiling the kettle next to your bed, and they will even stock it with any food etc. you want at cost prices. Little touches like having ice ready made, and a water carafe are great.

It has a small, understated lobby, but, as someone who dosn't spend their free time hanging out in hotel lobbies, it makes no difference, and I'm glad they've focussed on the rooms rather than unnecessary front-end frippery.

Breakfast was the best hotel breakfast we've ever had. Everything you could possibly want on the buffet (crayfish in sweet chilli oil anyone?) as well as all the usual stuff, and anything not on the buffet can be ordered. No menu. Just order whatever you want. The restaurant/breakfast room is a beautiful glass cube surrounded by tropical greenery, with small amphora shaped fountains. Room service was not cheap, but was really good restaurant quality.

The Staff deserve a special mention for being incredibly friendly and helpful. The night we left, my wife left her mobile in a nearby cafe, and the concierge agreed by phone to go and get it and mail it to us. This really shows why a good independent beats the chains!

Unbelievably excellent in every way, and unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guitarmoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

The Mandala apparently is a 5 star hotel - I'm not so sure how they hand out these ratings but I think whoever is responsible might want to tighten their standards. This may be the best 4 star hotel but let me tell you why it is lacking that little extra flair:
1. There is no lobby area. The entrance is so constricted that when 4 members of staff are there simultaneously, it feels positively crowded. Contrast this to the Ritz Carlton across the road - now there's a grand lobby area.
2. There is no business centre. The pokey corner they use to set up a laptop which can only be used standing up doesn't count.
3. There is no pool. In summer. Enough said.
4. Staff are efficient (4 star) but not extraordinary (5 star). Contrast this with the Adlon where extraordinary is made to seem normal.
5. On check in staff failed to ask for my choice of newspaper, failed to mention special features such as the bread roll service or ironing/laundry room. I callled to confirm my preferred paper. It failed to arrive 2 out of 3 mornings.
6. The rooms allow for a degree of self-catering and of course room service. Although they are big enough, there is nowhere to eat nor is the room service provided on trolleys which double up as tables, like any good 5 star establishment would do.
7. The hotel is 11 years old and the hallway carpets look and smell every bit as old. Memo to management - rip up that ugly carpet immediately.
8. The Grundig TV, a true boxy (30 cm) looks like it belongs in a museum. If you enjoy unwinding in fron tof a TV, you'll be sorely disappointed. A flat screen TV would do this place a world of good.
9. In the room, only 1 set of small white wine glasses are provided - for water, beer, wine - whatever you plan to drink. Contrast this to the Adlon where no fewer than 4 different types of top qulaity galsses are provided.
10. Need an extra bed? Don't bother - the main bed is great but the extra bd has a mattress so thin and uncomfortable as to be utterly useless.

On the positive side:
1. Excellent location with easy access to train stations and many attractions.
2. Very spacious rooms.
3. The aforementioned laudry room with steam iron.
4. Er..good location - oops, I'm repeating myself so that must be it.

Bottom line - unless you get a rate that is at least 30% lower than the Grand Hyatt, Adlon Kempinski or the Ritz Carlton, you are better off at any one of those fine establishments.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

The staff were excellent and the rooms were spacious and well appointed, There is a musical instrument museum nearby that is well worth a visit, and the Berlin Philharmonic concert was just across the road. Have a massage at their health centre as it was the best I've ever had and go for a foot massage walk around the roof area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARGIEHICKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Excellent Potsdamer Platz location between Sony Centre and Arkadie shopping mall.
Larger rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Beds and bedding very comfortable. Restaurant has a high reputation so is expensive, but bar food and room service reasonable and delicious. Rooms also equipped for self-catering. Great for business use (including conference facilities) but also friendly and helpful enough for leisure trips. Pleasant bar with chillout music.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Limehouse_Lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#14 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#3 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Property: The Mandala Hotel
Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and Agoda so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing