We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in central location - business or leisure”
Review of Swissotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Berlin
Ranked #38 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central location - business or leisure”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed for the second time, location is great on Kurfürstendamm (close to memorial church, shops, but also Berlin Messe), I like the modern and clean look of the lobby and rooms. Friendly service - doormen were amazing, greeted by name on exiting taxi (not that usual in Germany that anyone bothers to check a luggage tag and use a guest name), reception staff also naturally friendly and helpful. Swift check-in and given room straight away despite early arrival at around 8h30 which was great after a night flight and long delays at Tegel airport. Internet connection without problems. Only room service let them down, ordered breakfast on two days - hardly a good morning, one day no check, theother day wrong, but very well handled by desk agent at check-out. Would certainly book again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieLuLu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelBerlin, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Berlin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear AuntieLuLu11,
thank you very much for this great review. We have shared your very friendly comments with our teams. Sorry, that the room service was not as expected - we will definitely look into this in order to avoid such challenges in the future. Please come back soon - we are looking forward to your next stay.
Best wishes,
Yours Swissôtel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,848
    821
    176
    48
    20
See reviews for
317
1,158
242
705
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wemyss Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the Swissotel on the recommendation of a friend and were so pleased we did. A quick taxi ride from the airport and we were there.
Based on our friends advice we were aware the reception was on the first floor, although it is well signposted anyway. The reception staff were efficient and friendly and happily spoke to us in English ( despite my sad attempts at German ). We had booked a Junior Suite but were offered an upgrade to a higher floor for a small supplement. The room was spacious with a great view of the city. We had two toilets, bathroom, a sitting area, a work space and a massive comfy bed with beautifully fresh white linens. The pillows were spotlessly clean but very soft, so we took up the offer of a pillow menu and two orthopaedic type pillows were delivered to the room. They were also spotlessly clean and gave very good neck support.
The housekeeping and turn down service were first class. We had fresh clean linens and towels each day and the room was cleaned to perfection.
The room had a great hairdryer, iron and ironing board. It also had a free mini bar which was restocked on a daily basis. It has water, soft drinks, beer, chocolate and snacks. There is a modern coffee maker and kettle with lots of coffee types and teas. Excellent!
We ate breakfast outside the hotel so can't comment on this. There are many eateries nearby to cater for every taste for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
The hotel is well located for public transport and a taxi rank with plenty of taxis sits right outside.
The staff are pleasant, helpful and happy to speak in many languages.
The room was quiet and the windows overlooking the city have great soundproofing - although not quite good enough to completely keep out the sound of joyful German football supporters celebrating their World Cup victories! That was all part of a very enjoyable experience to a fantastic city.

Room Tip: High floors with city views have great views. If all you want is total peace and quiet, I'd go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandandChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelBerlin, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Berlin, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear SandandChas,
thank you so much for taking your time to describe your stay with us so kindly. We highly appreciate your words. We are very happy to share your comment with our team - especially the housekeeping team - and hope to welcome you back soon in Berlin.
Best wishes, Yours Swissôtel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I recently had a short stay at this excellent hotel - great staff and service and wonderfully efficient conference service with great facilities in terms of rooms and environment - Bright and vibrant - large bedrooms and nice location- Great facility

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ichdien000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelBerlin, Director of Sales at Swissotel Berlin, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Anthony100,
thank you so much for your kind review. It is great to hear that you did not only enjoyed the hotel but also the conference and meeting facilities and its team.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes,
Your Swissôtel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night in June 2014. My family and I were on our way to Prague and spent one night in Berlin. The hotel is located near the Zoo Berlin and all the public transportation (bus, subway, train) were only few minutes walk away. The hotel is new and modern. The two rooms we got were decent size given the European hotel standard. The reception desk and concierge were helpful when we needed them.

The negative service I experienced was with the doormen in front of the hotel. The reception/check-in is located on the second floor so you have to come through the door on the first floor and up the elevator in order to reach inside the hotel. We were family of 5 with quite a bit of luggage and only two young male members of the family to help. Unfortunately, though there were 2 doormen standing outside the door, neither of them lifted a finger to help let alone open the door for us. Their lack of service continued through our entire stay... the number of time we went in and out of the hotel as well as when we left with our luggage the following day. They seemed to be there only to smoke and ignore the clients.

Though hotel was clean, modern and in a great location, we will stay else next time we are in Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvsena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelBerlin, General Manager at Swissotel Berlin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear lvsena,
I am very sorry to hear that we did not fulfill your expectations during your stay with us. We have certainly discussed your experiences with our team to avoid such incident in the future. Nevertheless I hope you enjoyed the great city of Berlin as well as the pretty destination Prague.
With best regards,
Bettina Schuett, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Having stayed in various Swissotels many times before (including this one), I was still impressed by the efficiency and friendliness of staff, and overall quality of the room and facilities. Nice, modern furniture, big windows, Nespresso machine. You can open (slightly) the window and get some outside air.
The online check-in via email was a nice touch - you can specify the exact arrival time, and they even had the room ready and available shortly before 12:00! I fully expected to just drop off my luggage and come later to check in (as elsewhere) - but was pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Rooms with Kurfürstendamm view are nice, yet well insulated from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IliaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelBerlin, Director of Sales at Swissotel Berlin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear IliaUK,
thank you very much for your review. Great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us (and in other Swissôtels as well). We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes,
Your Swissôtel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Hotel is well located in old western Berlin downtown. Clean good service. Beds are way too hard. You can ask for a layer of soft bed but you have to read it in the room. If you have little time to pay attention to room amenities like me you will find yourself with your neck locked :). anyway it is a nice Hotel, not special views (I was on the inside part) but the advatnage is that it is quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afrikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelBerlin, Director of Sales at Swissotel Berlin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
sorry to hear that your stay was not 100% satisfying for you. Please let know when you will come back - we have different type of mattresses available and are happy to assure a softer matress for you. Also rooms with view towards Kurfuerstendamm are available.
Best wishes,
Yours Swissôtel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Qld
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed 4 nights in June 2014 in a "Swiss Advantage" room. Thought the bed was going to be uncomfortable as it appeared quite hard, but it turned out to be just the opposite - and there was a pillow menu. Our tariff included free mini bar - there was no wine or spirits - only a couple of beers (+ water, softdrinks, chips, chocolate and nuts!!). Room was possibly a bit austere, but very clean. Bathroom was lovely with a full size bath and separate shower. It also boasted a lighted magnifying mirror which, between us, we found excellent for putting on makeup and shaving. Quite a large hotel, but there were 3 lifts from reception so no (or at least, very little) waiting. Reception is on the first floor, which we found a little strange at first, but it could be for security reasons as they do seem quite security conscious. There is free wi-fi, but it can be a bit problematic. The staff were always happy to help, but it seemed to us that it would have been better for them to provide full written instructions in the first place.We had a look at the spread for breakfast, which was amazing, but we did not eat there as we thought it a bit expensive at 23 Euros each. We did, however, have dinner in the restaurant twice. The menu was not huge, but there was sufficient for us to have something different we fancied on each occasion. (Try the coffee and petit fours for dessert - Yum). Close to two department stores, tube, pubs, cafes and shops - but a lot of the shops are designer boutiques and very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoGerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelBerlin, Director of Sales at Swissotel Berlin, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear TwoGerns,
thank you very much for your kind review. We highly appreciate that you took your time to share your experiences with us.
Best wishes from Berlin,
Yours Swissôtel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#33 of 634 in Berlin
1,864 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#35 of 634 in Berlin
1,871 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,205 reviews
Charlottenburg
Steigenberger Hotel Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Berlin

Property: Swissotel Berlin
Address: Augsburger Str. 44 | Am Kurfürstendamm, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berlin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#15 Business Hotel in Berlin
#21 Family Hotel in Berlin
#29 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Berlin is located at legendary Kurfurstendamm in the heart of city center west! Upon entering the modern, light-flooded lobby you will immediately sense the tranquility. The contemporary design, as unobtrusive as the friendly service promises a pleasant and relaxing visit. Guests appreciate the convenience of free wireless LAN, DSL Internet connection, as well as the Nespresso coffee maker in all of the hotel's 316 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Swissotel Hotel Berlin
Berlin Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing