We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation and location”
other travellers have booked this property
livingroom downstairs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
livingroom downstairs
view to front windows couch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
livingroom downstairs
view to front windows
couch
livingroom
view to kitchen
next to large window
view to diner
dining
stairs to mezzanine
bed and chest mezzanine
view from mezzanine
bedroom 2
bathroom
shower
entrance into building
steps to apartment
front of the house
outside apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Berlin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
IDT911002
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and location”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I booked the apartment on the strength of the reviews and thankfully I can confirm that the apartment was everything we expected. The apartment is part of a block with an access door off the street and then your own access door into your apartment, so very safe. Once in the apartment it has everything you need for your stay, from the kettle to the dishwasher. Everywhere was spotless, towels fresh and clean, bedding fresh and ironed.

N.B. I have just read some of the ratings criteria - If you have a disability i.e. use a wheelchair, you would need to ascend 5 fairly steep stairs to get to the apartment door. Could be a slight factor for some?

The owner Simone was perfect. She is reliable and always gets back to you and will offer advice and I can't emphasis enough about how well located the apartment was to facilitate out visit to Berlin.

We arrived at Berlin via Schonefeld. Its only a short walk [500 metres or so] to the rail terminal; Flughafen Berlin-Schonefeld. We opted for the RE7 or RB14 trains which are the express trains and takes about 25-30 minutes to get to Ostbahnof. These trains run every 30 minutes, about 25 minutes past the hour and 5 minutes to the hour, but check the times. There are other trains, but that's down to you.

You need to get off at Ostbahnof. and pick up the subway train to Alexanderpatz; there was no direct route, but its only two stops to Alexanderplatz. The cost of a single ticket for the necessary travel in the ABC zones which you need was 3.70 Euro. Remember to validate your ticket at the machines on the platforms and you have about 2 hours to complete your travel unless you buy a Day Ticket. Take the time to explore the ticket options, we saved money by buying a Group Ticket for 4 rather than 4 Single Day tickets.

The apartment is situated 2 stops out of Alexanderplatz. If your travelling by underground take the U5 towards Honow. You get off at Strausberger Platz and walk no more than 500 metres along Lebuser Str onto Friedrichsberger Str. Don't be put off, it was nothing to travel the short distance [1.7km] and once here you get a sense of the real Berlin.

There are some local restaurants near-by, but my recommendation is the Vietnamese restaurant on Lebuser Str which also has a mini shop and bakery adjacent to it; the coconut macaroons are a must. Don't worry if you cant speak German, they have an English [Australian] menu for the restaurant.

Some recommendations. If you want to visit the Reichstag [inside] make sure you book well in advance, you won't get in just turning up on the day. If you want to go up the Dome you can get tickets on the day, but expect to wait up to an hour in the queue for a slot sometime that day or the next two days after.

If you want the Beer Festival experience, then you can't do much better than booking an evening table at Hofbrau Berlin which is about 700 metres from Alexanderplatz close to the junction of Karl-Marx-Allee and Karl Liebknecht StraBe. Its the atmosphere your after, not necessarily the food. Many Berliners wear national costume :)

Make sure you do Television Tower in Alexanderplatz; you can't miss it. it's the big tower thing with the golf ball at the top. The views on a clear day are great and put Berlin into perspective. There is a restaurant at the top, but I would suggest reading the reviews first.

Hope this info helps?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The helpfulness of Simone the owner.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchid251
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant location”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week and found the apartment to be very clean and in a great location for the metro. There was a huge local park which was nice to walk to in the evenings. The owner Simone was very helpful and sent us transport details and recommended local swimming lakes and lidos as there was a heat wave the week we stayed. It was a wonderful week in Berlin.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanePlum
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really comfortable, quiet and convenient place to stay.”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here for a week, and found the apartment to be very comfortable, very quiet, and well placed for public transport (U-bahn, tram and bus). There are a bakery, convenience store and noodle restaurant very close by on the same street, two supermarkets within a 10 minutes walk, and Friedrichshain park for evening strolls and the wonderful open air cinema. Prenzlauer Berg cafes and restaurants 20 minutes walk away. Simone couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianw33
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great apartment, very central and convenient”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This apartment is ideal for exploring Berlin, very central with easy access to the transport routes. The apartment is spacious, comfortable, and well equipped. The owners go out of their way to be helpful with information and there are local shops and restaurants nearby, though it's an easy journey to Alexanderplatz area if you want something upmarket.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: easy to get around from here
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186525Ela...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a great base for our family, 2 parents & 2 student daughters, to explore Berlin. We stayed for a week & the apartment had everything we needed.

Simone, the owner, was very helpful. She met us at the apartment & showed us how everything worked, gave us advice about local shops, places to eat, markets, etc. Everything about the apartment was as good as we had been expecting from the website.

You enter the building through a beautiful old foyer, with just half a dozen steps up the the apartment. It is perhaps a 5-7 minute walk from the Underground, on the famous Karl Marx Allee, to the apartment & from other direction, towards the park, it is an equal distance to trams, etc, so very accesible by public transport to get around Berlin.

After busy days exploring the city it was fun relaxing & having our own mini Berlin FilmFest when we got back to the apartment at night, watching the German DVD's filmed in the streets immediately around the apartment, such as 'Goodbye Lenin', 'Lives of Others', etc.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubetkin
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great apartment, lovely host”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This was my first visit to Berlin and my partner's third.
We both found the apartment to be warm, very clean, well appointed and stylish as well as being very comfortable - there was even a socket adapter which was great as we had forgotten to bring one!
Simone was extremely welcoming and accommodating (we arrived much later than anticipated), she had great tips for us and a very useful brochure for all the workings of the apartment as well as local amenities, etc. She is fluent in English which for us made communication as easy as it could have been.
Trams are less than 5 min away and the U-Bahn 5 min in the other direction - so travel into the city is easy however, Alexanderplatz is walkable - c. 30 min.
Really enjoyed our time here and would definitely stay here again on a future visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G
Garibaldi Highlands, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, compact and efficient; perfect for our family of four.”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This flat had everything we needed; sleeping space for 2 adults and 2 young adult children, kitchen area and seating area. We felt we were centrally located, only 2 stops from Alexandraplatz, and had a great bakery and Vietnamese restaurant nearby. We would absolutely recommend this flat; quiet, private and clean. Thanks to Simone for answering all our questions before we even got to Berlin. The personal greeting when we arrived was very much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: close to U-Bahn, stores and Alexandraplatz
Liked least: the people and kids from the flats above coming down the stairs in the morning. It started about 6:30 until just after 8am. Hard to get back to sleep.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing