We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in quiet area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Ranked #70 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed for 4 nights in a classic room which, although rather small, was nice and big enough for 1 or 2 guests (windows can be opened). I found the mattress too hard and had preferred a cover with feathers (pillow is there) but that is a matter of personal taste. Chic bathroom; unfortunately my wish to reuse the bath towels was not respected even once. The breakfast was on the expensive side for what was offered (EUR 19) but you get a better rate when booking it online together with the room. The staff in the restaurant could do with a bit more training; i got a coffee pot only after walking up to one of the waiters and it was taken again from the table while i went to get a piece of bread. All in all however, a nice hotel with a good price/value ratio and location (less than a 10 minute walk to Potsdamer Platz, less than 20 to Checkpoint Charlie/Friederichstrasse) in authentic Berlin surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapalux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrandBerlinPP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Miss mapalux,

First, I want to thank you for your review, which I read with great interest!

It was with great regret that I read about the issue with the towels and the situation in the restaurant. I will take your remarks to once again conduct trainings, so that we will avoid these kind of mistakes in the future.

My team and I hope to welcome you back as our guests soon.

Kind regards,

Holger König
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed three nights here as a base for Berlin site seeing. Rooms and decor to very high standard. The location is a bit tucked away, but you can walk to interesting places and taxis were always available. Staff were friendly. I can't give it 5 stars because neither of the two wifi networks fully worked on my PC or my iPhone which made organising the days difficult. However, the concierge was helpful and enabled me to book the Reichstag rooftop restaurant (highly recommended by the way) which requires some online form filling.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrandBerlinPP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Mr. SimonBJ,

I would like to thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.com and sharing your words of praise with us!

It was great to hear that you had a pleasant stay and felt comfortable in our premises.

I regret that the wifi networks did not function properly and I will forward this to our Engineering Department.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Holger König
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGrandBerlinPP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Wyndham Grand Berlin was a quick choice hotel for a city break and it met all our expectations. The staff spoke perfect English, were extremely helpful and courteous especially the reception staff and Christian Huber, the concierge. Although the hotel is not in the centre of Berlin it is still well placed for visiting any part of the city as it is only 5 minutes walk to the bus or U-bahn station making all of the city easily accessible by public transport. All the rooms are modern, well decorated and extremely clean and comfortable - ours had a large walk-in shower. Initially we were a little concerned by the vacant land at the side of the hotel - was it a building site - however it was not and we simply asked for a room overlooking the park area opposite the front of the hotel. The hotel is used by holiday companies but we never found it too crowded or noisy, in fact the opposite. If you enjoy a buffet breakfast then make sure you have it at this hotel as the selection is enormous and constantly being refreshed so nothing is left on display too long. All in all we could not fault this hotel as the staff were so pleasant and the rooms so comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul4719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrandBerlinPP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Mr. Paul860exeter,

I greatly appreciate your pleasant review on Tripadvisor.com!

I am glad that we met your expectations and hopefully you spent relaxing days in our House and in Berlin.

It will be my pleasure to forward your kind words to my team and we hope to welcome you back as our guests soon.

Kind regards,

Holger König
Geschäftsführender Hoteldirektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank LukeFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGrandBerlinPP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great Room, excellent breakfast, pleasant atmosphere in the bar, Very goog location ( 5 min walking form Potsdamer Platz ). I loved every moment in this hotel.
I only had one issue but mr Wollenheit solved it exceeding my expectations.
Thank you again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gas1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrandBerlinPP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Mr. Gas1276,

It has been a pleasure to read your great review!

Thank you very much for your compliments and for sharing them with us. I will be happy to forward your kind words to Mr. Wollenheit.

We would be pleased to welcome you back as our guests in the not so distant future.

Warm regards,

Holger König
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Location: not the best, but its ok, not close to the most of the sights by metro is ok

Hotel and interior: fantastic, I would even say 5 star hotel

Staff: only ok, were nice but did not give any info

Room: large, nice, lovely bathroom

Breakfast: amazing restaurant but breakfast is not more than in a normal 3-4 star hotel

Free wifi!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarbucksFreak25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrandBerlinPP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Mr. StarbucksFreak25,

Thank you very much for reviewing our House on Tripadvisor.com!

It was great to hear that you liked our House. Nonetheless, I regret that you did not feel well-advised by my colleagues, which I will bring forward.

I hope you had the chance to enjoy the sunny weather and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Holger König
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
#36 of 635 in Berlin
2,305 reviews
Kreuzberg
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
#112 of 635 in Berlin
678 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz

Address: Hallesche Str. 10, 10963 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Wyndham Grand Berlin Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £72 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza - Berlin Potsdamer Platz: Timeless Chic Behind Historical Walls The Crowne Plaza - Berlin Potsdamer Platz is a four star superior hotel, located centrally at the Potsdamer Platz. The hotel is ideal for business travelers, as well as for leisure travelers. Since it is ideally connected to the Berlin transport system, a comfortable arrival is guaranteed. Numerous restaurants, bars, shopping outlets, museums and sights are located around the hotel. The hotel's wellness area includes sauna, steam bath, rain shower, relaxation area and a gym. Besides, THE POST Restaurant with an open show-kitchen completes the hotel. The Crowne Plaza - Berlin Potsdamer Platz offers 256 classy and comfortable designed rooms, including 19 suites. Air conditioning, LED-TV, safe, minibar, coffee- and tea stations, as well as Wi-Fi are part of the standard. All rooms are decorated with natural and warm colors. Designer furniture made from high quality materials show simple understatement. Eight variable conference rooms on 500m² can hold up to 250 people. From classical conference rooms, to a lounge-like meeting area with a library and an innovative creative room: it contains moveable mirror walls, as well as wall surfaces made from cliff and cork to pin or write notes onto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing