We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, affordable, wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rotdorn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rotdorn
Ranked #3 of 186 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, affordable, wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family (myself, my wife, and 2 teenage girls) stayed here for 9 nights. The rooms were spotless and beautifully decorated. We stayed in one of their Apartments - 2 sleeping areas with an open connection between them, with a small kitchen and WC. The bathroom seemed to have been recently renovated. The whole hotel was beautiful - tastefully decorated and well kept. Breakfast was the same every day - but there was a fairly wide range of choices from cheeses to meats to eggs to cereal. The location was very convenient - across the street from the S-Bahn, which comes every 10 minutes to take you downtown. All in all, a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    77
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
66
102
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This booking was a gamble for us, wanting to get away from the "hotel" stereotype, and we were very pleasantly surprised. We booked rooms for ourselves (a couple in our early 60s), a single friend in his 80s, and another couple in their 80s. Rotdorn was extremely affordable, with breakfast included in the room rates. We stayed for a total of 6 nights, and had some German friends from Hamburg stay during the same time. They were as impressed as we were. The pension itself is extremely clean and modern while reflecting classical German styles.

The bathrooms were very up-to-date and the beds were excellent. We had "garden view" rooms, and they opened onto the backyard of the pension, which was great-- we at first were concerned about the road noise from the street, but this was not a problem at all.

The breakfast was very good (great coffee!), a nicely decorated breakfast room with plenty of windows and light. The staff here is very helpful, especially a young man whose name we did not get, but he answered many of our questions and was a great help.

The location across from an S-bahn station is excellent. It took us 10 minutes to get to central Berlin or locations near there, and there were connections to get anywhere you would want to go.

A 8 to 10 minute walk to Theodor-Heuss Platz gives a market, banks, and many restaurants.
There are also 2 restaurants across the street from the Rotdorn itself, by the S-Bahn station, but we did not get a chance to visit them.

The wifi in the room was included, and worked well. We paid 85 euro per night for a double, and for this we got the room, breakfast, flat screen tv, a refrigerator in the room, a cooktop, a sink, and the wifi.

We would come back to this pension in a heartbeat, and we intend to recommend it to any of our friends visiting Berlin.

Since no place is perfect, I will mention several minor points: the shower stalls, very modern and with plenty of hot water, are a little slippery. Several of our friends mentioned this, but it is not a big factor.

Secondly, be aware the pension does not accept credit cards, and wants 1/2 of the reservation cost before you arrive.

The other thing I want to mention is the street appearance of the Rotdorn. The hedged plots in front of the building are overgrown with weeds, and the pension itself could use some TLC with the overgrowing vines and weeds. This should not reflect on the quality of the pension itself, in our opinion.

Well done, Pension Rotdorn

Room Tip: Ask for a room Garden Side. Ask for a ground floor room if you have heavy luggage or are older -- n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveholleran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

my first time in this place - and I must say I loved it - friendly staff which help very quickly without any problems to change from doublebed to twin beds in a room - same price - wow - Breakfast was good and the whole place is nicely decorated. I will definately come back.
If you arrive with bus at ZOB the bus M49 will take you within 6 minutes for 1,40 € to the pension (S-Bahn Station Heerstraße).... very convienent for me.....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdieHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Like others have written, this family run hotel is in a great location next to S-Bahn and bus lines across the road that can bring you straight to the centre of Berlin in 20 mins. It is in the West of the city in Neu-Westend, between the green suburbs of Spandau and Charlottenburg, and not far from the lakes, Peacock Island (Pfaueninsel), Potsdam and Sanssouci Palace, all accessible by public transport from here as well. On top of that it is extremely close to the international convention and expo halls under the Funkturm (Messehallen) and they get a fair bit of their clientele from business customers and visitors all year round as there's an expo on most of the time.
The hotel is ok but could be better. Breakfast is a bit cheap and samey after a few days, not much else but the typical Berlin rolls (Schrippen) and boiled eggs on offer. I enjoyed fruit salad, unlimited juice and coffee, but no luck getting fried or scrambled eggs, omelettes or sausages, porridge or anything else hot for that matter. Do yourself a favour and have breakfast anywhere among the multitude of cafe's and bakery shops in the neighbourhood.
I stayed there in late summer 2012 in the log cabins outside and had a great time, they have TV as well and it was amazingly quiet on the grounds away from the main building. Had a great sleep, and in summer one can meet for card games and a drink with other hut dwellers at the chunky wooden tables.
I returned February 2013 and stayed in the hotel as they do not rent out the cabins in winter, and there was a lot of work going on with painting and redecorating, they also desinfected their water system during this time which meant no water from 10-4pm that day and worse, somebody knocking and telling us no less than 5 times that day to remind us and workers coming into the room. As it was February and snowing it was too cold to even go out.
Staff do not speak English very well, and most not at all, while the owners are German some of the workers are Turkish, Polish or other Eastern European.
It's nice though to find a bottle of sparkling water in your room every time you arrive to quench that thirst from carrying all those suitcases and making it through the airport gauntlets.

Room Tip: If it's summer you're going, stay in the cabins in the garden for that camping feel. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnaby67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed in this hotel to be near a friend. It was a lovely surprise. Quaintly Germain, decorous and sweet at the same time. Good breakfast, nice big double room, comfortable mattress, good flat screen TV, free wifi, quick heating system. What more could you want? I would highly recommend it if you are in that part of town. Convenient for transportation near Heerstrasse station and Westend metro station. Nice quiet and leafy area. I asked for a quiet room at the back. Reasonable price too, 78 euros; breakfast 6 euros.

Room Tip: room at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisPeaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had a very pleasant stay, enjoying the clean and beautifully furnished rooms. The location is quiet but still central enough with public transport near by. This is a family run business and they created a nice atmosphere which makes you feel welcome. Breakfast in the beautiful sunlit room with classical music was tasty and always a great start for the day. Staying at Pension Rotdorn made our Berlin visit a special one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We, a family with 2 small children (2 and 4 years old) have spent a lovely week in the hotel. The room was beautifully decorated but solid, robust furniture that easily survived boisterous toddlers! Nice as a parent to enjoy the romantic bedstand and artwork, but with practical baby and child beds. Breakfast was great, staff very friendly, and rooms quiet. There are even little cabins in the garden where you can stay!!!
Guest fridge, microwave and crockery was very welcome for heating up children´s bedtime milk and making emergency sandwiches when day got too long.
Busstops and S-Bahn just across the road, so well connected to Berlin (approx 20 mins) but also out to Wannsee ferries.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#6 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Ivbergs Hotel Berlin Messe
#168 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Louisa's Place
Louisa's Place
#5 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hommage a Magritte
Hommage a Magritte
#2 of 186 in Berlin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Charlottenburg
mittendrin
mittendrin
#1 of 186 in Berlin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rotdorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rotdorn

Property: Hotel Rotdorn
Address: Heerstr. 36, 14055 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have found us! The centrally located Hotel Pension with an appealing ambience. The Hotel Pension resides within a villa of the twenties, which was purchased by the family 50 years ago. With lots of devotion to the detail we try to revive the style of the former time. The vicinity to the *Grunewald* forest and the large Pension's garden make the guests nearly forget that the city's centre is only 12 minutes away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing