We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine location, claustrophobic hallway”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #427 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Lodz, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fine location, claustrophobic hallway”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The location is fine just by the river (I asked for the room with the river view, but probably not all the rooms have it). This had great esthetic advantage but was quite irritating by night - very noisy neighborhood due to many restaurants located by the river, so it was impossible to sleep with the window open. The room was decent - clean with nice bathroom. The long and a labirynth-like hall on the other hand was creepy and airless and as if it was taken form David Lynch film.. The hotel itself is in fact one floor in the apartment of flats. The breakfast was not included in the price but we bought it - the decision was not the best (small selection of food, no vegetable or fruit at all). Below at the river, there are many restaurant and cafes, where you can eat probably much better. Altogether, I do not recommend this place. For this price (119 EUR for the double room with breakfast price included), I think we should get something better in this wonderful city, really full of places to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dagmaramarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    49
    32
    19
    12
See reviews for
13
63
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The hotel located on a river bank across from one of Berlin's busiest shopping area. Within a few minutes walk, you can reach all the trendy restaurant along the river. By the way, there is a famous restaurant right in the hotel (although I found this place over rated.)

The hotel claims that they have everything to offer to any customer. You can find anything from a 3 stars hotel room to a 5 stars one. This is really a mix bag! I saw the 3 star room. They are small and the decoration is plain. I was upgraded to the large suite for business reason. The room is hugh and grand. It is well kept. But, I must say that it has seen better days.

The hotel is a famous wellness hotel. It is well known for its spa. It is worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Great location I covered most of the city on foot. I found the staff cheerful & friendly.My room was clean & tidy. For location alone it was fantastic value.Great restaurant next door serving great German food! Ive already booked again for this march!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Website says they have WiFi, in reality they don't. You might get two minutes of functioning internet out of their connection if you sit all day trying. Doesn't work in the room, does not work in the creepy hallway.
Decor in the lobby is golden and tacky, that's fine. Breakfast is not included, plenty of cafés nearby, that's fine too. We did not pay to have a view of the river but saw most of it from our window anyway, not bad.
Rooms are clean and spacious, most of them seem to have a nice view, including ours, nothing to complain about there. Place is reasonably sound proof and the area is lovely with plenty of restaurants... but who cares when you need the internet to work and it doesn't.

So in short, if you don't need WiFi then by all means book it and you'll probably have an ok stay. If you need internet to make your trip work then forget the Riverside hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingNormands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Trento, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel kind of last minute for a business trip. I made my reservation through Booking.com and the price (149 Euro for 1 night, breakfast included) was very good compared with other hotels In the same area. My room was pretty big, with a very confortable bed, a wide bathroom with two sinks a big shower, and - even though I booked very late - I had a wonderful view on the river. Wifi is free and good quality.

The personnel was very nice, and the receptionist took me personally to my room and gave me basic info about the hotel services on the way, something which does not occur very often nowadays ... The check-in / check-out process was very fast and smooth.

Last but not least, I had a great breakfast(it's not a buffet service, but the food and its presentation were extremely scenographic). I had no chances to try the spa and wellness center, but I hope I'll have another chance soon.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank pb_trento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I really enjoyed my staying at this hotel.
good position, very nice view out of the window, very good cleaning service, good price-quality rapport. you can definitely get a good sleep since the rooms are quite isolated between them.
I think they might improve the service if they were to include the breakfast in the cost and if they were to fix the internet connection that wasn't very stable.
I didn't like very much the furniture and the yellow walls but that's a personal taste.
I haven't tried the spa services but I saw several people who did.
I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italian-lilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

i stayed there 5 years ago at september 2007. i had a room that pointed the street but few more euro's a night you can get a room that points the river - it's worth it for the romantic atmosphere.
tha location is very good near Oranienburger street that becomes full of activity at the weekend.
the hotel offered us a pair of bicycles free of charge to wonder the city.
the train station is just across the bridge and it's a short ride to all the main places in berlin.
located at the mitte - it offers many activities around.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Assaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#482 of 634 in Berlin
28 reviews
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#246 of 634 in Berlin
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Albrechtshof
Hotel Albrechtshof
#179 of 634 in Berlin
219 reviews
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#167 of 634 in Berlin
735 reviews
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Berlin-Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Friedrichstr. 106, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Artist Riverside)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing