We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but noisy”
Review of Check In Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Check In Hostel
Ranked #145 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean but noisy”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We checked in a 8 person dorm facing the road, we had really poor sleeping quality due to every morning 5am+ there are kids running & screaming around at downstairs. (apparently there are a function room & we saw quite numbers of wedding couples during our stays)
It was summer & it was really warm when sun rise up.
Good things is staffs working there are helpful and friendly & kitchen is open for guests but limited cutleries & pots provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    126
    112
    45
    35
See reviews for
9
42
85
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have stayed in quite a few hostels and this place is among the better ones. Beds are comfortable, staff are friendly, location is very good and it's pretty much exactly what it says on the tin.
Great safe hostel with lockers provided so it has everything you need.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimfan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked a double room (not dorms) for a reasonable price. The hostel was located not far from check-point charlie situated near a row of shops including a nice cafe for breakfast/coffee. The reception area was helpful. Although this is definitely a place for young travellers. We were inter-railing and so were most other people. Quite a fun and busy hostel good for people travelling in groups.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I was away for a month with a few friends and this was by far the worst hostel we stayed in. They had a stigma with us as soon as we walked in because we were irish as apparently irish people had given them trouble before. Staff were very rude, ignorant and power crazed. Only member of staff that was helpful and smiled was the female member of staff. 2 members of our party were fined 50 euro each for smoking outside and when we checked out they were looking for more money of them.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darmstrong93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Osnabruck, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Well connected to public transport, short access to all important sights in the center of Berlin. Building/block is a little creepy, seems to have been an old industrial building, heavy metal doors etc. Cosy is not what I would call it.
Main door is always open during the day, at night you have to ring a bell and there is a camera checking you before the door opens. However, from the main door you can directly walk up to the rooms, as the reception is kind of hidden around the corner after the first fling of stairs. This didn't feel very secure.
We arrived on a Friday night around 11pm, being the only ones that wanted to check in at that time, but the only staff working at the reception seemed overwhelmed by the many requests he received during the 25 minutes it took him to check us in, charge my credit card (machine didn't work) and sell us a toothbrush. He seemed to be new (or not working in a position that fit his skills).
We had our own room ("double bed", actually two separate beds next to each other), with private bathroom/shower. carpet floor, several (big!) dead bugs on the carpet when we got in, so obviously they hadn't vacuumed the floor. The bathroom and towels looked fairly clean, the bed sheets didn't. We were to tired to complain. Having read comments about the showers not working properly, I was surprised to see how it worked ok (we had hot water after a few minutes's wait; water pressure could be improved).
There is a café/diner in the same block that has a special breakfast offer for hostel guests. Coffee and a mediocre sandwhich for 2,50 or 3, if I remember right. It works fine for breakfast, but if you walk a couple of blocks, you can find more charming cafés and food places. Behind the hostel you have a discount supermarket (LIDL) open till 9 pm.
We spent two nights (literally just the nights) at the hostel because that's really all it's there for: it gives you a place to sleep in a well-connected area. I would not return, unless I really had to go on a tight budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to a better room because they had a group that wanted to be together which we liked.

Staff were welcoming and we were able to shower etc as we arrived very early in the morning.

Best nights sleep - memory foam mattresses it seemed so we slept beautifully!

Wifi was great in all the rooms and there was a decent sized kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMJREURO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

we were with a group of 38 students in this hostel. the wifi, toilets and location were great. the showers werent in a very good state: wet and dirty floors, and not always warm water. the rooms are clean and the beds okay, but we didnt have good curtains in the room, so in the morning the temperature in the room was boiling hot. some people didnt even have any curtains. but the worst part was the staff. we werent allowed to drink strong booze in the hostel and play music after 22.00 o'clock. thats okay with us. but they crossed some borders in maintaining this rules. they listened with their ears to the door if there was any music, and if they heard smth, they got in without knocking. if they see you have (even unopened) booze you have to hand in the bottles. they dont believe you if you say you drink the booze only outside of the hostel. some of our group where almost kicked out when they were preparing to go outside to drink. conclusion: if you also want to have fun in the hostel itself, you are here in the wrong place. if not, this hostel is okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
GOLD INN Angleterre
GOLD INN Angleterre
#146 of 634 in Berlin
1,439 reviews
Kreuzberg
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
Three Little Pigs Hostel
Three Little Pigs Hostel
#20 of 349 in Berlin
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Happy Bed Hostel
Happy Bed Hostel
#58 of 349 in Berlin
179 reviews
Kreuzberg
Metropol Hostel Berlin
Metropol Hostel Berlin
#206 of 349 in Berlin
165 reviews
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#14 of 349 in Berlin
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Check In Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Check In Hostel

Property: Check In Hostel
Address: Markgrafenstr. 68, 10969 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Check In Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Check In Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing