We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, overall not bad”
Review of Check In Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Check In Hostel
Ranked #142 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
British
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, overall not bad”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here with a friend while spending 3 weeks interrailing around Europe in July 2013 and really liked this hostel.

We booked here because It was cheap and I was a little nervous because of that plus it doesn't help that i'm quite a clean freak, anywhere that's slightly dirty or grotty and I'm out. However, I was surprised.

Great location firstly, right near checkpoint Charlie although we found it a little hard to find as the building and signing was misleading and hidden but that could be down to us travelling all day from Amsterdam so our brains probably weren't functioning very well.

We were greeted by a really friendly brunette girl behind the reception desk who was the only member of staff I encountered while staying there. She was really helpful and gave us loads of information and hallelujah free WiFi that actually worked!!

The stairs and the building it's self was pretty depressing and not that appealing or nice to look at but not much of a big deal as the rooms were great. Really clean and big which was a relief as some of the hostels I stayed in elsewhere were so small for mixed dorms, I felt suffocated. The room also had lockers which is good to know when travelling alone/in small groups and staying with randomers and they were big enough to fit our big backpacks in! however, remember to bring your own padlock!!! There's also a Lidl supermarket right round the back which is good to know if you're travelling and on a budget such as me and my friend... this meant more money for beer :)

This hostel also had a great social side to it, I met lots of people here and it seemed to attract a young crowd with a sort of common room to meet new people, good if you're travelling alone and want to meet some friends. The showers were also acceptable, nothing special but clean and they all worked fine.

I can't stress how much I love Berlin, great city with great people and I'm planning to head back in the new year. If all goes to plan I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemonster92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    128
    113
    46
    35
See reviews for
9
42
87
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

super helpful staff, perfect location near checkpoint charlie, big and tidy rooms (even the 10 bed one we stayed in), clean and decent-sized bathrooms... really good service for the price! i'd avoid the diner next door (d!ner67), though; food there can be really blend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaraguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I was very nervous when chosing to stay at this hostel as it was so cheap, and the fact many of the reviews here weren't very good. However, having stayed at 2 other hostels in Berlin, I found this one was best value for money (thats a reflection on the others charging at least double and being of a similar standard). Also refelecting on the reviews, most of them are based on the pot luck of who you end up sharing with e.g my first night I slept well, my second night there was a snoorer in the room. The hostel was in a good location, the beds were clean and if you used the showers in the morning they were fine too. I came to Berlin to see Berlin and hence a clean warm place to sleep and shower is all I wanted from a hostel and this is what I got. The staff were fine, some obviously nicer than others, but that was true of the other 2 places I stayed too. I liked the fact that you didnt have to keep reconnecting to the wifi as I had to in the other hostels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhanisha222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This one had a very convenient location close to the interesting parts of town and highly agreeable staff that would help you willingly even if they are pulling long shift and their eyes are hardly open ;-)... I can recommend it, especially when you are on the budget :).

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I never bother to write good reviews or bad reviews but in this case i had to share my terrible experience, i failed to come to the hostel one night and was unable to get back before 12 (my check out time) i got back around 3-4 with a bill on my bed 21 euros, so i go to pay and i try to extend and move to a cheaper room. I get an angry german shouting at me calling me a joke because i didn't come back to the hostel all night or in the morning and that i missed my check out time. I explain that i was staying somewhere else and was unable to get back in time and would like to just pay. He kicks me out and i assume bans me saying "'your not welcome here" as i walk out. Overall terrible showers that don't really work, expensive prices for a soft bed a damp small kitchen and a barely passible lounge area. The staff just seemed dis-interested and bored, go anywhere but here.

Room Tip: Go anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our stay here was pleasant because we met a lot of people in the rooms who really enhanced our trip.
The facilities were fine and the staff were okay.
The location was fine as well.
I would recommend heading straight to the LIDL behind the hostel if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaffneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Paying 10 euros a night I was expecting the absolute worst and the showers were pretty awful however once I discovered the common room and kitchen facilities downstairs I realised this hostel was such good value for money, so cheap that it hardly mattered what else happened. I met some great people and the beers at the reception were so cheap that it was worth staying there all night hanging out in the hostel. Great location for sight seeing not so much for nightlife. Would gladly stay there again. One of the best hostels I have stayed at regardless of price.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
Three Little Pigs Hostel
Three Little Pigs Hostel
#19 of 349 in Berlin
674 reviews
Kreuzberg
Metropol Hostel Berlin
Metropol Hostel Berlin
#208 of 349 in Berlin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Happy Bed Hostel
Happy Bed Hostel
#60 of 349 in Berlin
182 reviews
Neukolln
2A Hostel
2A Hostel
#77 of 349 in Berlin
128 reviews
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#14 of 349 in Berlin
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Check In Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Check In Hostel

Property: Check In Hostel
Address: Markgrafenstr. 68, 10969 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Check In Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Check In Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing