We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lokal

Lokal
Ranked #128 of 8,231 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mitte
Paris, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Nice little spot for an unpretentious dinner. No reservations and still got a table for 5. It felt like really good home cooking and the vibe super chill.

Helpful?
Thank Cyclomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    138
    37
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Were we unlucky?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Saw good reviews so booked a day in advance. Arrived on time at 20.00.and were seated immediately. Ordered at 20.20 and starter arrived at 21.00. Main course arrived at 21.30
Food was OK but not exceptional. A steak ordered rare was sent back as it was served good/to well done. " pork dishes were served medium rare (pink) which we asked to be cooked a little more but we accept the latter may be personal choice. We did not feel like a dessert course
The waitress argued about the timings but the evening was somewhat retrieved when the head chef joined us to offer apologies and whilst not offered as an excusehe told us his sous chef had gone to get his cut hand sorted The cist of the steak was deducted from the bill

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank vicmadgesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thanks for a great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were in the area our first evening on Berlin and walked in off the street to the resto. They were booked up but managed to put us on a table and let us know the next party was arriving in just over an hour. We are so glad they could accomodate as the meal was great. I had the fish starter and pork main, my wife had the soup and fish main and we shared the apple cobbler dessert. They helped us the whole way through with the menu and at no point did we feel they were rushing us off the table. The food was very good. Such a good start to the trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We went with another couple to Lokal to have a nice meal during our trip to Berlin, and it did not disappoint. The service was excellent. We speak very little German but they were accommodating and helped us through the menu. They recommended amazing dishes that we wouldn't have tried otherwise that we loved. It wasn't cheap, but the prices were very fair considering the quality of the food. We've recommended the restaurant to friends since, and will continue to!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexisvluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This little restaurant certainly doesn't blow it's own trumpet, we only realised we'd stumbled across it when we saw the tiny label on the door!

We visited twice during our week long stay in Berlin, and despite not having booked, the staff were able to provide us with a table, but I wouldn't leave it to chance, it really is worth booking.

The food here is just simply fantastic and fantastically simple. Beautiful crisp vegetables, served imaginatively with succulent meats or fish.

Friendly staff who take time to explain the menu to you.

Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marshipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lokal also viewed

 

Been to Lokal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing