We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in a wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Ranked #24 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
cotswolds
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great hotel in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights this week and everything was quality. The staff could not be more helpful and went out of their way to give advise.
The hotel is right in the area of Berlin that makes it easy to walk to lots of the historical areas and there are a number of decent places to eat, again within walking distance.
Next time in Berlin I will definitely stay here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank woodyCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear woodyCotswolds,

Thank you for taking the time to share such gracious feedback on TripAdvisor. We are honored that we have become your hotel of choice in Berlin.

Hoping to see you back again soon.

The Berlin Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    569
    108
    27
    13
See reviews for
476
530
82
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Berlin Marriot is a high quality hotel. The rooms are very spacious. They lack any real view due to adjoining building of a similar height. However, there is good light and these buildings are not ugly. The rooms have an excellent bathroom, with a great shower and plenty of space. Bedding is nice and comfortable. There is good light blackout by the curtains.

The location is very good, with Brandenburg Gate, Unter Den Linden, Tiergarten and a handy train and underground station nearby. There are good eating options in the street below. We hired bikes from the hotel, they were excellent condition, high quality (Giant) urban hybrids.

There are some issues that really bring the hotel down though. The concierge was plain rude, abusing his colleague in German because I clearly only spoke English. However, the Frau speaks a few languages ... Stupid behaviour, stupid mistake. I must say I am sick of putting up with rude, surly behaviour in what is my home, even if only for a day.

Second, the hotel has a disco on the ground floor. It is hardly used by anyone most of the time. empty. But every night, regardless, all we heard was the “doof doof” of bass coming to us at about the loudness I would listen to music that was in the room. I cannot comprehend the logic of a hotel inflicting this on all guests. How much do they make from this disco that warrants such an impact? I am sure the people in the disco do not even want to listen to it so loud. Another case of a self serving DJ?

The cost of the breakfast is prohibitive, at 30 Euros per person. We did not go near it.

The fitness room is good, one multi machine, bar bells, bars, plenty of bikes and treadmills. However, the pool is small, cold and the behaviour of other guest’s children was totally out of control. It was a mess.

Overall, a great physical asset let down by the details in the running. I come regularly on business, I enjoy the stay and will come again. But if that noise is there next time, it will be the last.

Room Tip: As far away from the disco as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear BarneyO,

Thank you for staying with us; however, it’s disappointing to learn your time was not more relaxing and that we did not live up to your expectations.

We are extremely sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you, and we would like to have the opportunity to restore your faith in the Berlin Marriott Hotel. Please reach out to me personally, so we can discuss this matter further.

At.your.service@marriotthotels.com


The Berlin Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is perfectly placed for exploring central Berlin. It is a two minute walk to Potsdammer Platz and the Sony Centre and ten minutes from the Brandenburg Gate / Reichstag Building. The city tour busses stop at both places and you can buy tickets at either location, we paid €20 each for two days and used the busses to hop on and off at the 15ish different stops making exploring easy and fun. There are lots of different companies to choose from and they all seem to follow the same route.
Our room at the Marriott was on the tenth floor, we had paid extra for executive lounge access as we have done this at Hilton and Ritz Carlton hotels and it's always proved to be excellent value. The room was large with lots of long windows giving an airy light feel? Strangely our minibar was full of drinking glasses of differing shapes and sizes and plastic cups all containing water-nothing else for our entire stay, despite showing it to a staff member on our second night. However that was the only negative about the room, we slept well, had a huge comfortable bed and great bathroom.
We ate on our first day in the Midtown Grill as it was Sunday and 'all day American breakfast' was being served until 3pm free of charge to executive club members. The food in the grill was fab and the choice was vast, we even had a filet steak each cooked to order which were both enormous! The gnocchi was delicious too and to top it off unlimited Prossecco was also included!
For the rest of the week we could choose to eat breakfast in the club lounge or the grill and after trying the lounge, the grill became our preferred venue. The main reason I've marked the hotel a 4 not 5 is due to our disappointment with the Executive Club Lounge. Compared to Ritz Carlton it was nowhere near as good value. Firstly the choice of food was not very extensive and the 'hot food' was usually cold or Luke warm. Secondly the choice of alcoholic drinks available during the day was limited to just beer, I would have preferred a glass of wine at lunchtime (the hotel is so central it was cost effective to pop back for a snack and drink during the day-especially using the hop on & off) all in all I feel a solid 4 is fair, the staff are all friendly and helpful and the location is spot on. Although if I return to Berlin I will probably choose the Ritz Carlton, round the corner, above the Marriott for reasons already stated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Berlin Marriott is a fantastic property and truly one of the best properties I've stayed at in the Marriott family of hotels. Located in the Postdamer Platz area of Berlin, the hotel is within easy walking distance to most of the major sites in Berlin and has easy access to the subway. In fact, during the winter, there is often a winter village setup right around the corner!

Beyond the location, the service here is phenomenal. From the moment our taxi pulled up, all the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The property itself is also very well maintained. It was completely spotless and there people constantly cleaning. For our stay, my wife and I, as Marriott Rewards Platinum members were upgrade to a nice superior room and were granted lounge access.

The room itself was a nice size with very modern (but not pretentious) decor. The bathroom was simply amazing, though water does have a tendency to seep out the shower door if you aren't careful. The bed was also quite comfortable, which wasn't the case with the other 2 Marriott family properties we stayed at in Europe.

Our room also included nightly turndown service with chocolates! The cleaning staff were also very friendly, though they seemed to be the only staff that couldn't speak english. Not really an issue, though, as they seemed to at least understand what they needed to know.

The Concierge Lounge here (free for MR Gold & Plat) was also excellent. Very beautifully kept with ample seating and great selections of food and drink. The only downfall was that you couldn't take a bottle or two of water with you to your room. But free food and drink is hard to complain about, especially when it's of high quality as was the case here.

I'd wholeheartedly recommend this property to anyone visiting Berlin. The service, the rooms, everything is just perfect. A truly great stay in a wonderful city!

Room Tip: The Berlin Marriott is a fantastic property and truly one of the best properties I've stayed at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kharada46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great hotel value and would stay there again. It is new, clean and overall we had a great experience there. It is located one block from a subway station and you can walk to the Bradenburg Gate and Potsdamer Platz.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scharpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel as tourists. The location is in the business district of Potsdamer Platz. As such, there were few cafés and little shopping, but it was close to the most major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, the Reichstag, and the Holocaust Memorial.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The concierge (gold keys) served as our personal travel guide. The executive lounge was first-rate and we ate most of our dinners there.
The only negatives were that they could never fix our AC in three tries, and they continue to charge for in-room wi-fi. All in all a very satisfying experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffmd49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

So impressed by this Marriott. Truly a five star experience. The staff is friendly well trained and eager to serve. The most comfortable hotel I have stayed at in Europe. Slept like a baby.
Uwe ( I think is his name) the concierge is amidst the best... He earned those golden keys he wears... Great personality, knowledge of the city and keen interest in serving. I travel extensively for work and have stayed at top luxury hotels in New York, DC, LA this Marriott could well be a Ritz with their at your service style... Oh and did I mention you can just walk to the Bradenburg Gate and most Berlin sights from here. Love it!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miamimommytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear MiamiMommytraveller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you received phenomenal service from our team. I will be sure to share your comments with our team, especially with Uwe.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

The Berlin Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
2,979 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#12 of 634 in Berlin
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,564 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#65 of 634 in Berlin
4,516 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Marriott Hotel

Property: Berlin Marriott Hotel
Address: Inge-Beisheim-Platz 1, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Berlin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#21 Business Hotel in Berlin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#27 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Berlin Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the Potsdamer Platz in the heart of city centre, the Berlin Marriott Hotel is near renowned German sites like the Brandenburg Gate and Sony Center. Our sophisticated hotel boasts a sleek and contemporary design perfect for both the business and leisure traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Berlin Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Berlin
Berlin Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing