We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History, style, comfort, service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Ranked #32 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rome
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“History, style, comfort, service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

My favourite hotel in Berlin that I have been faithful to since my first visit sometime in 2005. On a couple of recent trips to Berlin I was booked into hotels other than the Movenpick that had more stars but definitely less soul and they just made me want to return to the Movenpick.

I originally chose Movenpick for history: located in a well preserved industrial building where modern amenities have been successfully integrated into an old brick factory, complete with pieces of machinery thrown about. Then I realised how laid back, discreet, comfortable and convenient it was and kept returning ever since. I love the design, the mix of old building with very modern yet not aggressive furniture and styling. It is in a great location: historical yet central, buiness yet both lively and quiet, with convenient connections and lots of history all around.

There are Berlin hotels with bigger rooms, better prices, more centrally located, with more staff... but Movenpick still comes out as a great place.

Room Tip: Comfort or Superior rooms best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HrundiVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    694
    110
    25
    8
See reviews for
262
836
105
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

The moevnpick Amsterdam is one of my favorite hotels to stay at, so when i went to berlin, it seemed the obvious choice.

While berlin is not exactly a walking city, the movenpick is in an excellent location walking distance from a lot of great places. I walked to checkpoint charlie, The topography of terror museum (ss headquarters), museum island and many others.

The moevenpick is modern, clean and comfortable and has all the amenities. They have a GREAT breakfast, that while quite expensive, is almost worth the price. Quality-wise and choice-wise it is a good value.

Desk staff was friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

the ONLY thing i can nitpick about is the shower was missing a tiny little tile on the floor, and there was a little dirt in the corner of the shower.

bedding/beds/everything else was as spotless and fresh as i am accustomed to at moevenpick.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannysixpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

This hotel is not in the very center of the city but within easy reach to everywhere. Everything is reasonable there - rooms are quite spacious, breakfasts are very good, the staff is helpfull. The reception area is big but a littie bit gloomy. If you travel on business, it's a good choice. If it is for pleasure, something more cheeful could be better.

Room Tip: Left-hand wing is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swallow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed 3 nights while in Berlin on a city break. Thought the hotel was excellent value - we had two rooms between three of us and both were really spacious, especially the bathrooms. Nice modern design - liked the funky colour lights with the room numbers on them. Breakfast wasn't included so we only had breakfast in the hotel one morning but a good selection and chef doing pancakes etc. Didn't use any other facilities. Staff were friendly. Hotel is only a short walk from the Brandenburg gate and there's an S-Bahn station just on the corner. There's also an Aldi opposite if you don't want to pay mini-bar prices for Pringles!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

I only stayed one evening at the Movenpick and have some pro's and con's

+
The rooms are quite nicely set up and didn't feel sterile like many large hotels
The building is old and charming
Helpful staff
The bar looked good, only stuck my head in though

-
No WIFI - expect this as a basic service in such hotels
English TV channels were only news channels. Would like movies/drama TV like BBC 1 (or WIFI!)
I could not get miles & more points due to the "rate" I was on which was probably a company rate. Normally I still can get hotel points in this case at other chains.
No tea/coffee facilities and no bottle of water that is common these days
There were not many or very good toilietries available. WIth the liquid restriction on flights I use the shampoo, soap, etc provided at the hotel and this hotel had a one bottle in the shower which was for everything and I don't think these are good. I prefer separate products for hair & body - allin1 is "cheap". No hair conditioner or cotton wool etc. Just the allin1 & cheap body lotion.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangefni, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Clean and spacious hotel. Rooms light and airy. En suite shower fantastic.
On site gym and sauna but of limited use.
Bar has a large selection of cocktails and beers.
Breakfast a good varied choice.
Only negative was the WiFi price, considering the price of the room would of expected a free limited option.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Some friends gave me the advice for that hotel... Im not angry with them now, but still i expected a little bit more according to there referrals. Nothing to bad but if youre looking for a really comfortable stay in Berlin you should choose something else...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janez K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Berlin

Property: Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Address: Schoeneberger Strasse 3 | beim Potsdamer Platz, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#33 Business Hotel in Berlin
#35 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The surprisingly different Movenpick Hotel Berlin is as individualand as multi-facetted as the city of Berlin. Centrally but peacefullylocated at Potsdamer Platz, the 4 Star Superior hotel combines innovative interior architecture with modern furnishings. The exceptional design of the former Siemenshofe lends a special charm tothe location's atmosphere. The majority of the 243 guest rooms andthe 12 event rooms face towards the quiet courtyards. The ambienceof the restaurant Hof zwei and the adjacent Lobby Bar has been carefully created as has choice of foods and beverages. Attentive, personal service and authentic friendliness comprise perfect hospitality in historic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing