We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel, but not my cup of tea 3.5 stars” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Ranked #30 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel, but not my cup of tea 3.5 stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Spent 6 nights at the Movenpick for a social event only booked it because it was very near to the location of the event. Luckily booked an additional 3 nights at the chic Boutique Hotel i31 to explore Berlin. Booked a Confort room, very spacious, and funtional design. Lobby was a bit small for a capacity of over 200 rooms. But large dining area.were very helpful, polite and warm (unlike Hamburg) Didn't like the fact they charged additional fee to use wireless in the room. (But luckily used a trick from another guest and got around that issue)

Gym was good and dinner was very good too.

Prefer smaller or Boutique hotels. But the staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for none smoking if thats what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onmyway T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. Hopefully you had a pleasant and safe trip to your next destination. Also we would like to say thank you for taking the time and letting us know your opinion.

We highly appreciate your comments because that gives us the motivation to maintain our high standards of hospitality.
Regarding to your comment concerning free internet in the rooms, I am pleased to inform you that in addition to the existing free terminals in the business center at the reception we offer free Wi-Fi in the public areas of the reception / lobby area and bar since May 2013. There is also the possibility to print documents on a printer in the business center from the room. Please ask at your next visit to the so-called “PrinterOn” service which we will gladly explain to you. As the costs of the wireless network, the bandwidth of the data lines and the data protection compliance in the guest rooms are very high, we will – as well as most of our competitors – do not offer this service without any charge.

I am glad to hear your friendly feedback of our staff as well as on our quality of service. Of course I will pass on your praise of the good care and kindness to all the employees, because they are the heart of our company.

The Mövenpick Team Berlin would be delighted to welcome you in our hotel back soon.

Sincerely,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    698
    111
    25
    9
See reviews for
262
842
107
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Surprisingly lovely hotel, once inside (the exterior look did not inspire confidence). The rooms were very well appointed, with a safe, and windows that open. Plenty of closet and storage area was available. There were two beds in my room (Superior) a double and a single.
The breakfast area is quite large and well serviced. The food selection was very good, with an omelet station.
The location is very convenient with a S-Bahn station (Anhalterhoff S1, S2, S25) literally across the street.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: get a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this brilliant hotel, on an escorted holiday with Riviera Travel. Well located, it is c700m from Potsdamer Platz, a stones throw from the Topographie des Terrors, and near to the Brandenburg Gate and the Holocaust Memorial. The building was previously a Siemens factory so high ceilings are the order of the day, giving a spacious and light airy feel to the place. Our bedroom overlooked a garden area at the back of the hotel, so was quiet. High ceiling and plenty of space with two separate French doors. Safe [free] in the wardrobe. Bathroom had underfloor heating, which was pleasant, and we had a walk-in shower and a bath [some in our party had only a shower, but asked to move, and were accommodated]. We stayed on B&B basis, so can't speak for the dinners, although some of our group dined in at night and thought it a little expensive. Breakfast, however, was excellent, with a very wide choice of Cereals, fresh fruits, fruit juice, cooked breakfast, cold meats and cheeses, variety of breads, and cakes. Coffee is served at the table or you can make yourself a pot of tea. Allow enough time in the morning to properly enjoy the breakfast! Staff in the dining room, bar and reception are very friendly and helpful. All in all, an excellent hotel that I would recommend to anybody visiting Berlin.

Room Tip: If a bath and shower is important to you, then ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit at the Mövenpick Hotel Berlin. We highly appreciate that you took precious time to let us know that you were satisfied with our overall service performance. Your appreciation has been passed on to our employees and we can assure you that your comments will definitely be an inspiration to our team to continue their efforts.

Best regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a Riviera Travel package. Our expectations were set as 'neutral' but we soon warmed to this hotel. Before arrival I noticed that the standard rooms did not include tea and coffee making facilities, so I sent an email and was assured that all would be in or room on arrival - and sure enough it was. Well done to Jonas - your helpfulness was much appreciated.

Sure enough the standard rooms are not enormous but frankly for a city hotel,I'm not sure what people expect. The bathroom it excellent - spacious and plenty of shelf space with a very good shower. There is a safe and a small cupboard area for hanging shirts and blouses - but nothing too long. There is ample space under the comfortable bed for storing your suitcase. Our room was at the front of the hotel and the sound insulation was excellent - no noise heard at all despite it being on a bus route.

The location was excellent. A 10 minute walk to Potsdam Plaza, 10 to Checkpoint Charlie, 15 to the Jewish Memorial, 20 to the Brandenburg Gate, 25 minutes to the Reichstag and 25 minutes to Gendarmenmarkt. The buses, U bahn and S bahn are also all nearby.

Our package included breakfast which was an outstanding affair. All manner of hot and cold buffet items and an egg station for cooked to order. The one thing they really do need to improve on is attentiveness to customers who have just arrived and to make sure their hot drink order is taken AND delivered. On 3 mornings we had to make a real effort to have our orders taken and on two mornings the tea never did arrive. I almost docked a star for this service oversight, but all other aspects of our stay were excellent and therefore on balance the 5 stars just about remain!

I also almost docked a star for their mean attitude to wi-fi. Its free in the lobby but you pay in your room. Happily I was able to connect in the lobby and keep the connection open until I was in my room and thus enjoyed free wi-fi. If wi-fi is important to you ask for a room at the front of the hotel and on the first floor!

All in all an excellent stay and we were pleased to have stayed at this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room at the front of the hotel if you want free wi-fi via the lobby connection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RomanRemains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. Hopefully you had a pleasant and safe trip to your next destination. Also we would like to say thank you for taking the time and letting us know your opinion.

We highly appreciate your comments because that gives us the motivation to maintain our high standards of hospitality.

We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
Thank you as well for your honest feedback concerning our restauranr staff. Please be assured that we will pass your comments to our restaurant manager to be sure that this point is heard and acted upon.

The Mövenpick Team Berlin would be delighted to welcome you in our hotel back soon.

Sincerely,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville
Level Contributor
303 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

What a far out hotel! Immaculate, bright, unique and with a great staff. The location next to the SBahn station is so convenient and only a short ride from the central train station. You are a short walk or subway ride fro Potzdammer Platz and many good restaurants. The rooms have 12 foot ceilings which make them seem larger than they are. The bathrooms are ultra modern and the rooms well equipped. We loved this hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Latta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. Hopefully you had a pleasant and safe trip to your next destination. Also we would like to say thank you for taking the time and letting us know your opinion.

We highly appreciate your comments because that gives us the motivation to maintain our high standards of hospitality.

I am glad to hear your friendly feedback of our staff as well as on our quality of service. Of course I will pass on your praise of the good care and kindness to all the employees, because they are the heart of our company.

The Mövenpick Team Berlin would be delighted to welcome you in our hotel back soon.

Sincerely,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is well-placed in the Potsdamer Platz area of the city. It is attractive from the outside and the reception area is smart, although some building work was being carried out at the time of our stay. Reception staff were welcoming, polite and English-speaking. Our room was well-appointed and comfortable, with the best bathroom I've seen in terms of design and equipment.
We did not eat in the restaurant as breakfast is a grand affair and we prefer something smaller whilst out sightseeing. The concierge was helpful and informative about directions and transport in the city. Room rates were excellent for peak season. The hotel was perfect for our short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hello from Berlin,

Thanks a lot for your positive review about your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to read that you were totally satisfied with all of our hotel facilities and with our personal service. Thank you as well for your compliment concerning our nice bathrooms.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Generally a very enjoyable stay, as part of an overall Riviera 3-day tour package.
Room was comfortable and well maintained. We were put in a smoking room, but it wasn't smelly so we didn't complain (that could have been Riviera's mistake anyway). They were a little remiss in not replacing used coffee and milks in the room on a daily basis, but that's about the only very minor issue we had.
Breakfast was included in our package and was excellent, with plenty of choice, good quality and friendly staff. Buffet self-serve style, so you could have a really good fill-up for the day ahead! (Breakfast was included in our Riviera package, so can't comment on the cost of it)
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and we hired bikes from the hotel, which is a highly recommended way of seeing the city, which is very flat and well served with cycle lanes. €8 for 4 hours which suited us.

Room Tip: Ask for one with an inside view if you want quiet. That's what we had with no problem, but some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your great feedback about our Mövenpick Hotel Berlin.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, especially our famous Mövenpick breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again and wish you a great time.

Kind regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Kreuzberg
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Berlin

Property: Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Address: Schoeneberger Strasse 3 | beim Potsdamer Platz, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#33 Business Hotel in Berlin
#35 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The surprisingly different Movenpick Hotel Berlin is as individualand as multi-facetted as the city of Berlin. Centrally but peacefullylocated at Potsdamer Platz, the 4 Star Superior hotel combines innovative interior architecture with modern furnishings. The exceptional design of the former Siemenshofe lends a special charm tothe location's atmosphere. The majority of the 243 guest rooms andthe 12 event rooms face towards the quiet courtyards. The ambienceof the restaurant Hof zwei and the adjacent Lobby Bar has been carefully created as has choice of foods and beverages. Attentive, personal service and authentic friendliness comprise perfect hospitality in historic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing