We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Ranked #35 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here midweek, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The hotel is smart, well looked after and spacious. Our room was spotless, the bed comfy and facing the courtyard was completely silent. We used the hotel as a base for exploring the city. The reception staff gave useful information to help us. The hotel is next to a station so it is easy to get about. On foot both potsdamer platz and checkpoint charlie are within 10 mins walk.

The stand out thing about the hotel is that it has character - its previous use and history is represented by items on display.

All in all a good place to stay in Berlin, I would use it again next time I am in the city.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room and had absolutely no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We really appreciate your comments and will forward your review to our staff as well. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced our friendly staff and great service throughout your stay.

We hope you had a pleasant trip back home and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards from Berlin,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had 4 days at this hotel in May. The hotel is the normal city-type hotel, spotlessly clean and service very helpful. For most people location is very important and for us the situation of this hotel is perfect. It is about 10 minutes walk from Potsdamer Platz where you can find one street just full of restaurants and bars and large shopping malls. It is also about a block away from the Museum of Terror (Gestapo Museum) plus a large art gallery. There is a Mexican restaurant next door and an Italian restaurant on the corner. We did try the mexican for lunch and it was very good. There is a Lidl supermarket a few minutes away.

The rooms are large, with plenty of wardrobe and hanging space. There is a mini bar (pricey) but no tea making facilities. The beds are very comfy with soft pillows. The bathroom is spacious with a large shower and a few toiletries. The wall separating the bathroom from the bedroom is glass so if you want privacy you have to lower the blind. Although the hotel is adjacent to a busy road we didn't find any road noise.

The train station is about a minute away on the corner.

There is quite a full breakfast, with all the usual rolls, fruit, cereals, yogurt and pastries. They
have a chef on hand cooking the eggs, omlettes and pancakes. All the restaurant staff speak perfect english. There was always free tables when we arrived for breakfast about 8.30.

The reception staff were very efficient, spoke good English and could answer any questions that we had.

We had priced this break as independent travellers but as last year we went to Bruges with Riviera Travel we decided to get a price from them and it worked out so much cheaper. You have all your transfers from the airport included, plus a city tour (with guide) plus a trip to San Sourcci Palace for which you have to pay 10 euros entrance fee. Our price also included breakfast and when you think that the breakfast is 22 euros per person, the trip was a bargain.

There was one negative and that was that our air conditioning didn't go below 19 degrees and we found the hotel so hot - and I am definitely a chilly morsel.

A FEW TIPS:

Berlin has bike routes on the pavements and the cyclists take no prisoners - even if you have just a small part of your body near the markings they will just whizz past you and knock you over - they also think that they can go from pavement to road whenever they like and they always seem to have the right of way.

We found the food in Berlin so good, and although cities are usually expensive here it certainly was value for money. We went to Oscars, and the House of the Hundred Beers and a Steakhouse (which was a chain but I can't remember the name) in the street by Potsdamer Platz - they were all first class - don't be put off by the name House of the Hundred Beers, the food was so good and the waiters were so chatty and spoke excellent English. They had a menu which included some German specialities, which we found excellent and the apple strufdel was to die for wherever we had it.

We also found that the German bakeries and kebab restaurants were so good.

We are in our 60s but we found the City walkable, The walk from Museum Island down Frederickstrafe is a long one but we went from there to the Jewish Museum and because Frederickstrafe has so many cafes and shops, the walk was very interesting.

One thing we were disappointed with was there are quite a lot of little squares with grass and park benches but we found most of them overgrown and in need of a little tlc but we were told that Berlin City Council had run out of money!!!!.

All in all we enjoyed our trip. It is not an inspiring place as is Rome but it did have a number of pluses.

If you have a query give me an e-mail. I hope this is helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank essexworldtraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed review.
We are glad that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
We highly appreciate your comments because they give us the motivation to maintain our high standards of hospitality.

The Mövenpick Team would be delighted to welcome you back soon in Berlin.

Best wishes,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Very clean lovely design big room and welcoming personnel
Located in the middle of Berlin close to everywhere
I was there on business and pleasure trip, and it suits both type of needs.
Sauna was great also i will defiantly return to the hotel next time

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Yaniv I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review, which I have shared with our staff. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Moevenpick for a weekend in May, and were so pleased that we picked this hotel. I often find it's a bit hit and miss if you don't recognise the chain, but this hotel turned out to be an excellent decision.
We booked via BA, so the price was very good. I'm not sure this hotel would have been such a good choice at their full room rate.
From the hotel we were able to walk to absolutely everything we wanted to see (but do bring your comfy shoes if you want to go right over to Museum Island). The Brandenburg Gate and Checkpoint Charlie areas are very nearby, and you'll pass some nice cafes on the way.
The room was extremely big (I couldn't quite understand why the bathroom needed to be so big - it was massive!), and this seems to be because the hotel is a converted factory, rather than purpose built. Anyway, it's nice to have some space.
There is very little furniture - our double room had one (hard) tub chair, a coffee table, and a desk and dining chair. It was a real shame that there was no small sofa/armchairs, or some sort of comfortable seating for two guests. You end up sitting on the bed whenever you are in the room, which isn't really something I like doing.
There are no tea or coffee making facitilies in the room, but I'm led to believe that reception will organise this if you ask.
There was also no socket for a shaver/electric toothbrush, so do make sure it's fully charged before you leave home.
I love the European flat square feather pillows, but my husband does not. In another review someone recommended popping your own pillow in your case if you are fussy - my husband definitely agrees with this advice. The beds are firm, and low, but we liked this.
We asked the staff for recommendations for restaurants etc on several occasions, and found them all to be very friendly and knowledgeable on the local area.
Overall, I'd liken the comfort factor of the hotel to a newly renovated Premier Inn (in the UK) - it has a very similar feel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleMissExplorer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed review.

We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
We would like to thank you for your honest feedback regarding the room equipment.
Due to extensive refurbishments of the rooms during the next year we will think about another solution to create a comfortable stay for more than two people in a room.

I will pass your comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I looked at the number of excellents and very goods awarded to this hotel before travelling, it did live up to its rankings. We had a wonderful time - the room was high, light and airy, with a large window that opened to allow in fresh air rather the air conditioning. The staff were helpful and very polite. The buffet breakfast was a highlight of the day, be careful not to miss out on the omelettes or fried eggs cooked to order in front of you. There was an excellent choice of fruits, yogurts, cold meats, cheeses and cooked breakfasts to choose from. We mostly missed lunch whilst out and about.
We didn't eat in the hotel - but others on our tour did, and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Ideally placed for the S-Bahn to take you in to Berlin centre, or the bus just down the street - what more could you want

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choirman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello from Berlin,

Thanks a lot for your positive review about your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to read that you were totally satisfied with all of our hotel facilities and with our personal service. Thank you as well for your compliment regarding our breakfast.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Have just come back from this lovely hotel. We asked if we could have some tea and coffee making facilities in the room, this was provided very quickly. The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing to was too much for them. Breakfast was extremely good, just one point though, we did not have to rush on one day so did not go to breakfast until 9.15 am (breakfast served until 10.30 am) unfortunately there was no strawberries or smoked salmon left. Know it sounds a bit extreme to complain about this, but it was a very special treat for me as I don't eat meat, of which there was plenty. I went back several times to see if they had been replenished. On other occasions things had run out and they were a little slow to replenish but not on this occasion. All in all we had a lovely time and Berlin was fabulous.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comments as it is really important for us to get feedbacks from our guests such as yours. It helps us to identify our improvement potential and to take the corrective measures to assure our guests a comfortable and pleasant stay in our beautiful city.

Thank you for your honest feedback regarding the replenishment of our breakfast buffet.
We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. I will forward your feedback to our team to make sure that your point is heard and acted upon.

Nevertheless we would like to thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel.

Best regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I found the Moevenpick Hotel, Berlin, via a tour company that I know chooses good hotels but I decided to book an extended visit independently ... and I was not disappointed.
Welcomed by an efficient, enthusiastic and knowledgeable reception staff (thank you Dennis and Nicole) we quickly found our rooms. ... rooms which were above size, spotlessly clean, comfortable (I slept well) with daily linen changes and well enough equipped with the exception of tea and coffee making facilities (is this a 'British' thing?) and complementary WiFi although this was available in the lobby and bar.
We did not try the breakfast buffet (it looked good) or dinner ... however, the mini breakfasts were very good and satisfying!
Check out was seamless (thank you, Laura).
The Moevenpick Hotel, Berlin, is within a few minutes walk from the major tourist 'sights'. Taxis and the U-bahn / S-bahn are on the doorstep for travel further afield. Taxis, ordered at reception, arrive in seconds.
When I return, I know where I shall stay !!

Room Tip: The glazing in the front-facing, rooms is good enough to exclude traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review, which I have shared with our staff. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Kreuzberg
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Berlin

Address: Schoeneberger Strasse 3 | beim Potsdamer Platz, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Berlin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#33 Business Hotel in Berlin
#35 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £74 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The surprisingly different Movenpick Hotel Berlin is as individualand as multi-facetted as the city of Berlin. Centrally but peacefullylocated at Potsdamer Platz, the 4 Star Superior hotel combines innovative interior architecture with modern furnishings. The exceptional design of the former Siemenshofe lends a special charm tothe location's atmosphere. The majority of the 243 guest rooms andthe 12 event rooms face towards the quiet courtyards. The ambienceof the restaurant Hof zwei and the adjacent Lobby Bar has been carefully created as has choice of foods and beverages. Attentive, personal service and authentic friendliness comprise perfect hospitality in historic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing